LibGuides: Clerkships &amp; Clinical Electives Resources: OB/GYN

Core Textbooks & Resources

Core textbooks listed below have been identified by clerkship directors for the OB/GYN clerkship.

Electronic copies of textbooks: Many textbooks are available online via the library's ebook databases, and direct links to the ebooks are provided when available.
Print copies of textbooks: Some textbooks may not be available online. A limited number of print copies are available in the library. Click on the title of a book to check availability at UTRGV library locations in Edinburg, Harlingen, and Brownsville.
Medical students are encouraged to secure individual copies of core textbooks in the format of their choice (print or electronic).

Key Textbooks

Atlas of Pelvic Anatomy and Gynecologic Surgery by Michael S. Baggish; Mickey M. Karram
ISBN: 9780323654005
Publication Date: 2020-12-08
Format: Available online.
Comprehensive Gynecology by David M. Gershenson; Gretchen M. Lentz; Fidel A. Valea; Rogerio A. Lobo
ISBN: 9780323653992
Publication Date: 2021-07-22
Format: Available online.
Hacker and Moore's Essentials of Obstetrics and Gynecology by Neville F. Hacker; Joseph C. Gambone; Calvin J. Hobel
ISBN: 9781455775583
Publication Date: 2016
Format: Available online and in print.
Managing Contraceptive Pill Patients by Richard P. Dickey
ISBN: 0929240987
Publication Date: 2021-03-01
Format: Available in print
Primary Care in Obstetrics and Gynecology: A Handbook for Clinicians by Joseph S. Sanfilippo (Editor); Roger P. Smith (Editor)
ISBN: 9780387323275
Publication Date: 2007
Format: Available online.
Williams Gynecology, Fourth Edition by Lisa M. Halvorson; Joseph I. Schaffer; Marlene M. Corton; Barbara L. Hoffman; John O. Schorge; Karen D. Bradshaw
ISBN: 9781260456868
Publication Date: 2020-04-24
Format: Available online. Older editions available in print.
Williams Obstetrics 26e by F. Gary Cunningham; Kenneth J. Leveno; Jodi S. Dashe; Barbara L. Hoffman; Catherine Y. Spong; Brian M. Casey
ISBN: 1260462730
Publication Date: 2022-04-07
Format: Available online and in print.
Women's Health: A Primary Care Clinical Guide by Catherine Juve; Diane Schadewald; Ursula Pritham; Ellis Youngkin; Marcia Davis
ISBN: 9780135659663
Publication Date: 2019-07-02
Format: Available in print.

OB/GYN Review

AccessOBGYN This link opens in a new window
AccessOBGYN covers the entire spectrum of obstetrics and gynecology, with ebooks, drug information, multimedia presentations, review questions, and more. You must create an account to use the study tools.

OB/Gyn Shelf Exam via BoardVitals

Blueprints Obstetrics and Gynecology by Tamara Callahan
ISBN: 9781496349507
Publication Date: 2018
Format: Available online and in print.
Case Files Obstetrics and Gynecology, Sixth Edition by Eugene C. Toy; Patti Jayne Ross; Benton Baker; John Jennings
ISBN: 9781260468786
Publication Date: 2021-10-01
Format: Available online and in print.
First Aid for the OB/GYN Clerkship, Fifth Edition by Shireen Madani Sims; Sarah K. Dotters-Katz; Latha Ganti; Matthew S. Kaufman
ISBN: 9781264264933
Publication Date: 2022-03-02
Format: Available in print.
PreTest Obstetrics & Gynecology, Fifteenth Edition by Shireen Madani Sims
ISBN: 9781260468427
Publication Date: 2021-04-05
Format: Available in print. Older edition available online.
Resident Readiness Obstetrics and Gynecology by Debra L. Klamen; Edward R. Yeomans; Charlie C. Kilpatrick
ISBN: 9780071780438
Publication Date: 2014
Format: Available online and in print.
Step-Up to Obstetrics and Gynecology by Russell Snyder; Nancy Dent; Wesley Fowler; Frank Ling
ISBN: 9781451112443
Publication Date: 2015
Format: Available online and in print.

Best Bets

APGO uWISE v.3
The APGO Undergraduate Web-Based Interactive Self-Evaluation (uWISE) is an interactive self-exam designed to help medical students acquire the necessary basic knowledge in obstetrics and gynecology, regardless of future medical specialty choice. Questions are updated to remain current with the ob-gyn clerkship curriculum.

AccessOBGYN This link opens in a new window
LWW Health Library: Clerkships/Clinical Rotations This link opens in a new window

OB/Gyn Shelf Exam via BoardVitals
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination
Female Physical Examination Videos
APGO Medical Student Educational Objectives
Links to APGO YouTube channel.

See specific videos for:

Mobile Apps - OB/GYN

AccessMedicine Mobile App
- This link opens in a new window
App includes point of care solutions for clinical practice, such as Quick Medical Dx & Rx, Fitzpatrick’s Color Atlas of Clinical Dermatology, Diagnosaurus DDx, and Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests.
more...less...
New users: To create a free account navigate to AccessMedicine from the library's homepage, click "my profile" located at the top right of site, download the app for iOS or Android, and use your AccessMedicine login to access the resource.
Note: Users must have an active My Access account and sign in to the database every 90 days through UTRGV, either on-site or through a VPN.
ACOG
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to key ACOG resources, including free access to patient education material, top committee opinions, and immunization recommendations.
ASCCP
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides up to date consensus guidelines for managing abnormal cervical cancer screening test and cancer precursors.
CDC Contraception
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers more than 60 characteristics or medical conditions (U.S. MEC) and numerous clinical situations (U.S. SPR).
Medscape
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access detailed drug and health information, including a drug interaction tool and pill identification. App is available online and offline after download. An active My Access account is required, with sign-in through UTRGV every 90 days, either on-site or via VPN.
STD Tx Guide
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Easy-to-use reference that combines information from the CDC's STD Treatment (Tx) Guidelines as well as MMWR updates.