LibGuides: History: B3 History Resources

History - B3 Resources

RGV History Resources

Special Collections & University Archives: Research Guides: History & Culture
UTRGV Special Collections & Archives has compiled research guides on popular topics to assist students and new researchers with finding primary and secondary sources. They are designed to serve as basic guides for entry level research in regional history and culture.

Local Museums

Donna Hooks Fletcher Museum
Local history is honored at her namesake facility — Donna Hooks Fletcher Museum. Artifacts include the town’s first telephone, a bar supposedly used in the 1914 Blue Goose Saloon and household appliances, including an ice box, clothes wringer wash tub and butter churn.
Harlingen Arts and Heritage Museum
The museum has three historical buildings on its grounds: 1) The original home of Lon C. Hill, Harlingen's town founder. 2) Harlingen's first hospital. 3) The Paso Real Stagecoach Inn. The main museum building features rotating art and cultural exhibits.
Historic Brownsville Museum
The Historic Brownsville Museum is located at the old Southern Pacific Railroad Depot. Built in 1928, the Southern Pacific Railroad Depot is recognized as a Texas Historical Landmark and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Inside the depot, the museum details the events that led to the establishment of Brownsville and displays temporary exhibits that highlight various topics related to local history.
International Museum of Art & Science (IMAS)
IMAS is located in the Rio Grande Valley inspires audiences of all ages to explore art and science through its permanent collections, exhibits, programs, and partnerships by empowering learners to discover their interests and pursue their passions.
THE MCALLEN HERITAGE CENTER: Museum of History & Culture
Currently on exhibit at the museum, enjoy "our collection" which is a compilation of artwork that has been donated to the museum as well as pieces that we have acquired over the years.
Mission Historical Museum
The Museum maintains both permanent and temporary exhibits and presents a variety of events and programs for all ages. Our interpretation goal is to inspire the citizens of our community through the presentation of our exhibits.
Museum of South Texas History
Explores the heritage of South Texas and Northeastern Mexico through exhibits featuring prehistoric plants, animal fossils, native cultures, and steamboat replica.
Old Hidalgo Pumphouse Museum and World Birding Center
Our Hidalgo Pumphouse/World Birding Center offers a variety of historical tours, hike & bike trails, birding, butterfly gardens and nature tours. Also, our luscious green landscaping offers photographers a unique setting for picture taking.
Weslaco Museum
To collect, preserve, exhibit, and promote the history, cultural arts, and past traditions of Weslaco, Texas, and its surrounding region.

Books

Migraciones internacionales by Alba, Francisco
ISBN: 9786074623635

This book discusses the history of human migrations and the movement of peoples in the world today, details the situations of the United States and Mexico--a country of immigration and transit as well as emigration--and projects future trends.
Los grandes problemas de México-Seguridad nacional y seguridad interior by Alvarado Mendoza
ISBN: 9786074624687

This collection of essays offers a critical analysis of Mexico's complex relationship with drug trafficking, security, and the role of the military in addressing these challenges. Jorge Chabat examines the response of the Calderón government to the narcotrafficking crisis, highlighting the difficult choices between harmful and less harmful strategies. Carlos Montemayor provides insights into guerrilla movements and intelligence services, offering new conclusions about their interactions. Froylán Enciso critiques the failures of the drug prohibition regime, emphasizing its role in exacerbating narcotrafficking. Marco Palacios and Mónica Serrano compare the violent impact of drug trafficking in Colombia and Mexico, drawing parallels between the two countries.
Historia de la deuda exterior de México 1823-1946
ISBN: 9681200918

This book analyzes Mexican economic history it discusses land policy, the Church question, railroad building, and diplomatic relations with the United States and other countries. Thus it
provides incidental insight into many key developments of Mexico's national life.
Historia mínima [de la] educación en México
ISBN: 9786074624595

This collection of essays offers a comprehensive exploration of various historical, social, and cultural aspects of Mexican history, with a particular focus on key events, ideologies, and transitions. Together, these essays provide a nuanced understanding of Mexico’s history, covering critical periods of change from colonial rule to the quest for independence,
El American Dream by Enrique Berruga Filloy
ISBN: 9786070740909

Publication Date: 2017-07-18

Enrique Berruga Filloy’s ¿México podría ser la estrella 51 en la bandera de los Estados Unidos? is a satirical and thought-provoking exploration of Mexico’s potential integration into the United States, framed through a lens of political and cultural critique. The novel delves into the complexities of Mexican identity, corruption, and governance, presenting the idea of Mexico becoming the 51st state of the U.S. as a metaphor for the country’s struggles with corruption and national identity.

Databases and Archives

Library Databases

HAPI
HAPI Hispanic American Periodical Index (HAPI) "is your source for over 265,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States." Search results can also be filtered by language. Searches in HAPI can be conducted in English, Spanish, or Portuguese. To limit by a specific language select Advanced Search.
Hispanic American Newspapers 1808-1980
Hispanic American Newspapers 1808-1980 provides access to hundreds of searchable Hispanic American newspapers published in the United States. It is based on the “Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project”. To locate Spanish language materials use search terms in that language.
JSTOR
This database is a full image resource of back issues of scholarly journals. It includes Spanish language materials in Spanish. To access Spanish only articles select Advance Search and then limit by language.
PRISMA
PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanisticas) "is a comprehensive reference resource providing full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin." To limit by Spanish select Advanced Search and select that option in language.

Archives and Collections

Bracero History Archive
The Bracero History Archive collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964. Millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border under the program to work in more than half of the states in America.
Calisphere: University of California
Calisphere is your gateway to digital collections from California's great libraries, archives, and museums. Discover over 2,125,000 images, texts, and recordings. Watch an introductory video to learn more.
Database of Baptism, Marriage, and Burial Records from California Missions
The Early California Population Project (ECPP) is a database developed by the Huntington Library providing public access to all the information contained in the California mission registers from 1769 to 1850. It includes baptism, marriage, and burial records of each of the California missions, providing historical information on the Native Californians, soldiers, and settlers of Alta California.
Libros UNAM Open Access
UNAM Open Access Books is a development of the Subdirectorate of Academic Journals and Digital Publications of the General Directorate of Publications and Publishing Promotion (DGPyFE). Its objectives are to facilitate the retrieval, consultation, and download of e-books from the catalog; increase their visibility, reach, and impact; establish methodological foundations; share information on best publishing practices and institutional guidelines; and foster continuous improvement of university publications. To date, the UNAM Open Access Books catalog includes more than 2,000 titles available in different formats (EPUB, PDF, and MP3).
Online Archive of California
Open the virtual doors of these institutions from our home page. The key is the OAC's more than 55,000 online collection guides. You can use these to browse, locate resources, or view selected items digitally (the OAC contains more than 240,000 digital images and documents) or learn how you can gain access to the physical objects.
Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM) Digital Newspaper Archive
UNAM Open Access Archive is a development of the Subdirectorate of Academic Journals and Digital Publications of the General Directorate of Publications and Publishing Promotion (DGPyFE).
The University of Texas at Austin: Benson Latin American Collection
In partnership with the Teresa Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies (LLILAS), the Benson is a global destination for research and study, with over a million volumes as well as a wealth of original manuscripts, photographs and various media related to Mexico, Central and South America, and the Caribbean and Latina/Latino presence in the United States.

Digital Repositiories and Collections

Bexar Archives Online
The Bexar Archives are the official Spanish documents that preserve the political, diplomatic, religious, military, economic, and social life of the Spanish province of Texas and the Mexican state of Coahuila y Texas. Both in their volume and breadth of subject matter, the Bexar Archives are the single most important source for the history of Hispanic Texas up to 1836.
Casa Mata Museum and Archives (Matamoros)
These items are digitized from the collection of the Casa Mata Museum and Archives in Matamoros, Tamaulipas, Mexico. Included are some American military records saved by the mayors of Matamoros. Ownership and location of the physical items rests with the Casa Mata Museum and Archives in Matamoros, Tamaulipas.
La Guerra de Texas y La Guerra Mexico - Estados Unidos
These are 51 books that contain data, details and circumstances that are revealed in light of the correspondence between the protagonists and key figures who participated in two historical events that changed the territory, foreign relations and the economy of Mexico and its neighbor. North during the first half of the 19th century: the Texas War of 1835 and the Mexican-American War of 1846-1848. The documents of the Digital Archive are part of the documentary fund called Bound Files, a collection made up of 2,421 files that cover the period 1771-1982. The 20,000 pages of this Archive are reproductions made directly from the original documents using digital technology, which offers readers the possibility of appreciating their state of conservation, format, color and analyzing their content in greater detail.
Hispanic Heritage Month (National Archives Online Exhibits)
We celebrate Hispanic Heritage Month (September 15 to October 15) to recognize the achievements and contributions of Hispanic American champions who have inspired others to achieve success. The observation began in 1968 as Hispanic Heritage Week under President Lyndon Johnson and was expanded by President Ronald Reagan in 1988 to cover a 30-day period. It was enacted into law on August 17, 1988.
HMRC Hispanic Digital Collections (Houston Public Library Digital Archives)
Welcome to the Houston Public Library Digital Archives. Here you will find unique materials for research, learning, and discovery from Houston Public Library Special Collections, including archival material from the African American History Research Center at the Gregory School (AAHRC), the Family History Research Center at the Clayton Library Campus (FHRC), and the Houston History Research Center at the Julia Ideson Building (HHRC). Some collections are the result of collaborations with partner libraries, museums, and cultural heritage institutions.
Relaciones Geográficas (LLILAS Benson Digital Scholarship, UT Austin)
The Digital Scholarship Lab is a joint UT Libraries and College of Liberal Arts initiative to build the technical capacity of students, faculty, and staff and facilitate the digital analysis of Benson holdings.
UT San Antonio Digital Special Collections
The UTSA Libraries are proud to preserve the legacies of San Antonio and South Texas through our growing collection of rare books, personal papers, photographs, and other one-of-a-kind primary resources.

Journals

Crítica: Revista Hispanoamericana de Filosofía
Crítica, Revista Hispanoamericana de Filosofía, is published by the Instituto de Investigaciones Filosóficas of the National Autonomous University of Mexico (Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México). It appears quarterly in the months of April, August and December. Its first volume was published in 1967 with Peter Strawson's "Is Existence Never a Predicate?" as its opening article. Since then it has been the leading philosophy journal in the Spanish and Portuguese speaking world, publishing original work primarily in the analytical tradition.
Crítica publishes articles, discussion pieces, state of the art papers, critical notices, and reviews of high quality in any area of philosophy which contribute to current philosophical debates. Conceptual precision, rigour and originality are essential to any work accepted for publication. Information regarding subscriptions, permissions, submission guidelines, and the most recent table of contents can be found at http://critica.filosoficas.unam.mx.
Mexican Studies/Estudios Mexicanos
he rich cultural production, economy, political legacy, and unique peoples of Mexico lay the foundation for the bilingual Mexican Studies/Estudios Mexicanos, the only U.S. published academic journal of its kind. Published twice a year for the University of California Institute for Mexico and the United States, (UC MEXUS), and the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, Mexican Studies/Estudios Mexicanos welcomes articles and comparative analyses, in both English and Spanish, from a variety of multidisciplinary perspectives and methodologies. The journal provides detailed coverage of Mexico-related topics across its forum section, feature articles, and review essays.
Revista Mexicana de Sociología
Revista Mexicana de Sociología, founded in 1939, is the oldest social sciences journal in Mexico and Latin America.
Published from its inception by the Instituto de Investigaciones Sociales de la Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, it is a notable contributor to the sociological productions theorized and observed in Hispanic speech.

Professional Organizations

American Historical Association (AHA)
The American Historical Association is the largest professional organization in the United States devoted to the study and promotion of history and historical thinking. It brings together historians from all areas of study and research. They also have a list of their affialiated societies.
The Caribbean Studies Association
The Caribbean Studies Association (CSA) is an independent professional organization devoted to the promotion of Caribbean studies from a multidisciplinary, multicultural point of view.
The National Association for Chicana and Chicano Studies (NACCS)
NACCS is the academic organization that serves academic programs, departments and research centers that focus on issues pertaining to Mexican Americans, Chicana/os, and Latina/os. The Association was formed in 1972, during the height of the Chicana/o movement, calling for the development of a space where scholarship and Chicana/o students could develop their talents in higher education.
Oral History Association (OHA)
OHA has served as the principal membership organization for people committed to the value of oral history. OHA engages with policy makers, educators, and others to help foster best practices and encourage support for oral history and oral historians.
Organization of American Historians (OAH)
The Organization of American Historians is the largest professional society dedicated to the teaching and study of American history.
THE ROCKY MOUNTAIN COUNCIL FOR LATIN AMERICAN STUDIES (RMCLAS)
RMCLAS is the oldest Latin American academic organization in the world.
Society for Historical Archaeology
Historical Archaeology is a subfield of archaeology and focuses on the emergence, nature and transformation of the Modern World.

General Tips: Finding More B3 History Resources

With the UTRGV Library Catalog, as well as most databases, search results can be filtered by language, making it quick and easy to locate Spanish-language content.

For some databases (such as HAPI, JSTOR, and PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanisticas)), the user interface can be presented in various languages, including Spanish. This feature may be available within the database's user settings or via a "languages" option at the top-right of the resource's main page.

Below are some suggested keyword searches and subject searches to find more B3 History content using UTRGV's Library Catalog (click on the links below to see search results).

Keyword Suggestions:
Border History
Histoire Amérique
Histoire Amérique Latine
Historia
La Frontera

Subject Suggestions:
Amérique -- Histoire
Amérique latine -- Histoire
Mexican-American Border Region -- History
Mexico -- Relations -- United States
Southwest, Old -- HIstory
Southwest, New -- History
United States -- Relations -- Mexico

For any of these sample catalog searches, results can be limited to feature specific formats, including books, documents, journals, and media.

Generally, searches conducted in library catalogs and academic databases retrieve the same results for terms and names containing accents/other diacritics, whether the accents are included in the search or not (for example, a search for "Mexico" will produce the same results as "México"). However, some search engines will yield differing results when an accent or diacritic is present vs. not. It may be worth using both variants if exhaustive search results are needed.

Though not primarily focused on B3 content, general history resources like Academic Search Complete, America: History and Life with Full Text, and JSTOR (among others) do contain some B3 materials, as well.