LibGuides: Creating a Successful Residency Research Project: Resources by Topic

Comprehensive Handbooks

Clinical Epidemiology by Grant S. Fletcher
ISBN: 9781975109554
Publication Date: 2020-03-06
Format: Available online and in print.
Designing Clinical Research by Stephen B. Hulley; Warren S. Browner; Steven R. Cummings; Deborah G. Grady; Thomas B. Newman
ISBN: 9781608318049
Publication Date: 2013-07-10
Format: Available online and in print.
How to Read a Paper by Trisha Greenhalgh
ISBN: 9781118800966
Publication Date: 2014-04-07
Format: Available in print.
Resident's Handbook of Medical Quality and Safety by Levi (Levan) Atanelov (Editor)
ISBN: 3319241907
Publication Date: 2016-04-11
Format: Available online

Idea Generation & Research Question Development

NEJM Resident 360: Introduction to Research in Residency
Introduction to Research in Residency highlights the importance of engaging in scholarly activities during residency. It advises understanding and planning for scholarly requirements early to avoid stress and suggests discussing these with program directors to align with career goals. Starting research early is emphasized.
Developing a Research Question
Presentation slides developed by faculty at Weill Cornell Medical College.
Navigating the Research Landscape: A Deep Dive into the FINER Method
From Elsevier Scientific Publishing, this article offers a short overview of how to use FINER to develop a focused research question.
Question Formulation, Jeffery C. Valentine, The Campbell Collaboration
This video collection offers a deep dive into research question development using the PICOS framework, for those who want more than a basic overview of the steps in the systematic review process.

Conducting a Background Literature Search

Searching Standards and Documentation:

The Guide to Evidence Synthesis by Cornell University Library, provides an overview of the evidence synthesis process, essential guidance documents, and valuable resources for conducting a thorough literature search. Get started by exploring the following resources.

The following sections have been identified as useful resources for selecting literature for your project.

Select Databases
Select Gray Literature

PRESS 2015 Guideline Evidence-Based Checklist
A structured tool designed for the peer review of electronic literature search strategies. It aims to improve the quality and reliability of literature searches in systematic reviews and other evidence syntheses.

Database Searching Tips:

Appraising & Synthesizing the Literature

Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: a Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice, 3E by Gordon Guyatt
ISBN: 9780071790710
Publication Date: 2014-12-30
Format: Available online and in print.

Critical Appraisal Skills Programme (CASP) Checklists
Checklists for appraising systematic reviews, randomized-controlled trials, cohort studies, case control studies, and more.
Tools for Screening, Data Extraction, and Synthesis (Campbell Collaboration)
Tools for Data Extraction (Cornell University Library)

Selecting a Study Design & Determining Project Feasibility

Study Designs
Presentation slides developed by faculty at Weill Cornell Medical College.
Revised Standards for Quality Improvement Reporting Excellence SQUIRE 2.0
The SQUIRE guidelines offer a framework for reporting new insights on improving healthcare. They are designed for reports detailing system-level efforts to enhance the quality, safety, and value of healthcare, using methods to confirm that the observed outcomes resulted from the interventions.

Developing a Protocol & Preparing for IRB Approval

Research Protocol Templates and Checklists:

Evidence Synthesis Protocol Template (Open Science Framework)
A structured document used to outline the plan for conducting an evidence synthesis, such as a systematic review or scoping review. Templates help ensure consistency, transparency, and reproducibility in the evidence synthesis process.
NEW Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic reviews and Meta-Analyses (PRISM)
An updated set of guidelines designed to help authors transparently report the reasons for conducting a systematic review, the methods used, and the findings.
PROSPERO Protocol Registry for Systematic Reviews
Sample Research Protocol Template (Cleveland Clinic)
UTRGV IRB Protocol Templates
Includes template for chart review protocol.

RB Resources:

Ethics and Regulatory Aspects of Clinical Research
Video Series from NIH Department of Bioethics.
Non-Regulated Research Including Quality Improvement (QI) and Quality Assurance (QA)
Researchers Handbook (UTRGV IRB)
UTRGV Resident Research Guide (UTRGV IRB)

Research, Writing, and Citation

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus with Full Text indexes over 3000 nursing, allied health, and related journals, including full text for over 330 journals, as far back as 1937.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments This link opens in a new window
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) "provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals ... vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science."
Ovid MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Ovid MEDLINE “covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published world-wide.”
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
"Contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology [and psychological aspects of other disciplines]. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals in over 35 languages."
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed - "a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources."
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science contains multiple citation databases, including Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Emerging Sources Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus, and others, which include citations and some links to full text articles from 1975 to the present.

What is LibKey and Browzine?
Browzine
Lets you browse, read, save, and monitor journals in your subject areas on your mobile device, laptop, or desktop
LibKey Nomad
Browser extension that boosts your ability to access full text and PDFs available through the library or other open access alternatives.

UTRGV Writing Center

AMA Manual of Style This link opens in a new window
The AMA Manual of Style is the style guide of the American Medical Association. It provides guidance for writing, editing, and citation styles for use in the journals published by the American Medical Association. AMA style is used widely by many other scientific journals (including medical, nursing, and other health care journals).

EndNote
- This link opens in a new window
A software-based tool (with an online component) that helps you organize all your reference materials, keep notes on them, and store copies of the original articles. It also allows you to create formatted bibliographies.
- Check out EndNote's Quick Start Guide to maximize your use of the program.
RefWorks
- This link opens in a new window
RefWorks is an online tool for research management, writing, and collaboration. It allows you to read, annotate, organize, and cite your research, as well as share collections with friends and colleagues. To use RefWorks, create an account by going to "Login" and using your UTRGV email.
- Access the getting started guide and watch pre-recorded webinars to learn about all the features RefWorks offers.