LibGuides: Podiatric Medicine Clerkships & Clinical Rotations: Medical Apps

General Clinical Information

AccessMedicine Mobile App
- This link opens in a new window
App includes point of care solutions for clinical practice, such as Quick Medical Dx & Rx, Fitzpatrick’s Color Atlas of Clinical Dermatology, Diagnosaurus DDx, and Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests.
more...less...
New users: To create a free account navigate to AccessMedicine from the library's homepage, click "my profile" located at the top right of site, download the app for iOS or Android, and use your AccessMedicine login to access the resource.
Note: Users must have an active My Access account and sign in to the database every 90 days through UTRGV, either on-site or through a VPN.
BrowZine
- This link opens in a new window
BrowZine lets you browse, read, save, and monitor journals in your subject areas on your mobile device, laptop, or desktop. BrowZine provides access to many of the library's licensed journals on your mobile device. You can create a personal bookshelf of favorite journals and save articles to be read later.
ClinicalKey
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey offers topic pages, books, journals, videos, images, and First Consult content. Register for an account to access book PDFs, Presentation Maker, and more. Note: To create a login, navigate to ClinicalKey from the library's homepage, click 'Register' in the top right corner, and use your @utrgv.edu email to create your ClinicalKey login.
Medscape
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides drug information, pill ID, medical calculators and a disease and condition reference tool.
Stat!Ref Mobile
- This link opens in a new window
App provides access to medical reference texts and clinical decision support tools (includes MedCalc 3000). Access Stat!Ref through A-Z Databases on the library's homepage. Note: Users must have an active Stat!Ref account and sign in to the Stat!Ref database every 6 months through UTRGV, either on-site or through the UTRGV Library website.
UpToDate Mobile App
A point-of-care clinical tool that integrates evidence and expert opinion.
New users: Access UpToDate via the library's homepage, register for an account, then download and log into the app. Note: You must log in from UTRGV's network (on campus or VPN) every 90 days to keep your account current.

Guidelines & Specialized Clinical Information

ACC Guideline Clinical App
The ACC’s Guideline Clinical App serves as the mobile hub for clinical guideline content and tools, designed for clinicians treating patients with cardiovascular disease. This app delivers guidelines to busy clinicians in a condensed, interactive format on a mobile platform.
ACP Clinical Practice Guidelines
This guide offers clinicians evidence-based recommendations, advises when evidence is lacking, and supports the delivery of optimal health care.
CDC's Contraception App
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
App provides health care providers with guidance on contraceptive methods tailored to individual patient needs, referencing over 60 medical conditions in line with CDC guidelines.
CDC Vaccine Schedules
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
App mimics printed immunization schedules and provides current recommendations by age group and by medical conditions.
Guideline Central
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to thousands of current clinical practice guidelines and guideline summaries. Available via the web and mobile apps (iOS and Android).
Prevention TaskForce Mobile
Identifies clinical preventive services that are appropriate for patients based on U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) recommendations.
Red Book Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides clinical information on the manifestations, etiology, epidemiology, diagnosis, and treatment of childhood infectious diseases. New users: To access the Red Book online, visit the library's subscription link, create an account on the Red Book site, then download the app and log in with your account to activate the subscription.

Calculators

Calculate by QxMD
Popular clinical calculator and decision support tool. Available via the web and mobile apps (iOS and Android).
EBMcalc
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of 520+ calculators, clinical criteria sets, and decision trees.
Note: This resource is integrated into STAT!Ref and can be accessed through A-Z Databases on the library's homepage.

Drug Information

ePocrates
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Popular drug information app that includes prescribing and safety information for brand, generic and OTC drugs, drug-drug interactions, and a pill ID tool.
Micromedex
- This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive drug details, safety protocols, disease treatment insights, patient guidance, toxicology data, and lab test information.
New users: Access Micromedex through Databases A-Z on the library's homepage and follow the download instructions located under "Mobile Application Access" on the top right menu.

Miscellaneous

Eponyms (for students)
Provides short descriptions of more than 1700 common and obscure medical eponyms (e.g., Rovsing's sign, Virchow's node).
Notability
Note-taking app that allows users to import and annotate documents, sketch, record lectures, and more.