The purpose of this research guide is to provide a brief overview of resources available at the University Library relating to the haunted history of the Lower Rio Grande Valley of Texas. Primary sources include folktales from the Border Studies Archive and newspaper clippings and related stories saved as Reference Files. The guide also links to books and external resources.
UTRGV Special Collections & Archives provides general educational information on the history, development, traditions, and activities of south Texas and northeastern Mexico, including urban legends and folktales. We endeavor to promote academic excellence and respect for a variety of viewpoints, opinions, and lived experiences of others.
Ghost Stories, Series 7. Reference Files, ELIBR-0062. University of Texas Rio Grande Valley Special Collections and Archives, Edinburg Campus Reference files typically include clippings from newspapers and newsletters, or publications and materials relating to marketing and tourism.
Traditional Mexican American Folklore, Folktales. University Library, Border Studies Archive, University of Texas Rio Grande Valley, Edinburg, Texas. Begun by Dr. Mark Glazer in the mid-1980s, this renowned bilingual collection features over 100,000 items, including folk beliefs, proverbs, folktales, traditional recipes, jokes, riddles, and much more. These holdings continue to grow through community donations.
Search past issues of The Rider. The Rider is the official student newspaper of the University of Texas Rio Grande Valley. The newspaper is widely distributed on campus and off campus in Brownsville and Edinburg, Texas. Views presented are those of writers and do not reflect those of the paper or university.
Browse past issues (i.e. October issues) of The Collegian. The Collegian was the student newspaper at the University of Texas at Brownsville and Texas Southmost College. Published two times during the school year by the students of Brownsville Junior College. The final issue printed by UTB was published on April 27, 2015.
Browse or search past issues of The Pan American. The Pan American was the primary student newspaper of the University of Texas–Pan American. The last issue was published on July 16, 2015.
Additional studies in Rio Grande Valley history by 
Continuing studies in Rio Grande Valley history by 
From the Rio Grande Valley by
Stories depict a way-of-life of the Hispanic culture of South Texas where superstition still rules the lives of many. La Llorona scans the waters of the Rio Grande looking for her children; little Duendes create a ruckus to gain attention; the Grim Reaper skulks about the corridors of the big house biding its time; ghosts guarding treasure inhabit back yards and the brushlands along the Rio Grande; Sasquatch sloshes along on the shores of South Padre in freezing weather on an Easter weekend, and snakes love mothers' milk and menstrual blood. Experience with ghosts or other supernatural phenomena is as prevalent today in South Texas as it has been for hundreds of years.
Ghosts along the Texas coast (eBook) by
A collection of strange occurences, this book brings to light tangible evidence and first-hand testimony to validate a wide range of ghostly tales. Whether they haunt the place of their death or a place they loved in their lives, these spirits are found up and down the Texas coast. Author Docia Williams brings us the best of these stories, where they happen, and provides some of the history surrounding these spooky spots.
The Ghosts of Fort Brown : an informal study of Brownsville folklore and parapsychology by
This book began as an attempt to answer a frequent research question asked at the Arnulfo L. Oliveira Memorial Library. The question commonly heard is "Is the campus haunted?" or "Where do you find the ghosts?" . Since Fort Brown has been witness to several wars, to include the Mexican War and the American Civil War as well as to hostilites arising from the Mexican Revolution and deaths from various fever epidemics, local ghost stories came into being surrounding supposed ghost sightings at old Fort Brown, now serving as the campus for Texas Southmost College and the University of Texas at Brownsville. This publication provides a collection of such local ghost stories, some locally written poetry relevant to ghost sightings, and a description of the investigations of local "ghost hunters" as to the existence of ghosts on the grounds of old Fort Brown.
Ghosts of the Rio Grande Valley by
Tradition meets tragedy in the chilling local lore of the Rio Grande Valley. Hidden in the dense brush and around oxbow lakes wait sinister secrets, unnerving vestiges of the past and wraiths of those claimed by the winding river. The spirit of a murdered student in Brownsville paces the locker room where she met her end. Tortured souls of patients lost in the Harlingen Insane Asylum refuse to be forgotten. Guests at the LaBorde Hotel in Rio Grande City report visions of the Red Lady, who was spurned by the soldier she loved and driven to suicide. Author David Bowles explores these and more of the most harrowing ghost stories from Fort Brown to Fort Ringgold and all the haunted hotels, chapels and ruins in between.
Stories That Must Not Die by
A collection of folktales intended to promote interest in bilingual-biculture literature and to preserve the colorful folklore of the South Texas for future generations.
Explore the links below:
Maximize your time and effort. Let our staff assist you with finding and accessing resources online.
We also invite you to schedule an appointment to meet one-on-one with a member of our Special Collections & Archives staff. Schedule an on-campus research visit or choose to meet online (video chat).
