Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to UTRGV Special Collections & Archives Research Guides
UTRGV Special Collections & Archives has compiled research guides on popular topics to assist students and new researchers with finding primary and secondary sources. They are designed to serve as basic guides for entry level research in regional history and culture.
Select a research guide from the drop-down menu above, or browse our featured Research Guides below.
Use the Quick Links to access additional online resources, including our website.
The research guides compiled by UTRGV staff and students are intended to assist patrons who are embarking upon new research endeavors. Our goal is to expand their knowledge of the types of resources available on a given topic, including books, archival materials, and websites. In so doing, our compilers have taken care to include collections, digital items, and resources that may be accessed not only through UTRGV but also via other institutions, repositories, and websites.
We wholeheartedly respect the research interests of others. Therefore, please contact us if you wish to submit a resource for consideration, or if you have a question about or an issue with a specific cited resource.
Online Research Request
Maximize your time and effort. Let our staff assist you with finding and accessing resources online.
Digital & Born Digital Collections
Special Collections & University Archives facilitates scholarship by making collection materials available online via our institutional repository. Resources are freely available via browse and search functions.
Digital Collections Copyright
The Library does not own the copyright in much of the material in its collection and is therefore unable to grant copyright permission to publish those items. It is the researcher's responsibility to determine copyright and other possible restrictions on reuse (e.g. publicity, privacy, moral rights) and to obtain proper permission when publishing or distributing materials found in these collections.