Skip to main content

International Business & Commerce Information: Home

Recommended resources and web sites for those doing research on topics related to international business, trade, exporting, importing, etc.

Recommended Web Sites

U.S. Department of State 

Users can search the Business section on this site for information on countries and regions around the world.  This site can be helpful for those researching how to do business in international markets.

U.S. Government Export Portal

This site provides users with information relating to export-related programs, services and market research information acorss multiple federal agencies.

Trade Stats Express 

This site displays the latest annual U.S. Merchandise Trade statistics.

U.S. Department of Commerce

Search this site for information on trade opportunities and export information.

U.S. Customs and Border Protection

The "Trade" section of this site contains general information on the importing and exporting process.

U.S. Census

The "Business" section of this site contains information on foreign trade and related economic studies.

CIA World Factbook 

Provides an extensive collection of maps and country profiles

Library Resources for International Markets

International Marketing Data & Statistics [REF HA 42.I56]

A compendium of statistical information on the countries of the Americas, Asia, Africa and Oceania; provides a wealth of detailed and up-to-date statistical information relevant to international market planning; information on European countries found in European Marketing Data & Statistics

European Marketing Data & Statistics [REF HA1107.E87]

A compendium of statistical information on the countries of Western and Eastern Europe; provides a wealth of detailed and up-to-date statistical information relevant to international market planning; other countries found in International Marketing Data & Statistics

Recommended Library Databases

Relevant Call Number Ranges

The following subject headings and corresponding classification numbers are a good starting point when searching the Library's catalog:

  • Business  -- HF5351
  • Accounting -- HF5635
  • Marketing -- HF5415
  • Finance -- HG173
  • Economics -- HB171
  • Management -- HD131
  • Banks and Banking -- HG1601
  • Industrial Management -- HD31

 Materials covering these and related topics can be found in these general areas on the Library's 3rd Floor

Contact Information