Chemistry: Find Books

Many creatures use adhesive polymers and structures to attach to inert substrates, to each other, or to other organisms. This is the first major review that brings together research on many of the well-known biological adhesives dealing with bacteria, fungi, algae, and marine and terrestrial animals. As we learn more about their molecular and mechanical properties we begin to understand why they adhere so well and with this comes broad applications in areas such as medicine, dentistry, and biotechnology.

A single source of authoritative information on all aspects of the practice of modern liquid chromatography suitable for advanced students and professionals working in a laboratory or managerial capacity

Lippincott Illustrated Reviews: Biochemistry is the long-established, first-and-best resource for the essentials of biochemistry. Students rely on this text to help them quickly review, assimilate, and integrate large amounts of critical and complex information. For more than two decades, faculty and students have praised this best-selling biochemistry textbook for its matchless illustrations that make concepts come to life. - Master all the latest biochemistry knowledge, thanks to extensive revisions and updated content throughout, including an expanded chapter on macronutrients, a completely new chapter on micronutrients, and much more. A bonus chapter on blood clotting with new, additional questions is included online. - See how biochemistry applies to everyday healthcare through integrative, chapter-based cases as well as "Clinical" boxes throughout. - Learn and study effortlessly with a concise outline format, abundant full-color artwork, and chapter overviews and summaries. - Look for icons that signal an animation at thePoint or an integrative clinical case in the Appendix. - Assess and reinforce your learning with more than 200 new review questions available online.

Organic and Physical Chemistry of Polymers provides a thorough introduction to the fundamentals of polymers, including their structure and synthesis as well as their chemical and physical properties. This accessible guide illuminates the increasingly important role of polymers in modern chemistry, beginning with the essentials, then covering thermodynamics, conformation, morphology, and measurements of molar masses; polymerization mechanisms, reaction of polymers, synthesis of block and graft polymers, and complex topologies; and the mechanical properties, rheology, polymer processing, and fabrication of fibers and films.

This book covers a range of new research on computational quantum chemistry, along with a special section devoted to exotic carbon allotropes and spiro quantum theory. The section on spiro quantum theory covers the technical presentation of the ideas surrounding the emergence of a synthetic, analytical, and theoretical spiro quantum chemistry edifice, as well as a chemical topology scheme that successfully describes molecules and patterns, including the hydrocarbons and allotropes of carbon. The second part of the book covers a range of new research on computational quantum chemistry.

Organic Chemistry Concepts: An EFL Approach provides an introductory overview of the subject, to enable the reader to understand many critical, experimental facts. Designed to cover a single-semester course or a needed review on the principles of Organic Chemistry, the book is written and organized for readers whose first language is not English. Approximately 80% of the words used are drawn from the list of the 2,000 most common English words; the remaining 20% includes necessary technical words, common chemistry terms, and well-known academic words (per the Academic Word List). The book has been class-tested internationally as well as with native English speakers, and differs from other introductory textbooks in the subject both in its coverage and organization, with a particular focus on common problem areas. Focused on a limited number of functional classes, Organic Chemistry Concepts: An EFL Approach introduces those organic compounds early in the book. Once readers have a foundation of the concepts and language of organic chemistry, they can build from that knowledge and work with relatively complex molecules, such as some natural product types covered in a later chapter. The book describes basic level reaction mechanisms when instructive, and illustrations throughout to emphasize the 3D nature of organic chemistry. The book includes multiple pedagogical features, such as chapter questions and useful appendices, to support reader comprehension.