Skip to main content

Special Collections & University Archives: Home

Email us for research assistance during our temporarily closure.

Closed temporarily. Email for assistance.

Digital Resources

Yes, we are closed, but we invite you to explore our digital resources:

If you have any questions, then please email us archives@utrgv.edu.

Welcome to Special Collections and Archives

South Texas and Northeast Mexico Collections

UTRGV Special Collections and University Archives is the first stop for any student, faculty, public patron, or visiting researcher wishing to learn more about the region of southern Texas and northeastern Mexico.  Our collections include books, periodicals, maps, oral histories, and archival materials concerning the Lower Rio Grande Valley, the broader southern Texas and Mexico Rio Grande border region, Mexican American culture and identity, and the Mexican War. Our services include research appointments, tours, instructional sessions, and exhibits.

 

Special Collections & Archives Mission

As a component of The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley Library, Special Collections & University Archives plays a critical role in the commitment of UTRGV to academic excellence in a balanced program of research and service. The collections provide documentation which supports the research of the history, development, traditions, and activities of south Texas and northeastern Mexico. Its main feature is to facilitate scholarship by acquiring, preserving, and making accessible regional information through published and original archival materials to students, faculty, and visiting scholars, both in person and digitally. 

 

Brownsville and Edinburg Locations

The University Library in Edinburg and Brownsville hold unique collections relating to southern Texas and northeastern Mexico and the broader border region, as well as the archives of UTRGV and its legacy institutions. Instruction and reference services are provided on both an individual and group basis. Please contact us for more information or to set up an appointment, archives@utrgv.edu.

Best Practices

We recommend the following best practices an effort to make the most of your visit.

Advance Notice is Encouraged: Avoid an unnecessary trip! We will ensure requested materials are ready for your visit so your can maximize your time. Please notify us in advance or request an appointment.

Obtain a Parking Permit: No need to circle the lot endlessly or feed the meter! If you are not affiliated with the University, then you may wish to purchase a visitor's permit in advance from Parking Services.

No Photocopies or Scanning: Bring your digital camera or smartphone! Research materials are in-library use only and photocopiers are not available. Non-flash photography is permitted.

What to Bring with You: Less is more! Paper, pencils (no pens), laptop or tablets (no cases), and digital camera or smartphone for photographing materials.

Eat Before Your Visit: Food and drink are not permitted in our reading rooms.