Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Biology: Find Articles

UTRGV Biology Subject Guide Welcome to the UTRGV Biology Subject Guide where relevant library resources are organized in one spot. Use the tabs at the top to go straight to the information that best suits your information needs.

Selected Biology Journals

American journal of bioethics 

from 01/01/2001 to 18 months ago
 

Behavioral ecology and sociobiology  

from 01/01/1997 to present
 

Bio systems

from 01/01/1995 to present

 

BioloĢgia

from 02/01/2006 to present

 

Biological research

from 1999 to present
 

Biologist (London)

from 02/01/2001 to present

 

Bioscience

from 01/01/1992 to present

 

Chemistry & biology

from 1994 to present

 

Conservation biology

from 1997 to present 

 

Developmental biology

from 01/01/1993 to present

Evolution

from 2000 to present

 

Journal of biological research 

 
from 2004 to present

Interlibrary Loan

ILLiad Logon



Important Databases

BioOne "provides a unique aggregation of high-impact bioscience research journals, featuring timely content on a wide-array of today's most pressing topics, including global warming, stem cell research, ecological and biodiversity conservation."

JSTOR  is a electronic resource that provides access to full image articles in biology as well as a number of other subjects. The database contains only back issues that have been digitized.

AGRICOLA (from EBSCO) "contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Coverage for AGRICOLA dates back to 1970 and includes more than 2.5 million citations."

MTS Lab Training Library- provides samples and interactive training for biology and medical labs, electrical/engineering safety training, and more.

Nature contains the archives of subscribed Nature journals.

ScienceDirect- provides full image articles from more than 1000 journals covering agriculture, arts and humanities, astronomy, biology, business, chemistry, clinical medicine, and many more.

Science Magazine Online (AAAS): Full-Text
Provides the full text of articles published in Science Magazine from 1997 to current issue. Citations of articles are available from 1880 to current issue.

SpringerLINK provides abstracts, full text, and full image articles from journals published by Springer, which covers many subjects, including biomedicine.

Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, with a heavy emphasis on the biological sciences.

PubMed "a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources."

MEDLINE (EBSCO) indexes more than 4,000 medical journals, published in the United States and dozens of foreign countries, covering a wide variety of biomedical and related fields.

Biological Abstracts 1969-Present covers international journals in the life sciences.

BioMed Central "is an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate free access to... biomedical research" it publishes online.

Annual Reviews (Annual Reviews): Full-Text
Provides full-text access to reviews of primary research literature related to the biomedical, life, physical and social sciences.

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) (ProQuest): Citation Only
Abstracts of articles from over 5,000 serial publications, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature related to the aquatic sciences.

Journal Citation Reports (Web of Science): Citation & Abstract Only
Provides an annual analysis (impact factor) of scholarly journals in the sciences. Attempts to show the relationship between citing and cited journals in order to determine the relative importance of journals within their subject categories.

Journal of Visualized Experiments - Biology (JoVE): Full-Text • Streaming Video
JoVE Biology presents more than 1000 videos demonstrating laboratory methods in the fields of cellular biology, developmental biology, microbiology, plant biology, medicine, and neuroscience.

Journal of Visualized Experiments – Immunology & Infection (JoVE): Full-Text • Streaming Video
JoVE Immunology & Infection includes content from a variety of fields working towards a shared initiative of improving global health. Techniques evaluating the biological response to pathogens from the molecular to organismal level are presented as well as therapeutic agents and their efficacy in treating disease.

Journal of Visualized Experiments - Neuroscience (JoVE): Full-Text · Streaming Video
JoVE Neuroscience is a peer reviewed, PubMed indexed journal devoted to the publication of neurological research in video format.

Journal of Visualized Experiments – Science Education (JoVE): Full-Text • Streaming Video
Revolutionary video database dedicated to teaching laboratory fundamentals through simple, easy to understand video demonstrations. It includes: General Laboratory Techniques, Cell & Molecular Biology, and Organisms I & II.

Research and Instruction Services

Research and  Instruction's picture
Research and Instruction

Chat with us!