LibGuides: USMLE Step Exam Resources: Getting Started

About This Guide

Welcome to the UTRGV School of Medicine Libraries’ guide to study resources for United States Medical Licensing Examination (USMLE) Step Exams.

Keep up with the latest news from the the USMLE by visiting the USMLE Announcements page.

For additional assistance, feel free to contact the School of Medicine Libraries.

Review the digital handout below for an overview of resources available through the library for general study and exam prep!

We welcome your comments or suggestions for other useful resources.

Library Study Resources for Exam Preparation
Digital handout with descriptions of key study resources for medical students.

StatPearls Question Banks for Board Prep This link opens in a new window
StatPearls Question Banks for Board Prep is a suite of practice question banks for board exams in the health sciences including USMLE Step 1-3, Family Medicine, Pharmacy/NAPLEX, PA/PANCE, CCRN, Nursing/NCLEX, Certified Anesthesiology Assistants, EMS-EMT, Registered Dietician, and Radiology Technology. Users must register for a StatPearls account using an @UTRGV.edu email account.

NBME Self-Assessment Services
Self-assessments provided by NBME. Subjects covered in the self-assessments are: Clinical Neurology, Medicine, Obstetrics/Gynecology, Pediatrics, Psychiatry, and Surgery.
USMLE Practice Materials
Sample multiple-choice test questions for each Step provided by the USMLE.
USMLE Step 1 Question Bank
From the authors of USMLE Step 1 Made Ridiculously Simple - 1000 questions in a downloadable format.
USMLE Step 2 Question Bank
From the authors of USMLE Step 2 Made Ridiculously Simple - 1000 questions in a downloadable format

First Aid USMLE E-Book Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes the full collection of review books from the First Aid USMLE series.

First Aid USMLE E-Book Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes the full collection of review books from the First Aid USMLE series.

First Aid for the USMLE Step 2 CK, Tenth Edition by Tao Le; Vikas Bhushan
ISBN: 9781260440294
Publication Date: 2018-10-15
Available online and in print.
Boards and Wards for USMLE Step 2 by Carlos Ayala; Brad Spellberg
ISBN: 9781496349897
Publication Date: 2018
Available online and in print.
Step-Up to USMLE Step 2 CK by Latha Ganti
ISBN: 9781975106263
Publication Date: 2019-08-08
Available online.

First Aid USMLE E-Book Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes the full collection of review books from the First Aid USMLE series.

First Aid for the USMLE Step 3, Fifth Edition by Tao Le; Vikas Bhushan
ISBN: 9781260440317
Publication Date: 2018-12-10
Available in print and online.

General Resources

USMLE Step 1

USMLE Step 2 CK

USMLE Step 3