LibGuides: COVID-19 (Novel Coronavirus) Resources: For Health Professionals and Researchers

About this Guide

COVID-19 (Novel Coronavirus) Resources

COVID-19 (Novel Coronavirus) and is intended for general information and research purposes only. For official UTRGV updates related to COVID-19 please visit UT Health RGV Coronavirus Resource Center.

Image credit: CDC/ Alissa Eckert, MS; Dan Higgins, MAMS

Clinical Resources

Coronavirus Disease - Guidance from the CDC
NIH Treatment Guidelines for COVID-19
AccessMedicine COVID-19 Central "The AccessMedicine channel for the latest information on the COVID-19 global pandemic."
Coronavirus (covid-19): Latest news and resources (BMJ)
Coronavirus Resource Center (JAMA Network)
COVID-19 Clinical Summaries (DynaMed)
COVID-19 Healthcare Planning Resources (TRACIE: Healthcare Emergency Preparedness Information Gateway)
Critical Care for the Non-ICU Clinician (Society of Critical Care Medicine) "As the COVID-19 pandemic spreads, the number of critically ill patients is expected to surge in hospitals across the United States. This may result in non-ICU clinicians being needed to care for critically ill patients. SCCM's Critical Care for the Non-ICU Clinician provides online education to healthcare professionals who may benefit from critical care training."
Elsevier Novel Coronavirus Information Center Includes "curated information for the research and health community on novel coronavirus (COVID-19). All resources are free to access and include guidelines for clinicians and patients."
JoVE Coronavirus Resource Center (Video Protocols) Includes videos covering clinical and research protocols related to Corona Specific Protocols, General Virus Protocols, Lab Preparation, Current Status and Research, Current Diagnosis Methods, Treatment and Prevention.

Mental Health

COVID-19 Behavioral Health Resources (TRACIE: Healthcare Emergency Preparedness Information Gateway)
MGH Psychiatry Guide to Mental Health Resources for COVID-19 (Mass General Hospital)
Responding to the COVID-19 Pandemic: Toolkit for Emotional Coping for Healthcare Staff (TECHS) "Frontline healthcare staff are facing unprecedented stressors as the COVID-19 pandemic unfolds. The Toolkit for Emotional Coping for Healthcare Staff (TECHS) is a set of concrete tools healthcare staff can use during these challenging times. This webinar also provides guidance and practical tips for supporting colleagues, as well as a stand-alone presentation of the toolkit that can be viewed by groups or individuals as a basis for working through the tools on their own. "
Supporting Grieving Children and Teens During the COVID-19 Global Health Crisis (Dougy National Center for Grieving Children & Families)

Safety and Personal Protective Equipment (PPE)

CDC Strategies for Optimizing the Supply of Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) See CDC’s strategies for optimizing the use of eye protection, isolation gowns, facemasks, and N95 respirators
COVID-19 Personal Protective Equipment Resources (TRACIE: Healthcare Emergency Preparedness Information Gateway)
NETEC: Personal Protective Equipment for COVID-19 (Training Video)

Telehealth

Public Health and Education

CDC Public Health Image Library
Includes downloadable, high resolution public domain images related to coronavirus.
CDC Isolation and Exposure Calculator
A tool to help determine how long you need to isolate, quarantine, or take other steps to prevent spreading COVID-19.
Coronavirus.gov (CDC)
Get the latest public health information from CDC.
Coronavirus Communication Tools (Texas DSHS)
Includes social media tools and printable materials in English and Spanish.
COVID-19 Testing: What You Need to Know (CDC)
Public Health On Call Podcast (Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health) "Experts from the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health offer science and evidence-based insights on the public health news of the day. The current focus is the novel coronavirus spreading around the world."

Vaccine

Vaccine Awareness Videos - Community Engagement Alliance (CEAL) Against COVID-19 Disparities
Includes videos in English and Spanish. "NIH's Community Engagement Alliance (CEAL) Against COVID-19 Disparities program focuses on addressing misinformation around COVID-19, engaging trusted partners and messengers in the delivery of accurate information and educating communities on the importance of inclusion in clinical research to overcome COVID-19, and most importantly, health disparities."

COVID-19 Literature

LitCovid (NCBI - NLM - NIH) LitCovid is a "curated literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus. It is the most comprehensive resource on the subject, providing a central access to 1200 (and growing) relevant articles in PubMed. The articles are updated daily and are further categorized by different research topics and geographic locations for improved access."
Suggested PubMed Search Strategy on COVID-19 Suggested PubMed search strategy to retrieve citations on COVID-19 from the National Library of Medicine.

Reports and Statistics

Note: Several of the resources listed below are no longer being updated and should be used as a source of historical COVID-19 information.

World & National

CDC COVID Data Tracker
Coronavirus COVID-19 Global Cases by the Center for Systems Science and Engineering (CSSE) at Johns Hopkins University (JHU)
COVID-19 Maps and Visuals (Center for Infectious Disease Research & Policy, Univ of Minnesota)
COVID-19 Projections (Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation - IHME - Univ of Washington)
COVID Tracking Project "The COVID Tracking Project collects information from 50 US states, the District of Columbia, and 5 other US territories to provide the most comprehensive testing data we can collect for the novel coronavirus, SARS-CoV-2. We attempt to include positive and negative results, pending tests, and total people tested for each state or district currently reporting that data."
Dartmouth Atlas COVID-19 Data "Includes methods and approaches from the Dartmouth Atlas Project to better understand the geography of the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic."

State & Local

Research

ClinicalTrials.gov COVID-19
Includes information on clinical studies related to COVID-19.
Coronavirus Research Information from the NIH
COVID-19 (Coronavirus) Data Hub (Tableau)
COVID-19 Evidence Accelerator
JoVE Coronavirus Resource Center (Video Protocols) Includes videos covering clinical and research protocols related to Corona Specific Protocols, General Virus Protocols, Lab Preparation, Current Status and Research, Current Diagnosis Methods, Treatment and Prevention.
NCBI GenBank COVID-2019 Sequences
NCBI Virus’ COVID-2019 data hub "NCBI Virus is an integrative, value-added resource designed to support retrieval, display and analysis of a curated collection of virus sequences and large sequence datasets."
Nexstrain Genomic epidemiology of novel coronavirus (hCoV-19) "Nextstrain is an open-source project to harness the scientific and public health potential of pathogen genome data. nextstrain.org aims to provide a real-time snapshot of evolving pathogen populations and to provide interactive data visualizations to virologists, epidemiologists, public health officials, and community scientists."
Our World Data: Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) – Statistics and Research (Univ of Oxford) This purpose of this resource "is to aggregate existing research, bring together the relevant data and allow readers to make sense of the published data and early research on the coronavirus outbreak."
Clinical Trials Awareness Videos - Community Engagement Alliance (CEAL) Against COVID-19 Disparities
Includes videos in English and Spanish. NIH's Community Engagement Alliance (CEAL) Against COVID-19 Disparities program focuses on addressing misinformation around COVID-19, engaging trusted partners and messengers in the delivery of accurate information and educating communities on the importance of inclusion in clinical research to overcome COVID-19, and most importantly, health disparities."