Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This is a collection of openly licensed or free textbooks and materials that can be used to enhance teaching and learning. This page highlights some of the Open Educational Resources (OER) available, but this is by no means an exhaustive list. If you would like to learn more about OER please visit the Open Educational Resources and Textbook Affordability Library Guide.
Criminal Justice Textbooks
This textbook deals with criminal law and defense. It is setup in a way that makes it easy for individuals studying the subject to understand the complexities and issues involved in the discipline.
Ethics in Law Enforcement
Open textbook that explores the moral and ethical questions in law enforcement.
Introduction to Criminal Investigation: Processes, Practices and Thinking
Open textbook that segments the process of learning criminal investigation. This resource is well thought out and is written by a professional investigator and an academic in the discipline.
Introduction to the American Justice System
This is a textbook the deals in depth with criminology and the criminal justice system. Put together by a selection of professors in the discipline it covers multiple aspects of the subject.
Introduction to Criminal Justice
This Grants Collection for Introduction to Criminal Justice was created under a Round Ten ALG Textbook Transformation Grant. Affordable Learning Georgia Grants Collections are intended to provide faculty with the frameworks to quickly implement or revise the same materials
Fundamental Cases in Criminal Justice
This text provides edited and abridged cases that are intended to be easy to read and provide lower-division students with a gentle introduction to key legal concepts that define the workings of our criminal justice system.
Criminal Justice: An Overview of the System
This text is designed as a first course in criminal justice. It covers police, courts, and corrections, integrating the juvenile justice system.
Criminal Justice Research Methods
This Grants Collection for Criminal Justice Research Methods was created under a Round Four ALG Textbook Transformation Grant. Affordable Learning Georgia Grants Collections are intended to provide faculty with the frameworks to quickly implement or revise the same materials
Open Textbook Library - Criminal Justice Textbooks
A list of criminal justice textbooks from the Open Textbook Library, a comprehensive referatory that points to open textbooks by a variety of authors and publishers.
Pressbooks Directory - Criminal Justice Textbooks
A list of criminal justice textbooks from The Pressbooks Directory, a repository of online resources created using the Pressbooks Authoring and Editing software.
Criminal Justice Resources
Annenberg Classroom Videos
Annenberg Classroom's free resources include over 65 videos on constitutional concepts and Supreme Court cases as well as games, lesson plans, timelines, downloadable books, a glossary, and a Constitution guide.
C-SPAN - Criminal Justice
Set of freely available videos dealing with crime and criminal justice created by the C-SPAN Network.
FedFlix - Criminal Justice
Freely available Federal Government Videos currated by the Internet Archive.
TEDEd - Criminal Justice
Created by Technology, Entertainment and Design or TED this curated selection of videos covers a large number of subjects in Criminal Justice.
CrashCourse - Criminal Justice
CrashCourse is an educational YouTube channel started by John and Hank Green in 2012. This curated YouTube search covers a number of topics related to criminal justice.