Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This research guide is currently under development and should be considered a draft. More information to follow...
External Links of Interest
BHA: Digital Collections
Online Access to the Brownsville Historical Association Collections
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
MOSThistory Online Collections
Featured items from the extensive collections of the Margaret H. McAllen Memorial Archives (MHMMA)
UNT: Texas Borderlands Newspaper Collection
The Texas Borderlands Newspaper Collection spans the years 1859 to 2010, giving voice to ancestors and contemporary inhabitants of Texas, who come from multiple cultures.
Search the Library Catalog for Resources
Popular Books on the History of Brownsville
The Brownsville Raid by Around midnight on August 13, 1906, shots rang out on the road between Brownsville, Texas, and Fort Brown, the old army garrison. Ten minutes later a young civilian lay dead, and angry residents swarmed the streets, convinced their homes had been terrorized by newly arrived soldiers. Inside Fort Brown, the alarm was sounded. Soldiers leaped from their bunks and grabbed their rifles, thinking they were under attack by hostile townspeople. The soldiers were black; the civilians were white. Still proclaiming their innocence, 167 black infantrymen of the segregated Twenty-fifth Infantry Regiment were summarily dismissed without honor (or a trial) by President Theodore Roosevelt. "The ""Brownsville"" Raid, " first published in 1970, is John D. Weaver's searching study of the flimsy evidence presented in a 1909-1910 court of inquiry. That court had upheld the president's action and closed the case against the soldiers, not one of whom had ever been found guilty of wrongdoing. The case remained closed until 1971 when, after reading "The Brownsville Raid, " Congressman Augustus F. Hawkins of Los Angeles introduced a bill to have the Defense Department rectify the injustice. Amid a flurry of national publicity, honorable discharges were finally granted in 1972. All were posthumous except for that of Private Dorsie Willis, who received his in a moving ceremony on his eighty-seventh birthday.
Publication Date: 1992-01-01
Charro Days in Brownsville by Brownsville, Texas, was established in 1850 on the banks of the Rio Grande. Every February since 1938, this thriving community of nearly 200,000 has joined its Mexican neighbor, Matamoros, to celebrate their shared cultural heritage. Charro Days burst upon the Rio Grande Valley scene in the depths of the Depression, bringing dances, parades, fireworks, boat races, and a rodeo to a dispirited populace. The celebration achieved instant success, followed by national recognition in magazines, radio, and television. Renowned dance bands and celebrities increased the enjoyment of revelers dressed in Charro costumes. As time passed, Charro Days evolved with the addition of events such as the Mr. Amigo presentation, which recognizes an outstanding Mexican, and the Sombrero Fest, which attracts a large number of attendees with its diverse entertainment.
Publication Date: 2009-12-14
Historic Brownsville by An illustrated history of Brownsville, Texas, paired with histories of the local companies.
Publication Date: 2010-07-07
The News from Brownsville by This remarkable collection of letters written by a U.S. Army officer's wife on the South Texas frontier is among the most significant published in recent years. Helen Chapman and her husband William, the first quartermaster at Fort Brown, were founding citizens of Brownsville, Texas. She commented on social conditions along the Rio Grande, expressing forthright opinions on a wide range of topics.Readers interested in the history of the military, Texas and the Southwest, women and minorities, and domestic life on the frontier will find this an invaluable addition to the literature of the American experience.
Publication Date: 1992-05-01