Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections & University Archives: Events & Exhibits

Welcome to our LibGuide! Use the pages here to learn more about our department and research collections.

Exhibits & Events

Online Exhibit "Preserving our Past: People Saving Places"

May is National Preservation Month with the purpose of promoting historic places and heritage tourism. This year's theme is People Saving Places was selected in appreciation of "historic place-savers...[who, put their] time, energy, and resources into protecting places they care about, often without recognition."

"Preserving Our Past: People Saving Places" is a digital exhibit designed to draw attention to the cultural resources of the Rio Grande Valley using University Library digital platforms and Special Collections & Archives (SCA) resources. Materials from our photographs, maps, and archival collections along with those from external resources have been compiled for the historic places and spaces from Starr, Hidalgo, and Cameron Counties.

National Poetry Month 2022: Select poems from the Rio Grande Valley.

"There's a poem in this place" is a line by Amanda Gorman that not only inspired the 2022 national poster design, but also this poster exhibit which highlights the works of our regional poets. Each UTRGV Special Collections & Archives staff member designed two posters inspired by select Rio Grande Valley poems.

Digital Exhibit: RGV WOMEN'S HISTORY: PIONEERS & PATHBREAKERS

March may be Women's History Month but isn't it always time honor the historic achievements and contributions of women in the Rio Grande Valley?

RGV Women's History 2022

March is Women's History Month— a time to honor the historic achievements and contributions of women in the Rio Grande Valley.

Rio Grande Valley History: Our African American Heritage Poster Exhibit

Posters include: Jackson family, Webber family, Biddy family, Callandret family, Parthenia Archer, Ninth U.S. Cavalry and famed Buffalo Soldiers of Fort Ringgold, Brownsville Affair of 1906, Mittie Anita (Williams) Pullam, Melissa Dotson Betts, Restlawn Cemetery, Bethel Garden, Juneteenth, and UTRGV library resources.

A SALUTE TO VETERANS OF THE LOWER RIO GRANDE VALLEY 2021

A SALUTE TO VETERANS OF THE LOWER RIO GRANDE VALLEY 2021 highlights the contributions and sacrifices of the Valley's military service men and women. This Veterans Day 2021 we honor all who served.

The poster exhibit is on display from November 1 - 30, 2021 at the University Library:

  • Brownsville: 2nd Floor
  • Edinburg: 1st Floor Gallery Walls

Digital Exhibit: UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES: LOOKING BACK, HONORING LEGACY

Ahead of each Fall semester, Special Collections & University Archives showcases materials from the University Archives collections with the intention of raising awareness of the unique history and legacy of UTRGV. It is our goal that such exhibits inform and inspire the University community.

For Fall 2021, "University Archives: Looking back, honoring legacy" was on exhibit at the University Library in Brownsville and Edinburg from August 16 to September 17, 2021.

The exhibit highlighted specific aspects of UTRGV legacy, including former institutions, notable alumni, college and university presidents, and coaches.

Digital Exhibit: GOLD IN THE MAGIC VALLEY

John H. Shary and the Citrus Industry of the Lower Rio Grande Valley

This exhibition is presented by Special Collections & Archives to highlight the John H. Shary Collection. It focuses on how one man’s dream of building a citrus empire helped stimulate the rapid growth of the Rio Grande Valley’s economy and develop the “Magic Valley” into a reality.

The digital exhibit features photographs and documents relating to the Shary family and the development of the Valley's citrus industry.

Calendar