LibGuides: Special Collections & University Archives: Genealogy Research

Genealogy Research Assistance

While UTRGV Special Collections & University Archives houses materials that may be helpful for genealogical research, our access to resources is generally limited to online databases available to the UTRGV community and secondary source materials compiled by regional genealogical researchers.

Consider reaching out to the professionals.

Genealogical societies and organizations are the best resources for discovering your family ancestry.

Rio Grande Valley Hispanic Genealogical Society
The purpose of the RGV Hispanic Genealogical Society is to promote interest in Hispanic Genealogy and to assist its members engaged in genealogical research. Said purposes are to be accomplished through: soliciting and arranging for public funds and private contributions to be utilized in the furtherance of the Corporation; to encourage interested persons to pursue and preserve genealogical information; to provide opportunities to share Hispanic genealogical information and experiences; to collect, protect and preserve public and private Hispanic genealogical information records and to make such records available for research; to acquire Hispanic Hispanic historical data and resources and make them available to the public and the genealogical community; to accept donations, services, and materials to be used for any activity which will be of service to the genealogical society.
Spanish American Genealogical Association (SAGA)
The Spanish American Genealogical Association was officially incorporated on May 29, 1987 as a a non-profit corporation. Under the leadership of Dr. Clotilde P. Garcia of Corpus Christi, Texas. SAGA was established for charitable and educational purposes with a focus on gathering and developing Spanish genealogical materials and collections at the Corpus Christi Public Library and to promote Spanish genealogical research.
Tip O' Texas Genealogical Society, Harlingen, Texas
Facebook group to promote interest in genealogical research in the Rio Grande Valley of Texas.
Texas State Genealogical Society (TxSGS)
The Texas State Genealogical Society (TxSGS) is organized and operated as a non-profit tax-exempt 501(c)3 corporation as defined by the Internal Revenue Service, and is eligible to receive tax-deductible contributions in accordance with Code section 170.
National Genealogical Society
The National Genealogical Society (frequently referred to as NGS) is here to help individuals learn about their family history. We are a non-profit organization headquartered in Falls Church, Virginia. For 120 years, we have been the leader in teaching genealogical research skills and providing a pathway to scholarly work. Ready to get started? Look at our skill-building boxes on the homepage for advice and tips, or go to our learning center to enroll in an online course, check out our books and publications, register for a research trip, or come to our annual conference.
Somos Primos
Welcome to Somos Primos™, a publication dedicated to past and present articles, events and information concerning Hispanic heritage issues. Somos Primos is an all volunteer effort. There is no cost for accessing issues.

Gather Personal Information

Document everything you learn.

Names
- First, middle, and last names
- Maiden names, surnames, parent's names, sibling names, etc.
- Tip: Consider alternate spellings. For example, it is common for “s” to be used instead of “z.”
Dates & Locations
- Birth (Fecha de Nacimiento)
- Death (Defuncion)
- Baptism (Bautismo)
- Marriage (Casamiento)
- Tip: Approximate dates may yield better search results than using exact dates.
Sources (person, book, or archival collection, etc. Be specific, include author, title, page number, or collection and folder titles)
Gather as much information as you can from your family members.
Check for family papers, birth and marriage certificates, personal letters, diaries and journals, photographs, and other sources around the home, which may help in constructing a preliminary family history.
If you are lucky enough to find photographs, then write as much information as you can with a soft (#2) pencil on the back of the photograph, including names, dates, locations, and events.
Review the information you have and look for gaps—also consider what information is uncertain or inexact.

Indigenous Genealogy

Our institution in the lower Rio Grande Valley of Texas sits on the ancestral land of the Karankawa, Tāp Pīlam Coahuiltecan, Ndé Kónitsąąíí Gokíyaa (Lipan Apache), Carrizo/Comecrudo, and Rayados/Borrados. We acknowledge and pay respect to their Elders and their past, present, and future peoples, cultures, languages, and communities.

UTRGV Special Collections & Archives does not house primary source records relating to tribal heritage or indigenous genealogy.

Searching for indigenous heritage in Texas requires special consideration for colonial Spanish and Mexican records, including municipal and parish records. We recommend the research compiled by John Schmal for Indigenous Mexico to get started.

The U.S. Department of Interior also provides insight for genealogical research, which recommends researchers "begin research in current, rather than historic records. If an individual is not currently a member of a federally recognized tribe, band or group research should begin in non-Indian records or other public records such as those records maintained by state and local governments, churches, and schools. Individuals should find all the information they can about their parents, grandparents, and more distant ancestors and write such information down..."

Official tribal websites:

County Records

Specific records vary by county, they generally contain information such as court documents, marriage records, deed records, and probate minutes. We strongly recommend beginning your county records search online:

Cameron County Public Records Search
Property, marriage, commissioners' court records from 1800, as well as plats, marks and brands, etc.
Hidalgo County Public Records Search
Property records from 1800, marriage records from 1753, plats, marks and brands, etc.
Starr County Public Records Search
Deeds from 1900. No marriages.

State Records

Bexar Archives at Briscoe Center
The Bexar Archives are the official Spanish documents that preserve the political, military, economic, and social life of the Spanish province of Texas and the Mexican state of Coahuila y Texas. Both in their volume and breadth of subject matter, the Bexar Archives are the single most important source for the history of Hispanic Texas up to 1836.
Land Grant Search via Texas General Land Office
Search for land grants by County and Grantee name.
Portal to Texas History
The Portal to Texas History is a gateway to rare, historical, and primary source materials from or about Texas. Created and maintained by the University of North Texas Libraries, the Portal leverages the power of hundreds of content partners across the state to provide a vibrant, growing collection of resources.
Texas State Historical Association Handbook of Texas Online
The Handbook of Texas is a digital state encyclopedia developed by the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA) that is free and accessible on the Internet for students, teachers, scholars, and the general public.
UNT: Texas Borderlands Newspaper Collection
The Texas Borderlands Newspaper Collection spans the years 1859 to 2010, giving voice to ancestors and contemporary inhabitants of Texas, who come from multiple cultures.

Federal Records

US Census

Census records are an excellent place to begin expanding information on your family. There you will find members of households, ages, and occupations, as well as countries or states of origin. Begin with the latest census records released, and work backward to 1790 (the State of Texas was founded in 1848). Note: the 1890 census was destroyed by fire. Census records are widely available online via genealogy databases. UTRGV faculty, staff, and students can use HeritageQuest Online.

Social Security Death Index (SSDI)

After a person's death, their Social Security Number and information are made available as public information. The Social Security Death Index is a database of deaths reported to the Social Security Administration (SSA) beginning about 1962 that have been purchased and made available by various organizations. For more information about the SSDI, and links to search pages, go to The Social Security Death Index: A Genealogy Records Guide, or use a genealogy database like HeritageQuest.

Explore "how to" guides

A Beginner's Guide to Hispanic Genealogy by Norma P. Flores; Patsy Ludwig
ISBN: 0936029315
Publication Date: 1993-08-01
Finding Your Hispanic Roots by George R. Ryskamp Starting with an examination of basic research principles and techniques, illustrated with examples from actual Hispanic research experience, it goes on to discuss such important subjects as language and handwriting, Hispanic surnames, methods of tracing Hispanic immigrants in U.S. records, and, most importantly, how to conduct Hispanic genealogical research in LDS Family History Centers, where the researcher has access to the largest body of Hispanic records in the United States. With this foundation in place, the work proceeds with an examination of the types of records found in all Hispanic countries, using examples from many of them and indicating where particular record types are found. Covered here are such indispensable records as civil registers of births, marriages, and deaths; church records of baptisms, marriages, and burials; census records; military records; and the often under-utilized notarial records.
ISBN: 9780806315171
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Finding Your Mexican Ancestors by George R. Ryskamp; Peggy Hill Ryskamp Finding Your Mexican Ancestors is essential to any researcher looking to trace their heritage across the Rio Grande. In it, authors George and Peggy Ryskamp show how easy Mexican American research can be providing detailed descriptions of parish records, civil records, and other types of records common in Mexico.
ISBN: 9781593313074
Publication Date: 2007-01-02
Genealogy Online by Elizabeth Powell Crowe Find your roots This effective hands-on resource explores the vast world of ancestry-related networks, Web sites, and online services, explaining which ones best suit your purposes. Learn to organize your search, where to begin, where to go on the Web, and how to use chat rooms, mailing lists, and Usenet effectively.
ISBN: 0072253835
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Hispanic American Genealogical Sourcebook by Paula K. Byers (Editor) This text provides historical genealogical information on Hispanic Americans. The book looks specifically at their emigration history and genealogical records, and features a directory of genealogical information.
ISBN: 0810392275
Publication Date: 1994-12-01
Mexican Genealogy Research Online by Moises Garza "Mexican Genealogy Research Online: A Guide to Help You Discover Your Mexican Ancestry" will provide you with a solid foundation to being able to find your Mexican Ancestors online. Practically without leaving your home.
ISBN: 9781502941046
Publication Date: 2014-10-22

Browse Digital Collections

A few archival resources have been digitized, and the images are available through the Library's Institutional Repository. Popular items include:

County Records on Microfilm

If you prefer old-school, in-person research, then use the library's online catalog to see what is available on microfilm:

Additional Genealogical Resources

Getting Started with Mexico Research via FamilySearch.org
Guide to Mexico ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Getting Started with Texas Research
Guide to Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Portal of Spanish Archives (PARES)
A portal and database created by Spain's Ministerio de Cultura containing more than twenty million documents and digital images from the principal Spanish archives, including the Archive of the Indies and Archive of the Spanish Civil War.

Quick Links

Explore the links below:

Handout for Faculty and Students
Having trouble with your research project? Or, are you students needing guidance with our resources? Download this handout.

Get Research Assistance!

Submit an Online Research Request Form

Maximize your time and effort. Let our staff assist you with finding and accessing resources online.

Schedule a Research Appointment (On Campus or Online)

We also invite you to schedule an appointment to meet one-on-one with a member of our Special Collections & Archives staff. Schedule an on-campus research visit or choose to meet online (video chat).