Academic Video Online contains more than 62,000 video titles covering anthropology, black studies, business, counseling, dance, education, film, health, history, LGBT, music, rehabilitation therapy, theatre, and more.
Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.
African American Heritage provides essential historical records for African Americans, including Federal Census, Marriage and Cohabitation records, Military Draft and service records, Registers of Slaves and Free Persons of Color, Freedman’s Bank, and more.
African American Historical Serials Collection features 173 periodicals spanning from 1816 through 1922. The periodicals in this collection include newspapers and magazines, in addition to reports and annuals from various African American organizations, including churches and educational and service institutions.
African American Newspapers contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and is rich with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion.
The collection also provides a great number of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements all of which embody the African-American experience.
Ethnic Newswatch contains the full text of newspapers, magazines and journals of ethnic, minority and native publications. There is no other periodical resource which so thoroughly covers ethnic studies as a whole and which presents unique ethnic presses and publications. Ethnic NewsWatch™ comprehensively covers these ethnic categories: African American/Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, Native People.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text is a "complete reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life)."
JSTOR is a full image database of back issues of scholarly journals in African American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, botany, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics.
Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Fisk University Race Relations Department’s staff and Institute participants, including Charles S. Johnson, Dr Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall.
African and Black Diaspora is a multi-disciplinary peer-reviewed international journal that seeks to broaden and deepen our understanding of the lived experiences of people of African descent across the globe by publishing theoretically and historically informed as well as empirically grounded works in the social sciences and humanities that are intellectually challenging and illuminating.
Launched in the USA in 1969 The Black Scholar (TBS) is the first modern black studies and research journal. It was founded on the premise that black writers, scholars, activists and artists could participate in dialogue within its pages. TBS' primary mission has been to chronicle, analyze and debate the conditions of and the emancipatory efforts by black people, against a multitude of oppressions that include and cross class, nationality, gender, generation, sexuality, and ideology. Due in part to the impact of the journal, Black Studies, Africana Studies, Diaspora Studies and other sub-disciplines have become legitimate spaces of scholarly inquiry.
Black Theology: An International Journal provides a forum for the articulation and expression of issues of faith among Black people across the world. Contributions explore the nature of the Black religious experience in relation to African, Caribbean, American, Antipodean or Asian origins and other relevant contexts. The journal takes particular care to offer carefully researched articles relevant to the growing number of courses on Black studies in institutes of higher education while also being accessible and relevant to the wider pastoral community.
For the last quarter of a century, the Journal of Black Studies has been the leading source for dynamic, innovative, and creative approach on the Black experience. Poised to remain at the forefront of the recent explosive growth in quality scholarship in the field of Black studies, the Journal of Black Studies is now published six times per year. This means a greater number of important and intellectually provocative articles exploring key issues facing African Americans and Blacks can now be given voice. The scholarship inside JBS covers a wide range of subject areas, including: society, social issues, Afrocentricity, economics, culture, media, literature, language, heritage, and biology.
The Journal of Modern African Studies offers a quarterly survey of developments in modern African politics and society. Its main emphasis is on current issues in African politics, economies, societies and international relations. It is intended not only for students and academic specialists, but also for general readers and practitioners with a concern for modern Africa, living and working both inside and outside the continent. Editorial policy avoids commitment to any political viewpoint or ideology, but aims at a fair examination of controversial issues in order to promote a deeper understanding of what is happening in Africa today.