The purpose of this guide is to provide general reference and secondary sources pertaining to notable figures in the history and culture of the lower Rio Grande Valley. This guide is neither comprehensive nor exhaustive in its content and coverage as it is intended to serve as an entry point for new researchers.
Catarino Garza's Revolution on the Texas-Mexico Border by 
Charles Stillman, 1810-1875. by 
The Inspiring Life of Texan Hector P. Garcia by 
Ruben Edelstein: A life & History by 
South Texas renaissance man: the humanitarian, political, and philanthropic activities of Judge J.T. Canales (Thesis) by 
William Crawford Gorgas, his life and work by 
Balli family history : (la Barreta & Padre Island Branches) by 
Champion: The Champion Family of Point Isabel by 
The Houts Farm by
For nearly a century the Houts and Kaml families contributed to the story of Edinburg and South Texas agriculture. Both the Houts and Kaml families of German descent arrived in the Rio Grande Valley of Texas in the 1920s and participated in the growing agricultural business opportunities in the "Magic Valley." These two families were joined together in marriage in 1955 when Eugene Houts married Marilyn Kaml. Today, the Houts farm is still in business but has diversified to keep up with the changing agricultural environment. This book not only describes progression of their farming family business but has demonstrated that three millennia earlier, their ancestors had left their mark on what is today the Houts farm. It is our sincere hope that this study as well as earlier studies will preserve our region's complex and nuanced story.
Luna Farming Legacy : a porción of Edinburg by 
The Norquest Family of Edinburg : a century-long perspective on life in the Lower Rio Grande Valley by 
Rattling yours, Snake King by 
The research guides compiled by UTRGV staff and students are intended to assist patrons who are embarking upon new research endeavors. Our goal is to expand their knowledge of the types of resources available on a given topic, including books, archival materials, and websites. In so doing, our compilers have taken care to include collections, digital items, and resources that may be accessed not only through UTRGV but also via other institutions, repositories, and websites.
We wholeheartedly respect the research interests of others. Therefore, please contact us if you wish to submit a resource for consideration, or if you have a question about or an issue with a specific cited resource.
Las Tejanas by
Since the early 1700s, women of Spanish/Mexican origin or descent have played a central, if often unacknowledged, role in Texas history. Tejanas have been community builders, political and religious leaders, founders of organizations, committed trade unionists, innovative educators, astute businesswomen, experienced professionals, and highly original artists. Giving their achievements the recognition they have long deserved, this groundbreaking book is at once a general history and a celebration of Tejanas' contributions to Texas over three centuries. The authors have gathered and distilled a wide range of information to create this important resource. They offer one of the first detailed accounts of Tejanas' lives in the colonial period and from the Republic of Texas up to 1900. Drawing on the fuller documentation that exists for the twentieth century, they also examine many aspects of the modern Tejana experience, including Tejanas' contributions to education, business and the professions, faith and community, politics, and the arts. A large selection of photographs, a historical timeline, and profiles of fifty notable Tejanas complete the volume and assure its usefulness for a broad general audience, as well as for educators and historians.
Leaders of the Mexican American Generation by
Leaders of the Mexican American Generation explores the lives of a wide range of influential members of the US Mexican American community between 1920 and 1965 who paved the way for major changes in their social, political, and economic status within the United States. Including feminist Alice Dickerson Montemayor, to San Antonio attorney Gus García, and labor activist and scholar Ernesto Galarza, the subjects of these biographies include some of the most prominent idealists and actors of the time. Whether debating in a court of law, writing for a major newspaper, producing reports for governmental agencies, organizing workers, holding public office, or otherwise shaping space for the Mexican American identity in the United States, these subjects embody the core values and diversity of their generation. More than a chronicle of personalities who left their mark on Mexican American history, Leaders of the Mexican American Generation cements these individuals as major players in the history of activism and civil rights in the United States. It is a rich collection of historical biographies that will enlighten and enliven our understanding of Mexican American history.
In defense of my people : Alonso S. Perales and the development of Mexican-American public intellectuals by
One of the most influential Mexican Americans of his time, Alonso S. Perales (1898-1960) is the subject of this engrossing collection of scholarly essays. A graduate of George Washington University School of Law, he was one of the earliest Mexican-American attorneys to practice law in Texas and was sworn into the bar in 1926. Perales helped found the League of United Latin American Citizens (LULAC), served his country in several diplomatic capacities and was a prolific writer. In Defense of My People sheds light on Perales activism and the history of Mexican-American and Latino civil rights movements. The essays, written by scholars representing a number of disciplines from the U.S. and Mexico, touch on a variety of topics, including the impact of religion on Latinos, the concept of "race" and individual versus community action to bring about social and political change. Edited and with an introduction and chapter by law scholar Michael A. Olivas, In Defense of My People is the first full-length book available on this trailblazing Mexican-American leader. Scholars were able to take advantage of Perales never-before-accessible personal archive, which his family donated to the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project and is now housed at the University of Houstons Special Collections Department of the M.D. Anderson Library. Originally presented at a conference on Alonso S. Perales at the University of Houston in 2012, this volume is required reading for anyone interested in the history of civil rights organizations, public intellectuals of the early 20th century and Mexican-American political development in Texas.
Explore the links below:
Maximize your time and effort. Let our staff assist you with finding and accessing resources online.
We also invite you to schedule an appointment to meet one-on-one with a member of our Special Collections & Archives staff. Schedule an on-campus research visit or choose to meet online (video chat).
