LibGuides: Medical Spanish: Web Resources

Featured Resource

Learn basic conversations in Medical Spanish using the Mango Languages platform. It has lessons covering 70+ languages, including Latin American Spanish, Arabic, French, Chinese, and many others.

Try Mango Languages by accessing it from the SOM Libraries Database List. Use your UTRGV ID and password to create your personal profile, then use the Specialty Courses tab to find the Medical Spanish course. Mango Languages is also available as Apple iOS, Android and Amazon apps, to keep lessons going on your mobile devices.

Databases & Indexes

Medical Spanish Resources

MedicalSpanish.com
Provides free Learning Resources in medical Spanish, including categorized medical Spanish vocabulary with audio.
Practicing Spanish.com: Medical Spanish
This website provides written and oral dialogues in real world situations, such as the medical interview, medical history, etc. Practice in using standard grammar, a spoken guide to the accents in various South American countries, anatomical drawings showing the Spanish names for parts of the body are also included.
more...less...
Clicking on a body part yields an audio pronunciation. Special brief sections discuss the cultural aspects of Spanish speaking countries. Links to Spanish medical dictionaries are included.
Cram: Spanish Flashcards
A website that prompts you to learn Spanish medical vocabulary utilizing flash cards in several modes: learning, memorizing, testing.

Language Learning Resources

Duolingo - Learn Languages for Free
An online language learning resource also accessible as an app for iOS or Android.
BBC Spanish
Produced by the BBC, this website offers quizzes, pronunciation guides, and conversational Spanish tips.
IE Languages, Spanish - Basic Phrases
Useful Spanish Phrases
A collection of useful phrases in Spanish.
Rosetta Stone - Learn Spanish
Sign up with a free demo account to start learning Spanish with this popular and powerful language program.

Online Dictionaries

English-Spanish Dictionary (WordReference.com)
From Harper Collins also has a Diccionario Ingles-Espanol.
English-Spanish Dictionary of Health Related Terms
This dictionary, in PDF format, is a comprehensive listing of English medical terms and their Spanish equivalents.
more...less...
Use the Find function to quickly locate a word or phrase. Beginning on page 62 are useful phrases and sentences for: general instructions (open your mouth; cough, etc.); instructions for taking medications; personal data; and medical history. From page 66 on are anatomical diagrams with parts of the body noted in Spanish.
Spanish Central (Merriam Webster Dictionaries)
Enter a word or phrase in English or Spanish and it will be translated.

Medical Spanish at UTRGV

The following Graduate Certificates and Continuing Education programs are offered for those who aim to obtain high-end medical and healthcare interpreting abilities: