LibGuides: Philosophy: B3 Philosophy Resources

Philosophy - B3 Resources

RGV Philosophy Resources

General Reference Sources

Diccionario de filosofía abreviado by Mora, José Ferrater, autor.
Call Number: B45 F43 2000

ISBN: 9789500700214

Publication Date: 2000-01-01

This online classic Dictionary of Philosophy has long since established itself as an indispensable tool for students and philosophers. A work of notable erudition and broad scope. It is a fruitful source of information, instruction, and reflection.
Diccionario de Filosofía : Inglés-Castellano : Castellano-Inglés by Kenneth Allen Hornak
Call Number: B40.H67 2013

ISBN: 9780976594703

Publication Date: 2005-02-01

With Over 23,000 entries, this literary work covers all disciplines of philosophy:Western and Eastern philosophy, ethics, logic, ontology, esthetics, metaphysics, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophical theology, philosophers: their neologisms, and translated titles.
Diccionario básico de filosofía by Fau, Mauricio Enrique, autor.
Call Number: B45 .F255 2011

ISBN: 9789871719242

Publication Date: 2011-01-01

The most commonly used philosophical terms, explained briefly, precisely, and completely. The essential terms of the great authors (Socrates, Plato, Aristotle, Kant, Hegel, Nietzsche, Marx). And the main schools of thought (positivism, idealism, materialism, nationalism, empiricism).
Cuadrivio. Filosofía europea y derecho romano : Vico, Kant, Savigny, Ortega by Castro Saénz, Alfonso, autor.
Call Number: JA160 C378 2019

ISBN: 9788412089295

Publication Date: 2019-01-01

This volume brings together four essays published in dispersed venues that are united by the same common thread: an approach, at least from a specific angle, to the reception of Roman law and its legal and cultural tradition in four very different but profoundly significant thinkers of the European spirit of their time. Publication focuses mainly on philosophy of law.

Databases and Archives

Library Databases

Ethnic Newswatch
This is a comprehensive, full-text database providing access to newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic and minority presses. It likewise offers researchers essential perspectives often overlooked in mainstream media. To limit by Spanish users can select that option from the Language box.
Gale OneFile: Informe Académico
This database is a full-text Spanish-language database designed for academic research. It provides access to a wide range of scholarly and professional content from Latin American and Spanish publications. To find Spanish language materials use Spanish terms when searching for sources.
HAPI
Considered a primary database for Hispanic research, indexing scholarly articles from journals focused on Latin America, the Caribbean, and US Latinos, particularly in the humanities and social sciences. Search results can also be filtered by language. Searches in HAPI can be conducted in English, Spanish, or Portuguese. To limit by a specific language select Advanced Search.
JSTOR
A comprehensive database with extensive access to scholarly articles across various fields, including Latin American studies, allowing for the deep research on Hispanic topics. This database is available in both English and Spanish. To limit by a specific language select Advanced Search.
PRISMA
PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanisticas) "is a comprehensive reference resource providing full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin." This does include materials dealing with early childhood, elementary, and secondary education. To limit to Spanish you can use the Advanced Search option and select the language.

Archives and Collections

Araucaria: revista iberoamericana de filosofía política y humanidades.
Established in 1999, this journal focuses on original and unpublished works in the fields of social sciences and humanities, with a particular emphasis on Ibero-American society and history. It also addresses broader international issues, including democracy and peace.
Biblioteca Eduardo García Máynez
The Eduardo García Maynez library of the UNAM Institute of Philosophical Research has the largest online digital resource collection of volumes and journals in Latin America.
Enrique Dussel
The comprehensive database of Enrique Dussel is a veritable gold mine of entire and original works by Latin American and Caribbean philosophers, along with a few prominent translations. The frequently requested translation of Gloria Anzaldua's Borderlands by Carmen Valle can be accessed here.
SciELO
A large open-access database primarily focused on Latin American academic journals and specialized collections relevant to Hispanic studies.

Journals

Azafea: Estudios de Historia de la Filosofía Hispánica
This academic journal is dedicated to the history of Hispanic philosophy. It focuses on the study, analysis, and dissemination of philosophical thought developed in the Hispanic world from Spain and Latin America to broader Ibero-American traditions.
Eidos: revista de filosofia de la Universidad del Norte
This publication serves as a platform for disseminating original research across all fields of philosophy, including aesthetics, epistemology, metaphysics, feminism, phenomenology, history of science, and history of philosophy.
Journal of Latin American Studies
Publishes articles on Latin American culture and on theoretical approaches to cultural production in Latin America, including Caribbean, Latino/a and other diasporic, trans-regional formations. Multidisciplinary work focusing on the literature, film, visual arts, and music, as well as anthropology, gender and queer studies, communication, history and memory studies, and other areas of analysis. Can be accessed through the following UTRGV databases: Taylor & Francis.
Journal of Spanish Cultural Studies
This online journal database covers all areas of Spanish studies comprised by the Spanish state, covering music, film, religion, and popular and mass culture.
Latin American Perspectives
This journal offers a vital multidisciplinary view of the powerful forces impacting the lives of people across the Americas in the timely analyses of critical issues, social movements, and political variables.
Latin American Research Review
The Latin American Research Review (LARR) publishes original research and review essays on Latin America, the Caribbean, and Latina/Latino studies. LARR covers the social sciences and the humanities, including the fields of anthropology, economics, history, literature and cultural studies, political science, and sociology.
Latino-Hispanic American Experience
LAE specializes in Latino history and culture. It includes ready-reference and in-depth articles from over 150 reference works on Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean, South America, and the Iberian Peninsula.
Redalyc
Open Access journal database produced by supported by the Universidad Autónoma del Estado de México, with participation from many other institutions. Includes coverage of sciences, social sciences, arts & humanities.
Revista de Filosofía (Universidad de Chile)
Revista de Filosofía is an academic journal of philosophy addressed to philosophical scholars and students. It publishes original research articles by Chilean and foreign authors.

Books

Latin American Thought by Susanna Nuccetelli
Call Number: B1016.M49 2017

ISBN: 0813365538

Publication Date: 2001-12-31

This book explains how well-established philosophical traditions gave rise in the New World to a characteristic form of thought not to be found in other cultures.
Concepciones de la metafisica by Gracia, Jorge J.E.
Call Number: BD115 C744 2013

ISBN: 8498793998

Publication Date: 2013-01-01

In this work, Gracia examines the emergence of metaphysical philosophy as it evolved through the middle ages to modern times, and how it still remains openly debatable.
Historia de la Filosofia: Tomo I by Koloman Moser (Cover Design by); Zeferino González
Call Number: B72 G643 2011

ISBN: 9781282004061

Publication Date: 2010-01-11

This volume covers the history of ancient times, including Hindu and Chinese thought, and concludes with the philosophical currents of classical Rome.
Latin American and Latinx Philosophy by Robert Eli Sanchez, Jr. (Editor)
Call Number: B1003 L385 2019

ISBN: 1351585991

Publication Date: 2019-08-13

Latin American and Latinx Philosophy: A Collaborative Introduction is a beginner's guide to canonical texts in this particular subject matter, providing the non-specialist with necessary historical and philosophical context, and demonstrating their contemporary relevance.
A Companion to Latin American Philosophy by Susana Nuccetelli (Editor); Ofelia Schutte (Editor); Otavio Bueno (Editor); Otávio Bueno (Editor)
Call Number: B1001.C65 2010

ISBN: 9781405179799

Publication Date: 2009-12-14

This comprehensive collection of original essays written by an international group of scholars addresses the central themes in Latin American philosophy.
Contingency and commitment : Mexican existentialism and the place of philosophy by Sánchez, Carlos Alberto,
Call Number: B819 S257 2016

ISBN: 9781438459479

Publication Date: 2016-02-01

This comprehensive written work chronicles the emergence of existentialism in Mexico in the 1940s and the quest for a genuine Mexican philosophy that followed it.
Filosofía by Zangaro, Marcela.
Call Number: B29 Z29 2013

ISBN: 9789871086771

Publication Date: 2013-01-01

This work offers a beginner's guide to a firm understanding of the essentials of philosophy from a Latin American perspective.

Professional Organizations

General Tips: Finding More B3 Philosophy Resources

With the UTRGV Library Catalog, as well as most databases, search results can be filtered by language, making it quick and easy to locate Spanish-language content.

For some databases (such as HAPI, JSTOR, and PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanisticas)), the user interface can be presented in various languages, including Spanish. This feature may be available within the database's user settings or via a "languages" option at the top-right of the resource's main page.

Below are some suggested keyword searches and subject searches to find more B3 History content using UTRGV's Library Catalog (click on the links below to see search results).

Keyword Suggestions:
epistemología
estética
ética
filosofía
lógica
metafísica
ontología

Subject Suggestions:
Estética
Ética
Filosofía
Filosofía -- Epistemologia
Lógica -- Historia
Metafísica
Ontología

For any of these sample catalog searches, results can be limited to feature specific formats, including books, documents, journals, and media.

Generally, searches conducted in library catalogs and academic databases retrieve the same results for terms and names containing accents/other diacritics, whether the accents are included in the search or not (for example, a search for "Mexico" will produce the same results as "México"). However, some search engines will yield differing results when an accent or diacritic is present vs. not. It may be worth using both variants if exhaustive search results are needed.

Though not primarily focused on B3 content, general philosophy resources like Academic Search Complete or JSTOR (among others) do contain some B3 materials, as well.