Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections & University Archives: University Archives

Welcome to our LibGuide! Use the pages here to learn more about our department and research collections.

Explore University Archives Resources

Materials from our legacy institutions may include records, catalogs, posters, brochures, programs, newsletters, and other items published by our previous colleges and universities. Explore our library holdings below

Budgets & Finance

Course Catalogs

Dissertations & Theses

Newspapers & Yearbooks

Electronic (Online) Holdings

Electronic holdings are born-digital or digitized materials available online.

Physical Holdings

Physical holdings represent hard copy/ printed materials and artifacts held at our campus locations in Brownsville and Edinburg.

University Publications

Archival Collections

  • Archival collections such as press releases, departmental records, and more can be found by searching or browsing our archival management system
  • Use the search function for "UTB/TSC Archives" or "UTPA Archives" for materials related to legacy institutions.

Legacy Institution: University of Texas-Brownsville

Pan American University at Brownsville (1973–1989)

Texas Southmost College partnered with Pan-American University to establish a four-year university in Brownsville in 1973.

University of Texas-Pan American at Brownsville (1989-1991)

When Pan American University joined the University of Texas System in 1989, the campus was renamed University of Texas Pan-American at Brownsville (UTPA-B).

The University of Texas at Brownsville (1991)

Brownsville sought recognition directly under the UT System becoming the University of Texas at Brownsville (UTB) in 1991.

The University of Texas at Brownsville and Texas Southmost College (1992–2013)

A partnership was established between UTB and TSC in 1992 to allow students to seamlessly transition to the four year university without reapplying. This partnership was ended by the University of Texas System Board of Regents in 2011. Between 2012 and 2013, the University of Texas Board of Regents approved the merger of UTPA , UTB, and a medical school into one regional institution called the University of Texas Rio Grande Valley.

Legacy Institution: The University of Texas-Pan American

Edinburg College (1927–1933)

Edinburg College was founded as a junior college in 1927 as part of the Edinburg School District.

Edinburg Junior College (1933–1952)

In 1933, it was formally accredited as state junior college.

Pan American College (1952–1971)

Pan American College was established as a four-year university in 1952 and became a state senior college and member of the Texas System of Colleges and Universities in 1965.

Pan American University (1971–1989)

In 1971, Pan American College achieved full university status and changed its name to Pan American University when it was approved to offer graduate programs. A second campus at Brownsville was established in 1973 to accommodate growing student enrollment. (The PAU-Brownsville campus evolved into the University of Texas at Brownsville.)

University of Texas–Pan American (1989–2013)

In 1989 the University became a member of the University of Texas System. Between 2012 and 2013, the University of Texas Board of Regents approved the merger of UTPA , UTB, and a medical school into one regional institution called the University of Texas Rio Grande Valley.

Looking Back, Honoring Legacy Exhibit

Online Research Request

Maximize your time and effort. Let our staff assist you with finding and accessing resources online.