Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionary of Medical Acronyms and Abbreviations by This best-selling portable resource provides authoritative definitions for all of the medical acronyms and abbreviations you can expect to encounter in medicine today. The new, 5th Edition features 10,000 completely new entries reflecting the most recent developments in health care-including new clinical trials, new technologies, and new advances. Highlights include the latest virus nomenclature, computer technology, medical informatics, and molecular biology, along with more from the ever-expanding list of organizations and associations. It also includes a CD-ROM that makes the content accessible via computer. What's more, a handheld software version is available on CD-ROM-sold separately, or in a money-saving package together with the book. Features a concise, pocket-sized format that is easy to carry, easy to consult, and easy to afford. Delivers all of the authority readers expect from the publisher of Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary. Offers 10,000 brand-new entries encompassing all of the latest acronyms and abbreviations from every front in health care. Includes a CD-ROM that makes the content accessible via computer. Is available separately on CD-ROM as software for most handheld devices, and in a money-saving package together with the book.
Call Number: W 13 J11d 2005
Publication Date: 2004-08-06
Johns Hopkins Symptoms and Remedies by Symptoms and Remedies gives the reader a thorough and professional understanding of everyday symptoms, emergencies and diseases and advice on their remedies. Over 500 symptoms and conditions are addressed in clear, easy-to-understand language. Each entry has been thoroughly reviewed by the appropriate Johns Hopkins specialist, and contains the latest up-to-the-minute information on the ailments and the remedies and treatments including information on prevention, the latest drug and surgical treatments, as well as self-care tips.
Call Number: WB 39 J665 2003
Publication Date: 2003-09-01
Mayo Clinic Family Health Book by Since its initial publication in 1990, Mayo Clinic Family Health Book has become a classic home medical reference, selling more than 1 million copies. Now in its third edition, this completely revised, generously illustrated volume offers the latest in medical knowledge with a strong emphasis on self-care. From prevention to treatment, from infancy to old age, this comprehensive health guide offers reliable, easy-to-understand information in six convenient sections. Part I: Living Well Filled with health-promotion strategies, this section details nutrition, fitness, stress management and other practices for healthy living. Part II: Common Conditions and Concerns Through Life's Stages Here you'll find explanations of human growth and development, descriptions of health issues common to children and adults, and a discussion of issues related to death and dying. Part III: Making Sense of Your Symptoms This all-new section is intended to help you better understand what may be causing certain signs or symptoms that you're experiencing. It includes information on frequent concerns and complaints common to adults, as well as those common to children. Part IV: First Aid and Emergency Care Here you'll find guidance on how to respond to situations ranging from simple sprains and cuts to urgent events such as chest pain and choking. Part V: Diseases and Disorders The largest section in the book, Part V includes discussions of more than 1,000 diseases and disorders. Here you can find detailed information about specific conditions. Each discussion lists common signs and symptoms, followed by a description of the condition, information on how it's diagnosed and a review of treatment options. Preceding this section are 40 pages of color illustrations to help you better understand human anatomy and common disorders. Part VI: Tests and Treatments This section discusses tests commonly used to evaluate individual health and diagnose disease. It also includes a medications guide and information on surgery, various methods to manage pain and complementary and alternative therapies.
Call Number: WB 120 M473 2003
Publication Date: 2003-05-01
Mayo Clinic Guide to Self-Care by Comprehensive Diagnosis and treatment of complex medical problems are hallmarks of Mayo Clinic, and have been for more than 100 years.sNow the world-renowned expertise of Mayo Clinic is available to you in this easy-to-understand, authoritative guide featuring instant access to the facts you need -- including practical information on more than 150 of today's most common health problems. Book jacket.
Publication Date: 2003-06-01
8 Weeks to Maximizing Diabetes Control by In just 8 weeks, you can learn the tricks of the trade for managing your type 2 diabetes. Whether you've just been diagnosed or have bee living with diabetes for years, 8 Weeks to Maximizing Diabetes Control gives you the tools and resources you need to reach your treatment goals.
Call Number: WK 850 H633e 2008
Publication Date: 2008-05-01
The Diabetes Lifestyle Book by You've been diagnosed with diabetes. Now what? Your doctor has given you directions on what you can do to control your blood sugar. Now you need to find a way to commit to smart choices for better health. And you need to deal with some uncomfortable feelings that might arise in the process. This book offers a powerful and proven new approach that can help you make it happen. Based on new research using acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT), a bold new direction in psychology, these techniques will help you move past cravings, find motivation to exercise, and manage anxiety that you might feel when you test your blood sugar level. You'll learn how to embrace the changes you'll need to make in order to jumpstart your new, healthful lifestyle.
Call Number: WK 850 G819d 2007
Publication Date: 2007-09-01
Every Woman's Guide to Diabetes by Women have long needed a book devoted to their unique issues with diabetes. This up-to-date and practical guide advocates simple lifestyle changes that can help women reduce their risk of getting diabetes or, if already diagnosed, prevent the disease's most serious complications. Every Woman's Guide to Diabetes translates the latest findings from diabetes research into proven strategies busy women can use to stay healthy and gain control over an often overwhelming disease. The authors discuss the nature of diabetes, helping readers through the complex medical decisions involved in diabetes treatment. They highlight strategies to decrease the emotional stress and social isolation that often accompany diagnosis, and offer everyday techniques for managing blood sugar. Key features include: -- Unique aspects of diabetes for women throughout the life cycle -- Timetable of recommended tests and check-ups -- Guide to medications with common dosages -- Charts to help organize diabetes-care tasks and supplies -- Time-management tips for better disease regulation -- Guide to contraceptives available to women with diabetes -- Review of issues critical to women before, during, and following pregnancy -- Advice for overcoming barriers to weight loss and exercise -- Plan for intelligent diet trade-offs while still enjoying meals -- Practical tips for planning exercise -- Strategies to avoid diabetes "burn-out" Written by two physicians (one of whom is a woman living with diabetes) and an experienced medical writer, Every Woman's Guide to Diabetes recognizes the power that women have in their households to effect lifestyle changes that will benefit themselves and loved ones, including their mothers, daughters, sisters, and partners. This power can reduce the toll of the diabetes epidemic.
Call Number: WK 810 E36e 2007
Publication Date: 2008-04-30
Living with Diabetes by The particular challenges that diabetes presents African Americans with are discussed in this medical guide that highlights how cultural differences, including heredity and diet, impact the prevalence of diabetes in the black community. Information on how the disease works, how it is treated, and how to handle the emotional challenges that accompany a chronic disease is provided. Preventative steps, disease management, exercise and diet, and proper medication are covered for those who suffer from the disease.
Call Number: WK 850 R324L 2005
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Mayo Clinic on Managing Diabetes by Mayo Clinic on Managing Diabetes offers sound advice on controlling the disease and living as normal a life as possible. In this book, readers will learn: The different types of diabetes; Symptoms, risk factors, and how diabetes is diagnosed; The best ways of monitoring your condition; How to develop a healthy eating plan; The latest cutting edge therapies; What complication to watch for, and how they can be prevented.
Call Number: WK 810 M473 2006
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Real-Life Guide to Diabetes by Here's everything you need to know about diabetes in a one-of-a-kind book packed with information you won't find anywhere else. Using an easy-to-search format, Real-Life Guide to Diabetes lets you find the answers to your most pressing questions quickly and easily. Other books give you complex systems to manage your diabetes, but those rarely work in real life - it's time for a more realistic approach.
Call Number: WK 850 W295 2009
Publication Date: 2009-03-11
Type 2 Diabetes - Your Healthy Living Guide by Your one-stop, comprehensive guide to everything you need to know about living well with type 2 diabetes. This new edition has been redesigned and updated with the latest information to help you find the answers to your questions faster and easier, giving you the resources you need to stop worrying about diabetes and get back to living life.
Call Number: WK 810 T9915 2009
Publication Date: 2009-06-03
Birthing From Within by Birthing From Within offers parents engaging and memorable ways for pregnant women, and their partners, to activate personal, social and spiritual resources that will guide them through their labour and afterwards.
Call Number: WQ 150 E58b 2007
Publication Date: 2007
American Academy of Pediatrics Caring for Your Teenager by Expert, authoritative guidance you can trust on helping your teenager cope with the changes and challenges of adolescence, from The American Academy of Pediatrics. The critical, life-shaping years between twelve and twenty-one have been called the "turbulent teens." But adolescence doesn't have to be a time of anxiety and upheaval--for either teenagers or their parents. In this comprehensive, down-to-earth guide, the nation's leading authority on the care of children helps parents and caregivers guide teenagers through the successful transition into young adulthood. Combining practical parenting advice with the latest medical, psychological, and scientific research, and covering every aspect of a teenager's growth and development, the American Academy of Pediatrics' Caring for Your Teenager offers indispensable information on: * The stages of adolescence--what defines normal physical, emotional, social, and intellectual development * Setting rules and limits--helping teenagers grow into responsible adults * The twelve building blocks of self-esteem--from feelings of security and belonging to decision making, pride, and trust * Instilling values and strengthening family ties * The problem of peer pressure: giving your child the confidence to handle it * Hormones--easing teenagers' anxieties about their changing bodies * Safeguarding your teenager from sexually transmitted diseases * Adapting to different family types--from single-parent to adoptive to blended * Helping your teenager cope with serious illness or death in the family, sibling rivalry, separation, or divorce Plus * Helping your teenager find the right college--or make an alternative choice * Teens, the Internet, and the law * A comprehensive medical guide to common ailments . . . and much more Caring for Your Teenager is the one guide that no one entrusted with the care of a teenage child should be without--a book that provides parents with all the information they need to ensure that their child is on the right track to becoming a happy, healthy adult.
Call Number: WS 460 C277 2003
Publication Date: 2003-04-29
Natural Birth Control Made Simple by This book gives specific instruction on the use of two methods of family planning: Natural Family Planning and Fertility Awareness Method. These methods give couples natural choices: 1. To avoid pregnancy, you can determine when you are infertile and have sexual intercourse without conceiving. 2. To become pregnant, you can track the days of the month when you are most fertile and have intercourse when you are most likely to conceive. 3. These safe non-invasive techniques can be used by themselves or combined with other contraception methods. 4. The techniques are noninvasive, have no side effects and carry no danger of toxic infection or cancer. The authors, experts in fertility awareness, have completely revised and updated this newly titled edition of the book. The new material includes several new examples of natural birth control and the fertility awareness method, with illustrations. The book contains 40 charts for readers to use. The book is written in an accessible style and contains edifying case studies.
Call Number: WP 630 K19n 2003
Publication Date: 2003-05-22
The Portable Pediatrician by Dr. Laura Nathanson wrote The Portable Pediatrician to help parents find the joy in parenting and gain the confidence to quickly and easily assess their child's development, medical symptoms, and behavioral problems. Parents can't always visit their pediatrician every time they have a question, but fortunately with this book they have the next best thing. The Portable Pediatrician, one of the few child-care books written by a practicing pediatrician, offers authoritative and practical advice on: Keeping up with, or even one step ahead of, your child's rapidly changing needs Setting limits before the one year birthday Planning the arrival of the next baby in the family Coping with your own as well as with your child's separation anxiety Dealing with the four I's: illnesses, injuries, immunizations, and insurance coverage Getting prompt medical attention for serious crises -- and what to do in the meantime Preventing childhood obesity and eating disorders later Confronting complex behavior and medical problems, including ADD, autism, asthma, oppositional behavior (including potty resistance)
Call Number: WS 100 N275p 2002
Publication Date: 2002-09-17
Ayundado a Su Hijo en el Hospital by An indispensable guide for Spanish speaking parents taking their child to the hospital, whether for stitches, outpatient surgery, or extended stays. Children who are reassured about what lies ahead have less anxiety and cope more easily with procedures and treatments. Well-prepared parents can be calm and effective advocates for their children in a situation that can otherwise be traumatic.Ayudando a Su Hijo en el Hospital is a practical book of tips and wisdom from veteran parents that will help make any hospital stay easier. Topics include: Preparing your child Going to the emergency room Dealing with doctors Making the most of the room and facility Coping with procedures (to minimize discomfort and trauma) Keeping family life going Keeping in touch with school Handling insurance claims Getting financial assistance Resources for parents This edition also features a journal where a child can note personal experiences, opening communication, giving the child a measure of control, and allowing the parent a window into the child's experience.
Call Number: WS 105.5 .H7 K26a 2002
Publication Date: 2002-06-21
Donde No Hay Doctor by Un guida para los campesinos que viven lejos de los centros medicos.
Call Number: WB 120 W492d 1995
Publication Date: 1995-11-01
El Primer Ano de Su Bebe by Brinda el sano consejo en todos los aspectos del cuidado del beb#65533; de la Asociaci#65533;n Americana de Pediatr#65533;a. Este manual completo y sencillo de usar aborda preguntas m#65533;dicas, preocupaciones de los padres, e aspectos de seguridad. Incluyendo temas que van desde las etapas a alcanzar por mes, el cuidado infantil b#65533;sico, c#65533;mo enfrentar emergencias, y problemas del sue#65533;o, haste la instalaci#65533;n del asiento de beb#65533; para el auto y la elecci#65533;n de un pediatra, esta gu#65533;a contiene una abundancia de informaci#65533;n para padres que buscan tanto datos cl#65533;nicos como avisos para una vida enfocada en la familia. Covering everything from preparing for childbirth to baby’s first steps, this easy-to-use Spanish translation of Your Baby's First Year addresses medical worries, safety concerns, well-baby questions, and so much more. Includes a month-to-month guide to growth, behavior, and development for baby’s first year.
Call Number: WS 113 P953 2004
Publication Date: 2004-04-01
Medical Dictionary by This dictionary contains virtually all health-related terms likely to occur in a conversation between a health worker and a Spanish-speaking patient, including common colloquialisms and slang terms not found in similar dictionaries. This edition contains over 18,000 entries and 3000 new terms have been added.
Call Number: W 13 R726e 2007
Publication Date: 2006-09-18
Healthy Mexican Cooking by This edition, sporting a new cover, features 160 wholesome Mexican ingredients and is now available in both English and Spanish. Here's an excellent collection of authentic low-fat Mexican recipes . . . easy to follow and so delicious your family won't even notice the reduction of fat --The Baldwin Bookworm/Ledger Book Review.
Call Number: WB 405 L173h 1995
Publication Date: 1995-12-01
Waiting for Bebé by While pregnant with her first daughter Alcaniz discovered that there isn't a single book on the market that deals with the unique aspects of the pregnant Hispanic woman. Waiting for Beb deals with the unique concerns, both physiological and cultural, that Hispanic women face during pregnancy.
Call Number: WQ 150 A347w 2003
Publication Date: 2003-06-03
100 Questions and Answers about Depression by Approximately 35 to 40 million Americans will deal with severe depression at some point in their lives. Whether youre a newly diagnosed patient, or a friend or relative, this book offers help. The only volume available to provide the doctors and patients view, 100 Questions and Answers About Depression gives you authoritative, practical answers to your questions about treatment options, advice on coping with depression, sources of support, and much more. Written by two prominent psychiatrists, Drs. Ava T. Albrecht and Charles Herrick, with commentary from both a patient and a family member, this book is an invaluable resource for anyone coping with the medical, psychological, and emotional turmoil of this debilitating condition.
Call Number: WM 171 A341o 2006
Publication Date: 2005-04-25
Eldercare for Dummies by Cope with legal, financial, and medical issues Minimize anxiety and stress and make the later years golden Need help caring for an elderly loved one? This sensitive, reassuring guide provides strategies for assessing older persons' needs, arranging for care, ensuring their safety, and enhancing quality of life - all while respecting their dignity. You'll see how to manage physical disabilities and chronic health problems, evaluate nursing homes, and help elders control their destinies. The Dummies Way * Explanations in plain English * "Get in, get out" information * Icons and other navigational aids * Tear-out cheat sheet * Top ten lists * A dash of humor and fun
Call Number: WT 31 Z94e 2003
Publication Date: 2003-05-23
Hypertension by Hypertension is a common condition, affecting about one quarter of all adults in the Western world and as such forms a major part of a general practitioner's workload. The condition has a high morbidity and mortality arising from the development of complications, such as heart failure, renal disease, and cerebral haemorrhage and therefore prevention and optimal management of the condition is a major priority for the primary health care team. Recent decades have seen a rapid proliferation of scientific research which has produced a range of effective antihypertensive therapies that have substantially improved the lives of people with hypertension, both in terms of enhanced quality of life and increased life-expectancy. These developments have also added to the increasing complexity of the management of hypertensive patients and many primary health care workers find it hard to keep up with the latest developments in the field.This pocket book charts the progression of knowledge and understanding of the cardiovascular system that has led to the modern strategies for the effective management of hypertension and provides the user with a concise and accessible summary of current best practice.
Call Number: WG 340 P876h 2002
Publication Date: 2002-07-01
The Harvard Medical School Guide to Lowering Your Cholesterol by From the experts at one of the world's most respected medical schools--your complete guide to managing cholesterol and staying healthy for life Everybody knows that high cholesterol is something to be concerned about. But what does it really mean when your doctor tells you that your cholesterol levels are high, and what should you do about it? If you're worried about your cholesterol, here's your chance to get the answers you need from a top expert at the Harvard Medical School. As founder and chief of the prestigious Lipid Metabolism Unit at Massachusetts General Hospital, Dr. Mason W. Freeman treats hundreds of patients each year and oversees breakthrough cholesterol research. In The Harvard Medical School Guide to Lowering Your Cholesterol he explains: What cholesterol is and the difference between "good" and "bad" cholesterol How to assess your risk for high cholesterol How to work with your doctor to develop the best treatment plan for you Cholesterol-lowering drugs--who should take them, what to look out for, and how to be sure your doctor is monitoring you properly How to manage your cholesterol through diet and exercise The latest scientific findings on alternative therapies About the Harvard Medical School health guide series Each book from Harvard Medical School gives you the knowledge you need to understand and take control of your health. In every book, a world-renowned expert from Harvard Medical School provides you with the latest information on diagnosis, traditional and alternative treatments, home remedies, and lifestyle changes that can make a powerful difference in your health.
Call Number: WD 200.5. H6 F855h 2005
Publication Date: 2005-03-03
Mayo Clinic on High Blood Pressure by This easy-to-understand book has what you need to know how to avoid high blood pressure or, if you have it, to take control of it and live a healthier life.
Call Number: WC 340 M473 2002
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
National Geographic Desk Reference to Nature's Medicine by For millennia, humans have looked to nature for remedies to ailments great and small. Long before formal science enabled us to take a systematic approach to medicine, healers used plants to alleviate pain, ease the symptoms of dozens of diseases, and treat complaints of every kind. And today, countless people still use medicinal plants, whether in traditional roles or as building blocks for new research and innovative drugs. Featuring 350 full-color photographs, botanical drawings, and maps, this accessible, fact-filled book is based on the work of renowned botanical experts and presents alphabetically arranged, beautifully illustrated entries for hundreds of plants touted for thousands of years to soothe, even heal. Each is clearly described, with full details of its physical appearance and medicinal uses; its origins and geographic distribution, how it’s harvested and used in conventional and alternative medicine, a range map; and more. With fascinating medical chronicle filled with informative sidebars on everything from ancient folklore to the latest research, readers learn how aspirin evolved from a concoction of willow bark to the familiar white pill of today, how the foxglove’s flowery beauty contributes to the potent heart drug digitalis, and how many other now common treatments have deep historical and cultural roots. It’s a journey that starts many centuries ago in remote places like the Amazon rain forest, where shamans practiced their powerful curative magic of plants, and leads to the high-tech pharmaceutical labs of today’s scientists working to discover new plant-based drugs that can be used effectively to treat diseases major and minor alike, from cancer to the common cold.
Call Number: QV 766 F757d 2006
Publication Date: 2008-08-19
Nothing Personal by This is a remarkable book. It is the story of just one person but it is repeated time and time again by many, all over the world. She has a complex but potentially curable cancer from the outset - one that requires a surgical intervention, radiotherapy and chemotherapy to treat optimally. So Mitzi experiences everything. With a young and very active family to look after, she has a lot to live for so how she deals with uncertainty is fascinating. The disruption to her life by the cancer and its treatment is massive and to add to it all she is going through a marital breakdown at the same time.I feel it's an incredible privilege to be allowed to follow her journey so closely. 'This is essential reading for all who deal with cancer patients - health professionals, politicians, health service developers, carers and, of course, patients themselves. It clearly gives us a distillation of what cancer patients want. We need to create a new network of modern cancer centres where the latest technology in radiotherapy and chemotherapy is seamlessly delivered in a comfortable, welcoming environment. Novel information technology can be used to link the centres so every patient will be monitored to get the best possible treatment.'
Call Number: QZ 201 B647 2008
Publication Date: 2008-05-20
Quitting Smoking for Dummies® by The decision to quit smoking is far from a casual one. Quitting smoking involves your complete commitment; it must become your number-one priority. Mustering all the support you can get, you need to decide to turn up the flame on your survival instincts, your belief in a healthy future, and your will power and faith that you can and will quit. The sooner you stop smoking, the better your chances of avoiding some of the unwelcome consequences of smoking. You body and brain begin to recover almost immediately. Cigarette cravings aside, your body wants to stop smoking, and the moment you cut loose the smokes, your respiratory system begins to clear itself out. Here are just a few of the benefits you can reap from kicking the habit: A longer life with a lower risk of cancer and other deadly diseases No more sore throats, congested lungs, and persistent cough The ability to exercise and "get back into shape" Kissable breath and clothes that don't smell like you just came home from a bar Being able to really taste good food Pleasing your family and friends and no more being the outcast Like all smokers, you've probably tried to quit a half dozen times, only to relapse. Perhaps you'd given up all hope of being able to quit, but now you're getting pressure from others, such as family members, to end your smoking career completely. But how do you take those first steps? And how do you follow through with your commitment to quit smoking? Quitting Smoking For Dummies can help. Quitting Smoking For Dummies takes a total approach to help you quit smoking - short of yanking the cigarettes from your hands. It gives you the cold, hard truth about why you're addicted and how smoking harms your body - and it helps you develop a plan for finally quitting. Here's just a sampling of the topics you'll find covered: Understanding the various forms of tobacco - and their effects Figuring out why you're addicted Analyzing the health risks of smoking Developing a strategy to quit smoking Exploring nicotine replacement therapies Staying clean: Avoiding the relapse Getting help from support groups and programs Special considerations for pregnancy and teen smoking So, the question to ask yourself is, "Why wait to quit?" You're going to have to eventually; why not start now? With Quitting Smoking For Dummies, you can start your recovery today, and look forward to a long and healthy life.
Call Number: WM 290 B862q 2003
Publication Date: 2003-09-12
Big Book of the Human Body by
Call Number: QS 4 B592 2006
Publication Date: 2006-10-30
Pull-down tabs, lift-the-flaps, fun textures, and foldouts make this cool book the perfect reference for children who want to learn about their bodies. Includes 3-D glasses. Full color. Consumable.
Call Number: QP 37 B8214 2002
Publication Date: 2002-09-16
A classic of modern gross scholarship.
Grossology and You by
Call Number: QP 37 B8215 2002
Publication Date: 2002-09-16
We have news for you: You are gross. (And you thought we'd never find out!)
Hands-On Grossology by
Call Number: QP 37 B8216 2003
Publication Date: 2003-07-28
A truly revolting collection of gross science experiments.
Virtual Grossology by
Call Number: QP 37 B8212 1997
Publication Date: 1998-02-02
Explains the scientific facts of some of the processes of human physiology that many people find disgusting, and provides examples of associated sounds and smells.