LibGuides: Special Collections & University Archives: Historical Newspapers

Historical Newspapers & Newsletters at Special Collections & Archives

The American Flag

(Also referred to as Cameron County and Matamoros Advertiser, Bandera Americana)

Brownsville: Microfilm Sept. 29, 1847 - Oct. 1, 1859
Edinburg: Microfilm 1847
UNT Portal to Texas History: online 1846 - 1859

https://texashistory.unt.edu/ark:/67531/metapth478402/m1/1/

Brownsville Herald / Daily Herald

(Also referred to as Brownsville Evening Herald; earlier titles Daily Cosmopolitan, Brownsville Daily Herald)

Brownsville: Microfilm 1892–2015 (In library use only)
Edinburg: Microfilm 1911–2015 (In library use only)
Online: UNT Texas Borderlands Newspaper Collection 1890s–1940s
Online: LOC Chronicling America 1912–1937

Courier of Edinburg

Brownsville: No holdings
Edinburg: Physical copies Jun. 27, 1981 - Jan. 16, 1982

Download the Courier of Edinburg
Download the PDF file to view the physical holdings (coverage dates) for the Courier of Edinburg.

El Cuhamil

"La Voz del campesino de Texas."/ "Official Voice of The Texas Farm Workers' Union."

Brownsville: No holdings
Edinburg: Physical copies, Aug. 1975 - May 1982
Digitized resource https://scholarworks.utrgv.edu/elcuhamil/

El Cuhamil
Download the PDF file to view the physical holdings (coverage dates) for the Courier of Edinburg.

The Daily Ranchero

(Also referred to as Ranchero Diario, Sunday Ranchero, Brownsville Ranchero, Tri-weekly Ranchero)

Brownsville: Microfilm May 24, 1865 - Oct. 20, 1870.
Edinburg: Microfilm May 24, 1865 - June 16, 1866; Sep. 25, 1866 - Mar. 24, 1867
UNT: Portal to Texas History: online 1865 - 1870

Dallas Morning News

Brownsville: No holdings
Edinburg: Microfilm 1985–2013
Dallas Morning News online 1997–Current
Dallas Morning News Historical Archive online (1885-1984)

Dan Sanborn's RGV Newsletter

Brownsville: No holdings
Edinburg: Physical copies Aug. 12, 1948 - Feb. 17, 1955.

Download Dan Sanborn's RGV Newsletter
Download the PDF file to view the physical holdings (coverage dates) for the Dan Sanborn's RGV Newsletter.

Diogenes

Brownsville: No holdings
Edinburg: Physical copies Jul. 19, 1924 - Dec. 1, 1928
UNT Portal to Texas History: online 1923

Download Diogenes
Download the PDF file to view the physical holdings (coverage dates) for Diogenes.

The Edinburg Daily Review

(Also referred to as Edinburg Review)

Brownsville: No holdings.
Edinburg: Microfilm; Physical copies, sporadic coverage 1952-2016 (see holdings list below)

Download The Edinburg Daily Review Holdings List
Download the PDF file to view the physical holdings (coverage dates) for the Edinburg (Daily) Review.

Gravity Irrigation News

(Also know as Delta Irrigation News)

Brownsville: No holdings
Edinburg: Physical copies May 1922 - Feb. 17, 1926; Mar. 24, 1926 - Nov. 16, 1927.

Download Gravity Irrigation News
Download the PDF file to view the physical holdings (coverage dates) for Gravity and Delta Irrigation News.

Mensajero Cristiano

Brownsville: No holdings
Edinburg: Physical copies Jan. 1968 - Oct. 1975

Download Mensajero Cristiano
Download the PDF file to view the physical holdings (coverage dates) for Mensajero Cristiano.

Mercedes Enterprise / The Enterprise

(Weekly newspaper: The Enterprise, established 1908; The Mercedes Enterprise, established 1956.)

Brownsville: No holdings
Edinburg: Physical copies 1974 - 2018
The Mercedes Enterprise (Mercedes, TX) Access the digital version online 1956 - 1997

Mission Times / Mission Enterprise

(Also referred to as The Missionite Mission Progress-Times, Mission Enterprise)

Brownsville: No holdings
Edinburg: Physical copies 1922 - 1967

Download the Mission Times Holdings List
Download the PDF file to view the physical holdings (coverage dates) for the Mission Times / Mission Enterprise.

Progress Times (Mission, TX)
Access the digital version online 2014 - present

Ranch News

Brownsville: No holdings
Edinburg: Physical copies Oct. 1989 - Spr. 2001

Download Ranch News
Download the PDF file to view the physical holdings (coverage dates) for Ranch News.

RGV International Music Festival

Brownsville: No holdings
Edinburg: Physical copies Mar. 10, 1964 - Mar. 9, 1981

Download RGV International Music Festival
Download the PDF file to view the physical holdings (coverage dates) for the RGV International Music Festival.

Valley in Action

Brownsville: No holdings
Edinburg: Physical copies Nov. 20, 1948 - Dec. 1960.

Download Valley in Action
Download the PDF file to view the physical holdings (coverage dates) for Valley in Action.

Valley Prompter

Brownsville: No holdings
Edinburg: Physical copies Sep. 10, 1955 - Jan. 1957

Download Valley Prompter
Download the PDF file to view the physical holdings (coverage dates) for Valley Prompter.

Zapata County News

Brownsville: No holdings
Edinburg: Physical copies Jan. 1, 1953 - Jun. 18. 1959.

Download Zapata County News
Download the PDF file to view the physical holdings (coverage dates) for Zapata County News.

Brownsville Sentinel

(Also known as the Rio Grande Sentinel)

Brownsville: Microfilm 1910
Edinburg: No holdings.

124th Cavalry News

(Newspaper for Fort Brown)

Brownsville: Microfilm Mar. 15, 1941 - Oct. 25, 1941
Edinburg: No holdings.

Rio Grande Clarion

Brownsville: No holdings
Edinburg: Microfilm Feb. 1917 - Feb. 1918
Edinburg: Physical copies Feb. 13, 1914 - Jan. 29, 1915

Download Rio Grande Clarion
Download the PDF file to view the physical holdings (coverage dates) for the Rio Grande Clarion.

El Defensor

(Also referred to as Hidalgo County Democrat and Hidalgo County Democrat successor to el defensor)

Brownsville: No holdings
Edinburg: Physical copies Oct. 31 - Nov. 1, 1930
Edinburg: Microfiche Feb. 7, 1930 - Dec. 12, 1930

El Defensor
Download the PDF file to view the physical holdings (coverage dates) for El Defensor.

Legacy Student Newspapers & University Newsletters

Student Newspapers & University Newsletters

University Newspaper - El Sol (1976 – 1992)

University Newspaper - The Beacon (1943 – 1950)

University Newspaper - The Collegian (sporadic coverage to 1992, 1993 – 2015)

University Newspaper - The Pan American (1954 – 2015)

Also available via Issuu: The Pan American (1995 – 2015)

University Newspaper UTRGV - The Rider Archives (2015 – Current)

University Newsletter UTB/TSC - Orange & White (1995 – 2014)

University Newsletter UTPA - Los Arcos (1997 – 2004)

External Resources for Texas Historical Newspapers

Valley Morning Star (Harlingen) Digital Archives
The Harlingen Public Library’s Digital Archives contains archived Valley Morning Star newspapers. The search tool allows you to search by year, key word or phrase, and by a person’s name.
UNT: Texas Borderlands Newspaper Collection
The Texas Borderlands Newspaper Collection spans the years 1859 to 2010, giving voice to ancestors and contemporary inhabitants of Texas, who come from multiple cultures.
Texas State Library and Archives Commission
The Texas State Library and Archives Commission's newspaper collections include newspapers on microfilm, original print newspapers, and online newspaper subscriptions.
Rio Grande Rattler (1916-1917)
The Rio Grande Rattler was published by the New York National Guard while they were stationed on the Mexican Border in 1916 -1917. There were 18 total issues. Issues 1 - 17 were published on a weekly basis from August, 1916 to December, 1916. Issue 18 was published on 8 August 1917 when the New York National Guard, forming the 27th Division, was federalized for duty in World War One.

Historical Newspaper Databases (UTRGV users only)

Dallas Morning News Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
Dallas Morning News Historical Archive contains the full-text of all Dallas Morning News newspapers published between 1885-1977.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Austin American Statesman This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Austin American Statesman provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1871 – 1980
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: El Paso Herald/El Paso Times This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: El Paso Herald/El Paso Times includes the full text of the El Paso Herald from 1896-1996, and the El Paso Times from 1881-2009.
Hispanic American Newspapers 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
Hispanic American Newspapers 1808-1980 provides access to hundreds of searchable Hispanic American newspapers published in the United States. It is based on the “Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project”.
African American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
African American Newspapers contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and is rich with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion.
The collection also provides a great number of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements all of which embody the African-American experience.
Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new window
From historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. With newspapers representing a huge variety in publisher, audience and era, discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities.
Historical New York Times This link opens in a new window
Historical New York Times has pdf images of New York Times articles back to 1851 and up to a few years ago. Make sure only ProQuest Historical Newspapers The New York Times is checked off before you begin your search.

Historical Newspapers from Outside Texas

California Digital Newspaper Collection
Search or browse this collection contains 1,253,980 issues comprising 16,919,184 pages and 52,421,347 articles.
The California Digital Newspaper Collection is a project of the Center for Bibliographical Studies and Research (CBSR) at the University of California, Riverside.
Chronicling America
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1777-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
more...less...
Search for digitized newspapers from Texas and across the United States.

Special Collections & University Archives: Historical Newspapers

UTRGV Newspaper Holdings