Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections & University Archives: Valley Veterans

Welcome to our LibGuide! Use the pages here to learn more about our department and research collections.

Valley Veterans Research Guide

Valley Veterans Research Guide

Summary

The purpose of this research guide is to provide a brief overview of archival and historical resources available at the University Library relating to veterans of the Lower Rio Grande Valley of Texas. Primary sources include oral history interviews, photographs, manuscripts, and more. The guide also links to secondary sources and published works.

Gallery of Archival & Digital Resources: Valley Veterans

A Salute To Veterans of the Lower Rio Grande Valley 2021

A Salute To Veterans of the Lower Rio Grande Valley 2021

A poster exhibit created for National Veterans and Military Families Month to highlight the achievements of Valley Veterans. Featuring: Americo Paredes, Carlton Chilton Jr., Hector P. Garcia, Jose Mendoza Lopez, Wilma "Dolly" Vinsant Shea, William George Harrell, Kika de la Garza, Felipe A. Champion, Alfredo "Freddy" Gonzalez, Cayetano E. Barrera, James "Nikki" Rowe, Rosemary Mariner, and library books and oral histories pertaining to Rio Grande Valley Veterans.

Cayetano E. Barrera's Vietnam War Photograph Collection

The photographs in this collection were taken by Dr. Cayetano Barrera during the Vietnam War from 1966-1967. 

Veterans Day Book Display

Veterans Day Book Display

This virtual book display features books and eBooks relating to Veterans issues available from the UTRGV University Library.

Eligio (Kika) de la Garza Congressional Papers

Congressman Eligio (Kika) de la Garza, II (1927-2017) enlisted in the U.S. Army at 17, serving during WWII. He later enrolled at the U.S. Army Artillery School and served in the Korean War as a Second Lieutenant with the 37thField Artillery Battalion, 2nd Infantry Division. After the war, Kika resumed his education at Edinburg Junior College and later earned his law degree.de la Garza was elected to the Texas House of Representatives (1952) and was elected to the U.S. House of Representatives (1964). In 1976 de la Garza became one of the founding members of the Congressional Hispanic Caucus. Throughout his service in Congress, de la Garza advocated on behalf of South Texans, especially for active service military, veterans and their families.

Rubén Hinojosa Congressional Papers

While not a veteran, Congressman Rubén Hinojosa was a longtime businessman and native of the Rio Grande Valley of South Texas. He was elected to represent Texas’ 15th Congressional District in November 1996 and served on two House Committees: Education and the Workforce; and Financial Services. He was also Co-Chair of the Democratic Caucus Education Task Force.

Congressman Hinojosa has distinguished himself as an advocate for education, Social Security, health care, agriculture, economic development and infrastructure projects as well as veterans’ issues. Hinojosa was also instrumental in expanding local access to quality health care for South Texas veterans. For the first time, inpatient services (including surgery) are available at approved hospitals in Hidalgo and Cameron Counties, eliminating 80% of the need to travel to San Antonio. Hinojosa also worked with Veterans Administration to establish primary care community-based outpatient clinics in the cities of Alice, Beeville, Kingsville and Uvalde. Hinojosa also worked with state legislators to secure a U.S. / State Veterans Memorial Cemetery in South Texas.

Veterans History Project of the American Folklife Center - Vietnam War Veterans

The Veterans History Project of the American Folklife Center collects, preserves, and makes accessible the personal accounts of American war veterans so that future generations may hear directly from veterans and better understand the realities of war.

The United States Congress created the Veterans History Project in 2000. The authorizing legislation (Public Law 106-380), sponsored by Representatives Ron Kind, Amo Houghton, and Steny Hoyer in the U.S. House of Representatives and Senators Max Cleland and Chuck Hagel in the U.S. Senate, received unanimous support and was signed into law by President William Jefferson Clinton on October 27, 2000.

AARP is the founding corporate sponsor of the Veterans History Project. In addition to providing initial major funding for the Project, AARP also spread the word to its legion of volunteers and almost 37 million members, encouraging them to get involved. Numerous state chapters have also been involved in the Project.

The Veterans History Project is made possible by the generous support of the United States Congress. Learn more: https://www.loc.gov/vets/

Rio Grande Valley Veterans Oral History Interviews

Border Studies Archive

A multimedia exhibit by Ashley Leal and Reynaldo Leal Jr., April 13 - September 15, 2012, features edited interview clips.

Nuestras Historias: Mexican American Oral Histories of the Rio Grande Valley

Border Studies Archive

Ms. María del Carmen Solís, talks about her work as a Chief Flight Nurse during WWII. Interviewed on 02 February 2017 by Dr. Maritza de La Trinidad and Ana Sarazua.

Los del Valle Series: Jose M. Lopez

General Information on Veterans

IMPORTANT NOTICE

The research guides compiled by UTRGV staff and students are intended to assist patrons who are embarking upon new research endeavors. Our goal is to expand their knowledge of the types of resources available on a given topic, including books, archival materials, and websites. In so doing, our compilers have taken care to include collections, digital items, and resources that may be accessed not only through UTRGV but also via other institutions, repositories, and websites.

We wholeheartedly respect the research interests of others. Therefore, please contact us if you wish to submit a resource for consideration, or if you have a question about or an issue with a specific cited resource.

Books on Valley Veterans from Our Catalog

Maps of Air Force Bases in the Valley

UTRGV Military and Veterans Success Center

UTRGV Military and Veterans Success Center

The center assists students in certifying education benefits, advocating for services, developing projects to unite the university with our local community, providing counseling services specifically for veterans, and promoting student involvement through the Student Veterans of America National Organization.

Quick Links

Online Research Request

Maximize your time and effort. Let our staff assist you with finding and accessing resources online.