Skip to main content

Consumer Health Information Resources: Mobile Apps

This guide has will help you locate consumer health information resources online.

General Health Apps

The CDC Milestone Tracker app lets you track the milestones of your child as they grow from 2 months to 5 years old. Included are illustrated checklists, tips to encourage your child’s development, and what to do if you are concerned about your child’s development. You are able to add multiple children, view your child’s development progress, see photos and videos of what the milestone looks like, view tips and activities for your child, determine when is the time to act on any developmental concerns, keep track of appointments, and view a summary of your child’s milestone development which can be shared via email to your child’s healthcare provider. 

The Mayo Clinic app includes daily health news and advice from top doctors, dietitians, fitness experts, and more. The user can search for research-backed answers to their questions about diseases, symptoms, and health procedures. 

The MD Anderson mobile app lets you have access to MD Anderson news, resources, and directions. 

The Heat Safety Tool app by OSHA-NIOSH is useful to determine whether outside activities should be scheduled based on how hot it feels. The app has the real-time heat index and hourly forecasts specific to your location. 

The Solve the Outbreak app is a fun app in which you are a trainee with the CDC that analyzes clues to solve the outbreak in the community and save lives. 

 

Fitness Apps

The Google Fit app helps you get to a healthier and more active lifestyle. With this app you are able to track your workouts from your phone or watch, monitor your goals, make all your movements count, get coaching that fits you, connect with your favorite apps and devices, and lets you check in at any time.

MyFitnessPal is a popular health and fitness app. You are able to track your food intake, set goals, log your exercise and steps, get support and motivation, and chart your progress. The app has several tools to help users start living a healthier life. 

Your Exercise Solution app provides a personalized exercise plan. After logging in to the app, you will be able to identify where you have pain, select your fitness level, choose the right activity for you, and get personalized modifications to assist you in exercising safely. 

 

Drug Information Apps

The HIV/AIDS Drug Database app from AIDSinfo provides access to the same information provided by the AIDSinfo Drug Database. It includes two versions of each drug summary. One in English and Spanish for consumers and one for health care professionals. The app is always up to date as it refreshes the information automatically.

The Drugs.com app lets you search for information on any drug, identify pills, and check for interactions. You can also set up your own personal medication record. 

LactMed is used to find information on maternal and infant drug levels, possible effects on lactation and on breastfed infants, and alternative drugs to consider. 

 

Specialty Apps

This app helps you learn how to spot a possible concussion and what to do if your child may have a concussion. It also includes a 3D helmet fit feature to teach the user about proper helmet fit, safety and care. 

The HIV/AIDS Glossary app provides access to the terms in the AIDSinfo Glossary of HIV/AIDS-Related Terms page. There are over 700 HIV/AIDS related terms that are available in English and Spanish.

The HIV/AIDS Guidelines app by AIDSinfo provides access to the federally approved HIV/AIDS medical practice guidelines. It offers treatment recommendations for adults, adolescents, pediatrics, and perinatal HIV infections approved by experts. Prevention and treatment of HIV-related opportunistic infections is also available.

QuitGuide is a free app that helps you understand your smoking patterns and helps you quit smoking. With the app you can track your cravings by time and location and get motivational messages for each craving tracked.