The Chupacabras of the Río Grande by
Pura Belpré Honor-winning author David Bowles joins Newbery Honor-winning Adam Gidwitz as co-author of the newest Unicorn Rescue Society adventure, as the kids travel to the U.S.-Mexican border to help the legendary chupacabras. INCLUDES AN EXCLUSIVE BONUS STORY about the medieval Secret Order of the Unicorn! A new adventure begins for Elliot and Uchenna when Professor Fauna bursts into their classroom with a frightening report from the Texas-Mexico border: something has completely drained the blood from a cow's body! The team must fly to Laredo, where tempers are running high. Teaming up with local kids Lupita and Mateo--plus their brilliant mother, Dr. Alejandra Cervantes, and her curandero husband, Israel--can the Unicorn Rescue Society save the region's animals and help bring a divided community together once more? And what is that spiny, bloodsucking, adorable little creature?
Chupacabra Vengeance by
Cholos and alien hordes. Undead luchadores. Children trapped in animal form. Legless Vampires. Aztec merchant spies. A deadly ancient codex. From a pre-Colombian wilderness to ice-choked future, from haunted borderlands to post-apocalyptic ruins and all the lush but vicious worlds between, these fifteen tales reveal the hidden courage, despair, and depravity of people forced to face the darkness. Some overcome. A few surrender. The rest are consumed by vengeance.
Mysterious Creatures: Chupacabras by
A comprehensive guide to cryptozoology--the quest to identify animals that have not been officially catalogued by science and to place these unknown animals into their proper zoological categories. In this fascinating two-volume encyclopedia, author George M. Eberhart provides a comprehensive catalog of nearly 1,000 cryptids--unknown animals usually reported through eyewitness accounts and not yet described by science. Cryptids are the stuff of folklore, hoaxes, and genuine scientific breakthroughs. There are 400 now-classified cryptids once considered either extinct or pure fantasy. The cryptozoologist's job is to strip away the myth, misidentification, and mystery--and separate fact from fiction. Mysterious Creatures covers everything from dinosaurs and the emala-ntouka, an elephant-killing dinosaur-like animal of central Africa, to searches for the Loch Ness monster, Bigfoot, and other cryptozoological hoaxes. Entries about specific animals include the derivation or meaning of each cryptid's name, its scientific name, variant names, a physical description, behavior, description of tracks, habitat, significant sightings, present status, and possible explanations. Illustrations and photographs accompany many entries. The book also includes resources and references for further information. Over 1,000 A-Z entries ranging from a few paragraphs to several pages, each with bibliography Over 60 photographs, illustrations, and drawings A graphic depiction of the geologic time scale for the last 545 million years of Earth's history, including when different types of animals first appeared An annotated list of over 400 animals discovered since l900
Mexican Bestiary = Bestiario Mexicano by
Who protects our precious fields of corn? What leaps from the darkness when you least suspect it? Which spirit waits for little kids by rivers and lakes? From the ahuizotl to the xocoyoles-and all the imps, ghosts and witches in between-this illustrated bilingual encyclopedia tells you just what you need to know about the things that go bump in the night in Mexico and the US Southwest. ¿Quién protege nuestras milpas preciosas? ¿Qué cosa salta de la oscuridad cuando menos te lo esperes? ¿Cuál espíritu acecha a los pequeños cerca de los ríos y los lagos? Desde el ahuizotl a los xocoyoles-y demás diablillos, fantasmas y brujas-esta enciclopedia ilustrada bilingüe te dice justo lo que debes saber sobre las cosas que dan miedo en México y en el suroeste de los Estados Unidos.
Curse of the ChupaCabra by
Is the ChupaCabra mythical or real? Stories of the creature abound in Latino communities. The illusive creature is said to suck the blood of goats. Thus, its name, goatsucker. Whenever a backyard goat or chicken is mysteriously killed, the story spreads in the barrio that the ChupaCabra struck. When Professor Rosa Medina began to research the folklore of the ChupaCabra, she never expected to tangle face-to-face with the monster. Rosa journeys to Mexico to examine a ChupaCabra incident. The creature has killed a campesino in the jungle. And the drug traffickers who have captured the ChupaCabra also control a large drug shipment destined for Los Angeles. The monster is set loose on the streets; so is the meth that is destroying the brains of the young and vulnerable. This fast-paced story moves from Mexico to Los Angeles to New Mexico. Danger lurks at every corner as Rosa fights to protect her students from the forces of evil. Written for young adults, the story has a universal message. Only Rudolfo Anaya can combine the excitement of a thriller and the wisdom of traditional healings to create a page-turner that has lessons to teach us all. "Rudolfo Anaya is a pioneer of Chicano letters, revitalizing the ground of literature with every new work. Now with The Curse of the ChupaCabra, Anaya enters the realm of pop culture with social-political urgency. The scourge of drugs striking at the heart of all our barrios and the ChupaCabra legend blend and converge in a story that awakens us to the real horrors in our midst. Gracias a dios que tenemos Rudy Anaya."--Luis J. Rodriguez, author of Always Running and Music of the Mill Ages 14 years and up.
The legend of the Chupacabra has been a popular folktale in Latin American culture for many years. This monstrous creature, Chupacabra meaning “goat sucker" in English has been known for the killing of animals by sucking their blood. It began in the late 1980s and early 1990s, it’s been told that farmers in Puerto Rico had their first sightings of the Chupacabras, where they found many of their goats, sheep, and other livestock killed and drained of blood. Different stories of the Chupacabra became well known and it has become a part of the region’s folklore and entertainment business.
Milagro (Millie) Resendez has served as the Special Collections Manager with UTRGV Special Collections & Archives at the University Library in Brownsville since 2015. She joined the legacy institution, UTB/TSC University Library in 1999 as a student worker and later as a full-time member of the library staff. Millie earned a Bachelor of Arts in Psychology with a minor in Sociology, and a Associates in Social Work from UTB/TSC 2002.