Biology: B3 Biology Resources

Library Databases

Archives and Collections

• Sociedad Española de Bioquímica y Biología Molecular (SEBBM)

  This is a major scientific society that promotes biochemistry and molecular biology in Spain, facilitating connections between Spanish biochemists and molecular biologists, and fostering international collaborations. FEBS Network notes that SEBBM is a founding society of FEBS. 

• Sociedad Española de Microbiología (SEM)

  The Spanish Society for Microbiology represents Spanish microbiologists in international organizations like the Federation of European Microbiological Societies (FEMS) and the International Union of Microbiological Societies (IUMS). 

• AseBio (Asociación Española de Bioempresas)

  This organization unites and represents the interests of companies, associations, foundations, universities, and research centers involved in biotechnology activities in Spain. 

• Spanish Society for Immunology

  This society focuses on promoting and developing immunology in Spain. 

• Spanish Society of Plant Biology (SEBP)

  This society brings together professionals who study plant organisms, their organs, tissues, cells, organelles, genes, and molecules, both in isolation and in interaction with their environment. 

• Spanish Society of Plant Physiology (SEFV)

  This society focuses on plant physiology research and development. 

• Spanish National Research Council (CSIC)

  While not a specific biology organization, the CSIC is a major public scientific institution in Spain, including the National Centre for Biotechnology (CNB), which plays a key role in the development of biotechnology in Spain. 

• Spanish Association for Biosafety (AEBioS)

  This association focuses on biosafety and biosecurity management, protecting workers and the environment from risks associated with biological agents. 

• ECUSA (Association of Spanish Scientists in the USA)

  This non-profit organization promotes science and technology professionals with ties to Spain, aiming to educate, inspire, and train new scientists and researchers. 

• L'Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science

  This program recognizes and promotes the work of women scientists in Spain and encourages young women to pursue careers in science. 

• With the UTRGV Library Catalog, as well as most databases, search results can be filtered by language, making it quick and easy to locate Spanish-language content.

• For some databases (such as Biological Abstracts (BIOSIS) 1969-Present or Science Direct), the user interface can be presented in various languages, including Spanish. This feature may be available within the database's user settings or via a "languages" option at the top-right of the resource's main page. In some cases you may need to create an account in order change language preferences.

• Below are some suggested keyword searches and subject searches to find more B3 Public Administration content using UTRGV's Library Catalog (click on the links below to see search results).

Keyword Suggestions:
Biologia
Biodiversidad
Biodiversity and Border
Ecosistema
Ecosystem and Border
Environmental Policy and Border

Subject Suggestions:
Biodiversity -- Mexican-American Border Region
Biodiversity conservation -- Mexican-American Border Region
Ecology -- Mexico, Gulf of
Environmental policy -- Mexico -- International cooperation
Environmental policy -- United States -- International cooperation
Fishery policy -- Latin America
Human geography -- Mexican-American Border Region

• For any of these sample catalog searches, results can be limited to feature specific formats, including books, journals, and media.

• Generally, searches conducted in library catalogs and academic databases retrieve the same results for terms and names containing accents/other diacritics, whether the accents are included in the search or not (for example, a search for "Mexico" will produce the same results as "México"). However, some search engines will yield differing results when an accent or diacritic is present vs. not. It may be worth using both variants if exhaustive search results are needed.

• Though not primarily focused on B3 content, general biology resources like Academic Source Complete, Gale Academic One File and SAGE Online (among others) do contain some B3 materials, as well.