This is a collection of openly licensed or free textbooks and materials that can be used to enhance teaching and learning. This page highlights some of the Open Educational Resources (OER) available, but this is by no means an exhaustive list. If you would like to learn more about OER please visit the Open Educational Resources and Textbook Affordability Library Guide.
A critical anthology of literary texts from the Spanish-speaking world. A focus on canonical authors and an attempt to include voices that have been marginalized. Each text includes an introduction and annotations created by students.
Grammar and vocabulary pre-class activities, lectures, and post-class homework are included.
Covers all of the major grammar rules, moving slowly and offering exercises and plenty of examples as well as vocabulary and phrases. From Wikibooks.
"Throughout this course, you will find fact sections that contain facts about Spanish-speaking countries or their cultures." The site operates as a wiki, so it is continually updated by participants."
Introduction to Spanish textbook from Spokane Falls Community College.
Elementary Spanish textbook from Penn State.
Introduction to Spanish OER textbook by Lumen Learning
The University of Kansas Collaborative Digital Spanish Project (Acceso) is an open-access, digital learning environment designed to promote the acquisition of Spanish and the development of cultural understanding of the varied groups of people who share Spanish as a common language.
Ventanas is an anthology of literature for advanced Spanish language learners. It includes texts by Cervantes, Zayas, Darío, Martí, Storni, Quiroga, Lorca, and others. Readings are annotated for students and accompanied by biographical information, pre-reading exercises, discussion activities, and writing prompts.
Online textbook developed by the Spanish In Texas project covering Spanish grammar.
This is 'a beginner's online course with video and audio.' However, it could also be used as an interactive textbook. Each episode is a combination of real-action video with language teaching and practice, focused on developing communicative skills. The language is presented in small bitesize chunks when it's needed. Learners are encouraged to practise and to speak out loud to the characters they encounter.
This is a book written by a community college Spanish instructor. It contains explanations, examples, fill-in-the-blank activities, reading activities, writing activities and speaking activities.
Free Spanish podcasts arranged by level of proficiency, with exercises, textbook, personal stats, and other learning resources.
Lessons, phrases, vocabulary, tests, and links to news sources in 40 languages.
A collection of target language videos done by international students from the Five Colleges of Massachusetts in their home countries. Includes: Arabic, French, German, Spanish, Japanese, Greek, Italian, and Portuguese.
LibriVox contains recordings of literary classics, autobiographies, plays, and poetry among many other genres all recorded in a variety of languages. English, French, Germain and Italian are just a few of all languages represented on LibriVox.
Uses images and audio to help memorize vocabulary. Interactive site that saves individual progress.
Resources for Spanish, French, and Chinese. Includes: Videos, thematic curriculum units complete lesson plans, student worksheets and resources, downloadable materials collections with activities, manipulatives and mini-posters over 40 virtual illustrated picturebooks organized thematically, as well as a list of vetted links.
Subjunctive exercises with songs.
Has study modules, interactive activities, links to other resources, video with audio.
Hosted by the Wikimedia foundation, Wikibooks is an open content textbook collection spanning a variety of reading levels and disciplines.
List of resources (for mostly French, Spanish and German) compiled as part of a federally funded grant to identify open educational resources for World Language teachers in Maine.
An educational resource for teaching and learning languages. Free materials for for many different languages.
Learn how to ask for directions, shop for clothes, and order food and drinks in the sixth Spanish for Beginners course. Join us on a journey across the Americas and learn the basics of the Spanish language as you discover Latin American culture.
Open Learn provides seven Spanish courses ranging from beginners to advanced Spanish, such as "Beginners’ Spanish: food and drink", "Spanish: Perspectivas porteñas", and "Spanish: espacios públicos."
The course facilitates a close reading of Don Quixote in the artistic and historical context of renaissance and baroque Spain. Students are also expected to read four of Cervantes’ Exemplary Stories, Cervantes’ Don Quixote: A Casebook, and J.H. Elliott’s Imperial Spain.
Spanish language video clips with subtitles for teaching. Part of the Spanish In Texas Corpus project.
Newly digitized recordings of poets and prose writers from the Library of Congress' Recording Laboratory recorded originally on magnetic tape. Includes Gabriel García Márquez, Julio Cortázar, Jorge Amado, Jorge Luis Borges, Juan Rulfo, and Carlos Fuentes among many others.
Biblioteca Nacional de España
A wonderful open-access repository of Spanish historical texts and literature of Spanish and Spanish American writers. Contains biographies, chronologies, complete works, translations, sound recordings, interviews, filmographies, dictionary, images, and more. Officially launched in 1999, number of available works has reached over 22,000. It contains all the works of Cervantes including various historical versions. Links to many other portals to Spanish and Latin American literary sites. An initiative of La Universidad de Alicante, Banco Santander Central Hispano, with the collaboration of Fundación Marcelino Botín.
http://www.cervantesvirtual.com/bib_autor/Cervantes/
Extensive online resources including downloadable Chilean elibros.
A large and growing collection of Spanish historical newspapers and journals digitized by the National Library of Spain. Coverage is 17th to early 20th Century and primarily from Spain but includes some content from Argentina, Uruguary, Mexico and Cuba. See current title list.
http://www.bne.es/es/Catalogos/HemerotecaDigital/
Free online full text access to a wide range of out-of-copyright fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books as well as video and audio files.
Gateway to a growling collection for full text open access academic online journals from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal. To date, LatIndex includes more than 2,400 links to journals.
http://www.latindex.ppl.unam.mx/
Joint Project of the American Academy of Research Historians of Medieval Spain and University of Central Arkansas, contains full text of recent but out-of-print university press books. Focus is on history of peninsular Spain from 5th to 17th Century.
Extensive resources including downloadable elibros by Chilean authors.
http://www.memoriachilena.cl
Free Spanish electronic books in the public domain.
This site, sponsored by a Spanish professor at Sweet Briar College, offers the full-text of Spanish sonnets. Texts are in both Spanish and English. There is an index of poets featured, but the sonnets are searchable by first line. Links are also provided to Spanish- and English-language websites for literary texts and some criticism.
http://sonnets.spanish.sbc.edu/
Portal of open access journals providing access to a wide variety of academic journal articles and theses on scholarly topics. Developed and maintained by the Universidad Autónoma del Estado de México. Articles may be in Spanish, Portuguese or English.
