EPDF and EPUB available Open Access under CC-BY-NC-ND.This book explores how children's rights are practised and weighed against birth and adoptive parents' rights and examines how governments and professionals balance rights when it is decided that children cannot return to parental care.From different socio-political and legal contexts in Europe and the United States, it provides an in-depth analysis of concepts of family, contact, the child's best-interest principle and human rights when children are adopted from care. Taking an international comparative approach to these issues, this book provides detailed information on adoption processes and shares learning from best practice and research across country boundaries to help improve outcomes for all children in care for whom adoption may be the placement of choice.
This edited collection focuses on Africentric social work practice, providing invaluable assistance to undergraduate students in developing foundational skills and knowledge to further their understanding of how to initiate and maintain best practices with African Canadians. In social work education and field practice, students will benefit from the depth and breadth of this book's discussions of social, health, and educational concerns related to Black people across Canada. The book's contributors present a broad spectrum of personal and professional experiences as African Canadian social work practitioners, students and educators. They address issues that African Canadians confront daily, which social work educators and potential practitioners need to understand to provide racially and culturally relevant services. The book presents students with an invaluable opportunity to develop their practical skills through case studies and critical thinking exercises, with recommendations for how to ethically and culturally engage in African-centred service provision. In addition, scholars with an interest in Africentric social work practice and research will find this text useful to help support their commitment to advancing racially and culturally relevant learning and teaching.
Applied Cross-Cultural Data Analysis for Social Work is a research guide for examining and interpreting data for the purpose of cultural group comparisons. This book aims to provide practical applications in statistical approaches of data analyses that are commonly used in cross-culturalresearch and evaluation. Readers are presented with step-by-step illustrations in the use of descriptive, bivariate, and multivariate statistics to compare cross-cultural population using large-scale, population-based survey data. These techniques have important applications in health, mentalhealth, and social science research relevant to social work and other helping professions, especially in providing a framework of evidence to examine health disparities using population-health data. For each statistical approach discussed in this book, Thanh V. Tran and Keith T. Chan explain theunderlying purpose, basic assumptions, types of variables, application of the Stata statistical package, the presentation of statistical findings, and the interpretation of results. Unlike previous guides on statistical approaches and data analysis in social work, this book explains and demonstratesthe strategies of cross-cultural data analysis using descriptive and bivariate analysis, multiple regression, additive and multiplicative interaction, mediation, SEM and HLM for subgroup analysis and cross-cultural comparisons. This book also includes sample syntax from Stata for social workresearchers to conduct cross-cultural analysis with their own research.
Adult social care was the first major social policy domain in England to be transferred from the state to the market. There is now a forty-year period to look back at to consider the thinking behind the strategy, the impacts on commissioners and providers of care, on the care workforce and on those who use care and support services. In this book, Bob Hudson meticulously charts these shifts. He challenges the dominant market paradigm, explores alternative models for a post-Covid-19 future and locates the debate within the wider literature on political thinking and policy change.
With accessible strategies grounded in trauma-informed education and positive psychology, this book equips teachers to support all students, particularly the most vulnerable. It will help them to build their resilience, increase their motivation and engagement, and fulfil their full learning potential within the classroom. Trauma-informed, strengths-based classrooms are built upon three core aims: to support children to build their self-regulatory capacities, to build a sense of relatedness and belonging at school, and to integrate wellbeing principles that nurture growth and identify strengths. Taking conventional approaches to trauma one step further, teachers may create a classroom environment which helps students to meet their own needs in a healthy way and progress academically. Based on the successful Berry Street education strategies pioneered by the authors, this book also includes comprehensive case studies, learning points and opportunities for self-reflection, fully supporting teachers to implement these strategies within the classroom.
Now in its fifth edition, The Practice of Family Therapy comes at a time when traditional approaches to psychotherapy have given way to multidimensional strategies that best serve the needs of diverse groups who are grappling with the many challenges unique to family therapy practice. With expanded coverage of different models, along with new developments in evidence-based and postmodern practices, this integrative textbook bridges the gap between science and systemic/relational approaches, as it guides the reader through each stage of family therapy. Part I lays the groundwork by introducing the first-, second-, and third-generation models of family therapy, teaching the reader to integrate different elements from these models into a systemic structure of practice. Part II explores the practical application of these models, including scripts for specific interventions and rich case examples that highlight how to effectively work with diverse client populations. Students will learn how to make connections between individual symptoms and cutting-edge family practices to respond successfully to cases of substance abuse, trauma, grief, depression, suicide risk, violence, LGBTQ families, and severely mentally ill clients and their families. Also included are study guides for each model and a glossary to review main concepts. Aligned with the Association of Marital and Family Therapy Regulatory Boards' (AMFTRB) knowledge and content statements, this textbook will be key reading for graduate students who are preparing for the national licensing exam in marriage and family therapy.
Expert guidance for child welfare and youth care professionals looking to increase their knowledge about, and skills in, working with transgender and gender expansive youth and their families. Many professionals working in child welfare and youth service (including line workers, supervisors, managers, and administrators), lack adequate knowledge about trans or gender expansive identities, which means they are not sufficiently prepared to address or respond to the needs of trans or gender expansive youth. This guide will provide readers with the information they need to do their jobs effectively with youth of all genders, including guidance on relationships, discrimination, mental health, foster care and homelessness. It provides examples of successful practice in a variety of case narratives from youth and their families.
Field education is social work's signature pedagogy, the essential preparation for professional practice. Its success depends on field educators--field instructors, task supervisors or preceptors, and faculty field liaisons--to guide and assess student learning and maintain the pedagogical integrity of the field experience. Despite its importance and complexity, few resources exist for orienting and preparing field educators. This anthology presents decision cases that depict the actual experiences of social work field educators and students. They showcase the complex dynamics of field education and highlight a range of dilemmas experienced by novice and seasoned field educators. In various combinations, the dilemmas include interpersonal boundaries, emotional reactivity, initiative, expectations, role confusion, inadequate performance, accountability, interpersonal conflict, personal values, and impairment. The cases show how other field educators have navigated the issues that typically arise, with greater or lesser success. The cases portray the intricacy and rewards of this educational role and are selected for their ability to facilitate in-depth discussion among field educators during their initial training or continuing education. Guided discussions of these cases can bolster supervisory competence and confidence. They enable field educators to develop important problem-solving and critical-thinking skills related to their overlapping roles as instructors, supervisors, mentors, advisors, colleagues, and role models, helping them thrive and continue to serve the profession. An accompanying instructor manual provides extensive information for each decision case and also includes guidance for field directors on how to use the case method of teaching and sources for additional information.
Diversity, Oppression, and Change, Third Edition provides a culturally grounded approach to practice, policy, and research in social work and allied fields. The book's intersectionality perspective provides a lens through which students can identify connections between identities based onrace/ethnicity, gender, sexual orientation, social class, religion, and ability status. Through theoretical and empirical content as well as "Notes from the Field," students become familiar with the culturally grounded perspective and culturally appropriate ways of engaging with diverse communities.Marsiglia, Kulis, and Lechuga-Pena have crafted a book about hope and resiliency, the miraculous ability of individuals and communities to bounce back from oppressive experiences and historical trauma, and the role of social workers as allies in that journey.
The recent establishment of evidence-based practice (EBP) interventions in the mental health space has enabled social workers to diagnose various mental, emotional, and behavioral issues in clients. This increased focus on using scientific methods to develop EBPs has been helpful forprofessionals making choices about client intervention, but it tends to distract attention from the client-facing process of delivering a given intervention. The effectiveness of direct social work practice always requires one's competence in providing a variety of intervention modalities, but theoutcomes are also dependent on the social worker's ability to develop and maintain constructive relationships with clients.The Dynamics of the Social Worker-Client Relationship is an in-depth contemporary approach to the many ways in which social workers can develop, maintain, and rebuild constructive working relationships with clients who display various psychological symptoms. Building on 14 years of practitionerexperience and 25 years teaching clinical social work practice, Joseph Walsh provides helpful ways to cultivate positive relationships and promote better opportunities for successful intervention. Each chapter focuses on a particular challenge that social workers may encounter in that process,including the benefits and limitations of theory selection, boundaries, the use of self, the working alliance, relationship ruptures, special issues presented by children and adolescents, terminations and transfers, clients about whom a social worker experiences highly positive or negative feelings,appropriate usage of physical touch and humor, working with psychotic clients, and various uses of technology. The book is filled with case studies from a wide range of field placements. Walsh analyzes these in each instance and walks readers through each predicament to ensure effectiverelationships are always at top of mind.
Within the context of the growing demands for ethical, legal, and fiscal accountability in psychosocial practices, Evidence-Based Practice for Social Workers: An Interdisciplinary Approach, Third Edition provides a coherent, comprehensive and useful resource for social workers and other humanservice professionals. This fully updated text teaches readers to 1) conduct clinical assessments informed by current human behaviour science; 2) implement interventions supported by current outcome research; and 3) engage in evaluation as part of daily practice to ensure effective implementation ofevidence-based practices.Sample assessment/evaluation instruments (contributed by leading experts) allow practitioners and students to better understand their use as both assessment and evaluation tools. Case studies and sample treatment plans help the reader bridge the gap between clinical research and everyday practice.Overall, Evidence-Based Practice for Social Workers provides practitioners and students with a thoroughly researched yet practice-oriented resource for learning and implementing effective assessment, intervention and evaluation methods for a wide array of psychosocial disorders andproblems-in-living in adults, children and families.
Social workers are global actors. From protecting the rights of individuals to working through the lasting impact of regional or international conflict, it is important to acknowledge the impact international social issues have on the work of social workers. In the third edition of HumanRights and Social Justice in a Global Perspective, Susan C. Mapp utilizes the human rights approach to examine social issues in the Global South, including AIDS, human trafficking, war and conflict, and climate change. Using the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, as well as other UN human rightsdocuments, as a framework to examine social injustice and human rights violations, these issues are explained holistically to allow readers to understand the cultural context in which they arise and why they persist in society today. Each chapter closes with a "Culture Box," which offers an in-depthlook into the issue in, and cultural impacts surrounding, a specific country. Mapp provides suggestions for affecting change on every issue, both as a professional social worker and in one's personal life, making this an ideal text for those looking to engage with international social work.
Just Practice: A Social Justice Approach to Social Work provides a foundation for critical and creative social work that integrates theory, history, ethics, skills, and rights to respond to the complex terrain of 21st century social work. Just Practice puts the field of social work's expressed commitment to social justice at center stage with a framework that builds upon five key concepts: meaning, context, power, history, and possibility. How do we give meaning to the experiences and conditions that shape our lives? What are the contexts in which those experiences and conditions occur? How do structures and relations of power shape people's lives and the practice of social work? How might a historical perspective help us to grasp the ways in which struggles over meaning and power have played out and to better appreciate the human consequences of those struggles? Taken together, these concepts provide a guide for integrative social work that bridges direct practice and community building. The text prepares readers with the theoretical knowledge and practice skills to address the complex challenges of contemporary social work from direct practice with individuals and families, to group work, organizational and community change, and policy analysis and advocacy. Each chapter includes learning activities, reflection moments, practice examples, and the stories and voices of practitioners and service users to engage students as critical thinkers and practitioners. The author encourages teachers and students alike to take risks, move from safe, familiar, pedagogical spaces and practices, challenge assumptions, and embrace uncertainty.
Modern Social Work Theory, Fifth Edition provides a comprehensive and critical overview of the main practice theories that will act as a companion for students throughout their course and their career as a practitioner. In this substantially reworked and updated edition of his best-selling text, Malcolm Payne presents clear and concise evaluations of the pros and cons of major theories that inform social work practice and comparisons between them.
Despite current population movement towards urban areas, rural people remain a significant yet under-served population. These communities share a rich and distinctive culture, but also face specific problems including higher rates of poverty, increased rates of obesity, and decreased access tohealth coverage and social services. Rural Social Work in the 21st Century, Second Edition provides a comprehensive overview of the knowledge, skills, values, ethics, and issues central to the practice of social work in small towns and rural communities.The updated second edition features a new chapter on social, economic, and environmental justice. An expanded history chapter presents new information on the use of poor farms to serve dependent rural people in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Later chapters discuss rural social services, a modelfor rural social work practice, and ethical practice. The final chapters focus on the practice of rural social work and challenges for the future.
School Social Work: Practice, Policy, and Research has been a foundational guide to the profession for over 40 years. Featuring 30 readings divided into five parts, this best-selling text reflects the many ways that school social work practice impacts academic, behavioral, and social outcomesfor both youths and the broader school community. The essays include selections from both pioneers in the field and newcomers who address the remarkable changes and growing complexities of the profession.The ninth edition of School Social Work features a stronger focus on evidence informed practice and adds substantial new content related to antiracist practice and trauma-informed care. It retains the holistic model of school social work practice that has informed all previous editions of thiscornerstone text, making it a relevant and vital resource for today's practitioners and students as schools grapple with how to deal with the COVID-19 pandemic and its aftermath.
Written in a conversational and applied style, Social Policy for Children and Families is an award-winning book that incorporates cutting-edge research across policy sectors in the human services. New editors William James Hall III and Paul J. Lanier, in collaboration with Jeffrey M. Jenson and Mark W. Fraser, have carefully crafted this 4th edition to include balanced coverage across areas of poverty, child welfare, education, public health, developmental challenges, substance use, immigration, juvenile justice, and gun violence. This book is an ideal core text for graduate and upper level undergraduate courses and a vital resource for elected officials, policy makers, and others interested in the evolution of policies aimed at preventing problem behaviors and supporting children and families.
This primary social work practice text, built around the nine core 2015 CSWE competencies, is the only book available that provides students with the benefits of a fully integrated competency-based approach. Social Work Practice: A Competency-Based Approach immediately immerses students in the competencies required for social work practice at the micro, mezzo and macro levels. Designed for use in both upper level BSW and foundation level MSW social work practice courses, the book is uniquely structured to deliver the knowledge and skills students need to develop mastery of the professional social work competencies. Chapters provide a comprehensive overview of the theories, concepts, and practice components related to each competency. Engaging vignettes, chapter objectives that outline key concepts, abundant case examples, critical-thinking questions, and a detailed case summary with discussion questions in each chapter, help students deepen their understanding of practical applications of the nine core competencies. Each chapter uses the same case to perfectly illustrate the complexity of social work practice and the interconnections among the professional competencies. A robust supplementary instructor package includes PowerPoints, competency-based class assignments with grading rubrics, and sample syllabi. Print version of book includes free, searchable, digital access to entire contents.Key Features: Uniquely organized with a fully integrated competency-based approachDevotes one or more chapters to each of the nine CSWE professional competenciesDelivers abundant case studies that facilitate in-depth understanding and integration of competenciesProvides case vignettes, critical thinking and discussion questions, and chapter summariesIncludes supplementary instructor resources such as PowerPoints, group discussion questions, and competency-based written assignments with grading rubricsOffers sample syllabi for two separate one-semester courses and a seven-week online courseIncludes Student Resources, featuring online forms, templates, exercises, plans, and more to provide students with ample practice opportunities
Supervision and Professional Development in Social Work Practice aims to familiarize its readers with the current state of supervision in social work, provide them a common platform for reflection and action and thereby promote excellence in their respective learning, research and professional practice areas. It incorporates contributions by scholars, practitioners and students from various backgrounds, professional disciplines and countries. The ideas, concepts and practice frameworks discussed in this book are useful in any human service context. However, they need to be adapted with cultural sensitivity and appropriate levels of consultation and guidance to effectively challenge prevalent practice frameworks and support the embracing of new ideas to enhance professional and authentic engagement. The book utilizes several research studies, views, experiences and reflections, and includes numerous Voices from the Field, which provide diverse perspectives and viewpoints as well as practical help. This book will prove indispensable for academicians, practitioners, supervisors and supervisees as well as postgraduate and advanced undergraduate students of social work, counselling, psychology and education.
Writing is an important skill, not just for a social work degree, but also as an integral part of practice. Social workers need to be able to write effectively in a range of formats for different contexts. Equipping students with guidance on both academic and assessed writing, and writing in social work practice, this book will use case studies and examples to develop their ability to plan and respond to the challenges of new and familiar writing tasks.
By the early 1900s, the poor farm had become a ubiquitous part of America's social welfare system. Megan Birk's history of this foundational but forgotten institution focuses on the connection between agriculture, provisions for the disadvantaged, and the daily realities of life at poor farms. Conceived as an inexpensive way to provide care for the indigent, poor farms in fact attracted wards that ranged from abused wives and the elderly to orphans, the disabled, and disaster victims. Most people arrived unable rather than unwilling to work, some because of physical problems, others due to a lack of skills or because a changing labor market had left them behind. Birk blends the personal stories of participants with institutional histories to reveal a loose-knit system that provided a measure of care to everyone without an overarching philosophy of reform or rehabilitation. In-depth and innovative, The Fundamental Institution offers an overdue portrait of rural social welfare in the United States.
Separated into four parts, this handbook examines important themes within the discourses on social work theory, as well as offering a critical evaluation of how theoretical ideas influence social work as a profession and in practice. It includes a diverse range of interdisciplinary topics, covering the aims and nature of social work, social work values and ethics, social work practice theories and the use of theory in different fields of practice. The contributors show how and why theory is so important to social work and analyze the impact these concepts have made on social intervention.