LibGuides: Graduate Studies: Resources

Select Resources

ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
ACLS Humanities E-Book (formerly History E-Book) from ACLS provides electronic books in the humanities including history, art, literature, music, etc., "that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, are frequently cited in the literature, and are currently not widely available."
APA eBooks This link opens in a new window
APA eBooks collection contains ebooks published by the American Psychological Association.
Cambridge University Press eBooks This link opens in a new window
Cambridge University Press eBooks publishes academic ebooks, research monographs, academic reference books, and textbooks for professionals and students covering subjects across the humanities, social sciences, science, technology and medicine.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information.
EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
EBSCO eBooks includes reference material, as well as classics. Only one user can look at a specific book at a time. Patrons need to set up an account to "check out" books.
Harvard University Press This link opens in a new window
Harvard University Press contains ebooks published by the Harvard University Press covering areas such as History, Social Sciences, Economics, Literary Studies, and Philosophy, among others.
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a collection of digitized books and serials, some of which are accessible to all and some of which are only accessible to members due to copyright restrictions. UTRGV is a member of Hathi Trust. To log in, you first have to select University of Texas - Rio Grande Valley from the institution drop down list; after that, use your UTRGV username and password.
MIT Press Ebooks Library This link opens in a new window
MIT Press Ebooks Library contains eBooks on subjects such as computer science and programming, artificial intelligence, information theory and technology, and electrical engineering.
Palgrave Connect This link opens in a new window
Palgrave Connect contains eBooks published by Palgrave Macmillan in the Humanities and the Social Sciences. Subject areas covered include Business, Education, History, Literature, and others.
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis eBooks has eBooks published by Taylor & Francis.

eBooks @ the Library
A - Z listing of Electronic Books, Papers, Documents, and Texts at the University Library

Digital Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Digital Dissertations (Dissertation Abstracts) "is the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses... from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities."
Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and Theses (Dissertation Abstracts) "is the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses... from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities." Make sure only ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - A&I is checked off to search just Digital Dissertations.
Texas Digital Library Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Texas Digital Library Theses and Dissertations "will serve as a repository for research output including electronic theses and dissertations, faculty datasets, departmental databases, digital archives, course management and learning materials, digital media, and special collections" from The University of Texas, Texas A&M University, The University of Houston, and Texas Tech University.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
"Contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology [and psychological aspects of other disciplines]. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals in over 35 languages."
ComDisDome This link opens in a new window
ComDisDome (Communication Sciences and Disorders Dome) indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, dissertations, grants, and other web sites dealing with speech-language pathology and audiology.

UTB/UTPA ELECTRONIC THESES AND DISSERTATIONS
Electronic Theses and Dissertations in Institutional Repository (Scholarworks)
UTB/UTPA PRINT THESES AND DISSERTATIONS
Print Theses and Dissertations at the Brownsville and Edinburg University Library.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments This link opens in a new window
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) "provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals ... vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science."
Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new window
Mental Measurements Yearbook contains full text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks.

SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods “is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.”
SAGE Research Methods Cases This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods Cases provides case studies showing how methods are applied in real research projects.
SAGE Research Methods Datasets This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods Datasets provides datasets using data from real research, designed to support the teaching and independent learning of data analysis techniques.
SAGE Research Methods Video This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods Video "includes hours of tutorials, interviews, video case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process."

ICPSR This link opens in a new window
ICPSR (the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) "established in 1962, is an integral part of the infrastructure of social science research. [It] maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction...ICPSR does not provide publications, reports, or ready-made statistics,... [but instead supplies] the numeric raw data used to create publications, reports, and figures."
iPOLL This link opens in a new window
Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of poll data anywhere — from 1935 to present. Contains data from U.S. and international polling firms with broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more. International and U.S. datasets available for immediate download.
SAGE Research Methods Datasets This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods Datasets provides datasets using data from real research, designed to support the teaching and independent learning of data analysis techniques.

Government Information

ClinicalTrials.gov
"ClinicalTrials.gov is a database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world."
Data.gov
"Data.gov was launched in 2009 and is managed and hosted by the U.S. General Services Administration, Technology Transformation Service."
HealthData.gov
"This site is dedicated to making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all."
Health Inequality Data Repository
"The largest global collection of disaggregated data about health and determinants of health. These data can be explored with the Health Equity Assessment Toolkit (HEAT), an interactive software which facilitates the examination of inequalities and the evaluation of relevant interventions to address them."
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
"The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information."
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
"In 1884, the Bureau of Labor was established in the Department of Interior. In 1888, it became an independent department for nearly 15 years before being incorporated into the Department of Commerce and Labor in 1903. In 1913, the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) was transferred to the newly created Department of Labor.

BLS offers many types of data for regions, states and local areas."
U.S. Geological Survey
"Created by an act of Congress in 1879, the U.S. Geological Survey has evolved over the decades, matching its talent and knowledge to the progress of science and technology. The USGS is the sole science agency for the Department of the Interior. It is sought out by thousands of partners and customers for its natural science expertise and its vast earth and biological data holdings."
more...less...
https://www.usgs.gov/
World Health Data Hub
"WHO's World Health Data Hub is a comprehensive digital platform for global health data. It provides end-to-end solutions to collect, store, analyze, and share data that is timely, reliable, and actionable."

Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
The Chicago Manual of Style Online is the venerable, time-tested guide to style, usage, and grammar in an accessible online format. It is useful for writers, editors, proofreaders, indexers, copywriters, designers, and publishers.
MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window
MLA Handbook Plus includes the full text of the handbook, the MLA Guide to Digital Literacy and the MLA Guide to Undergraduate Research in Literature, and a video course that teaches the principles of MLA documentation style.
AMA Manual of Style This link opens in a new window
The AMA Manual of Style is the style guide of the American Medical Association. It provides guidance for writing, editing, and citation styles for use in the journals published by the American Medical Association. AMA style is used widely by many other scientific journals (including medical, nursing, and other health care journals).

APA Citation Guide
by Research and Instruction Last Updated Jun 18, 2024 1253 views this year

MLA Citation Guide
by Research and Instruction Last Updated Jun 18, 2024 141 views this year

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020
ISBN: 9781433832154
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
Print copies at the following locations:
Brownsville Library Brownsville Stacks - BF76.7 .P83 2020
Edinburg Library Edinburg Stacks - BF76.7 .P83 2020

APA Style
APA Style website provides some free tutorials and instructional aids to help when writing research papers.

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: LB2369.M52 2016
ISBN: 9781603292627
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
Print copy at the following location:
Edinburg Library Edinburg Stacks - LB2369.M52 2016

RefWorks This link opens in a new window
RefWorks (new version) is “an online research management, writing and collaboration tool” that allows you to “read, annotate, organize, and cite your research as well as collaborate with friends and colleagues by sharing collections.” You must create an account to use RefWorks. Go to “Login” and create an account using your UTRGV email account.