Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Physics: Open Educational Resources

Physics
Physics

This is a collection of openly licensed or free textbooks and materials that can be used to enhance teaching and learning. This page highlights some of the Open Educational Resources (OER) available, but this is by no means an exhaustive list. If you would like to learn more about OER please visit the Open Educational Resources and Textbook Affordability Library Guide.

Physics Textbooks
  • AP Physics Collection: The AP Physics Collection is a free, turnkey solution for your AP® Physics course, brought to you through a collaboration between OpenStax and Rice Online Learning.
  • University Physics Volume 1 - 3: Volume 1 covers mechanics, sound, oscillations, and waves. Volume 2 covers thermodynamics, electricity and magnetism, and Volume 3 covers optics and modern physics.
  • University Physics 1 - Classical Mechanics: This is a “minimalist” textbook for a first semester of university, calculus-based physics, covering classical mechanics, plus a brief introduction to thermodynamics.
  • The Adventure of Physics Vol. 1 - Fall, Flow, and Heat: In order to be simple, the text focuses on concepts, while keeping mathematics to the necessary minimum. Understanding the concepts of physics is given precedence over using formulae in calculations.
  • Calculus-Based Physics I: Calculus-Based Physics is an introductory physics textbook designed for use in the two-semester introductory physics course typically taken by science and engineering students.
  • Calculus-Based Physics II: Calculus-Based Physics is an introductory physics textbook designed for use in the two-semester introductory physics course typically taken by science and engineering students.
Astronomy Textbooks
  •  Astronomy: Astronomy is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of one- or two-semester introductory astronomy courses. 
  • Astronomy: MERLOT Collection
  • Astronomy & CosmologyAstronomy studies celestial objects and phenomena and combines mathematics, physics, and chemistry to explain their origin and evolution. Cosmology is a branch of astronomy concerned with the studies of the origin and evolution of the universe, from the Big Bang to today and on into the future. It is the scientific study of the origin, evolution, and eventual fate of the universe.
Physics Resources
  • The Physics Classroom: The Physics Classroom has numerous tools to address both in-the-classroom and at-home needs of students, teachers, and "classrooms".
  • Physics - Khan Academy: Physics is the study of matter, motion, energy, and force. Here, you can browse videos, articles, and exercises by topic. We keep the library up-to-date, so you may find new or improved material here over time.
Physics Media
  • Open Yale Courses -  Open Yale Courses (OYC) provides lectures and other materials from selected Yale College courses to the public free of charge via the Internet.
  • MIT Open Courseware - MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.
  • Merlot Virtual Labs - We invite you through this site to learn about current and innovative virtual labs technologies, lab experiments, and simulations used in teaching the science, technology, engineering, and math disciplines in higher education.