LibGuides: Literature and Cultural Studies: B3 Literature & Cultural Studies Resources (Under Construction)

Literature & Cultural Studies - B3 Resources

Borderlands Resources

Estudios Fronterizos (UABC)
A peer-reviewed, semi-annual academic journal that "disseminates knowledge generated about border issues" from Mexico (Autonomous University of Baja California). Can be used as a primary source of up-to-date articles on border issues, in Spanish.
Frontera Norte (El Colegio de la Frontera Norte)
A specialized journal focusing on studies of the Mexico-United States border, border identity issues, border crossings, hybrid cultures, and more. Ideal for seminars or readings on cultural experiences, border identities, and border literature.
United Fronteras – Proyectos digitales sobre la zona fronteriza
The US-Mexico Borderlands Exhibit is the resulf of Phase 1 of United Fronteras. The exhibit consists of a digital directory of projects documenting contacts and divergences in the Mexico and the United States border region from pre-colonial times to the 21st century.
Artículo “Border Studies: An Annotated List of Cultural and Academic Web Sources” (María Dueñas Vinuesa)
Artículo “Versión estadunidense de la teoría de frontera: una crítica” (P Vila)
Américo Paredes Archival Papers
Texas Archival Resources Online's collection of Américo Paredes' papers.
Américo Paredes Research Guide
UTRGV Special Collections and Archives collection of the papers of Américo Paredes.
Gloria Anzaldúa Research Guide
UTRGV Special Collections and Archives collection of the papers of Gloria Anzaldúa.

General Reference Sources

National Clearinghouse for English Language Acquisition (NCELA)
This U.S. Department of Education portal offers resources, reports, and guides on bilingual teaching and learning. It includes materials in both Spanish and English, useful for university students and educators interested in dual language education, language development, and bilingual academic writing strategies.
California Department of Education – English-Spanish Glossary for Educational Settings
A bilingual glossary of academic and administrative terms that helps students and professors better understand technical vocabulary in English and Spanish within the university context. Very useful for academic writing and translation.
NYU Metropolitan Center for Research on Equity and the Transformation of Schools – Bilingual Glossaries & Cognates
A collection of glossaries and lists of cognates in Spanish and English, organized by discipline (language, literature, history, science, etc.). Ideal for students taking courses in multiple subjects or who need to strengthen their academic vocabulary in both languages.
Colorín Colorado – Recursos bilingües / en español
A bilingual educational portal aimed at Spanish-speaking teachers and students. It offers strategies for reading, writing, reading comprehension, and academic vocabulary, with downloadable materials in both English and Spanish. Excellent for students of literature or bilingual composition.
Watermark Insights – “How Higher Ed Institutions Can Support Spanish-Speaking Students”
Institutional guide with recommendations for universities seeking to better serve bilingual or Spanish-speaking students. It analyzes pedagogical practices, support resources, advising services, and retention strategies.

Databases

UTRGV Databases

Gale OneFile: Informe Académico
Search across full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines from and about Latin America. The user interface interface can be changed to Spanish at the top of the page.
Latin American Women Writers
Latin American Women Writers brings together "the most important writers from 19 countries, as well as the works of the principal feminists, in one single collection [including] ... literary works, memoirs, feminist essays, and other materials" from the colonial period to the present.
HAPI
HAPI Hispanic American Periodical Index (HAPI) "is your source for over 265,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States." The user interface interface can be changed to Spanish at the top of the page.
Ethnic Newswatch
Ethnic Newswatch contains the full text of newspapers, magazines and journals of ethnic, minority and native publications.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a full image database of back issues of scholarly journals. It has many Spanish language journals in business and economics related fields. To search within these journals, go to 'Advanced Search' and choose 'Spanish' under language.

Open Access Databases

Latindex
Regional Online Information System for Scholarly Journals from Latin America,
the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal
Redalyc – sistema de revistas científicas
Platform of open-access Latin American academic journals; you can filter by "literature," "composition," "rhetoric," and "writing" to find many publications.
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)
General directory of open access academic journals; you can filter by "composition," "rhetoric," and "writing" in Spanish to find more specialized publications.

Journals

Bilingual Review/Revista Bilingüe
An open-access, peer-reviewed journal dedicated to topics in bilingual and multilingual education, bilingual teacher training, and research in Spanish and English. Ideal for researchers and professors who wish to integrate studies on bilingualism, linguistic identities, and language policies in the bilingual university context.
Insights on Bilingual Education
Open access journal that publishes research on bilingual and multilingual education; free access, use of Spanish/English. It can be used to find up-to-date articles discussing pedagogical strategies, bilingual university contexts, and challenges of bilingual teaching.
Comunicar
An open-access Ibero-American scientific journal on communication and education, available in Spanish and English – useful for topics such as teaching, educational media, and bilingual academic writing. It can support university professors looking for pedagogical strategies, bilingual academic writing resources, and the integration of media and technology in bilingual classrooms.
Cuadernos de Lingüística de El Colegio de México
An open-access journal that publishes articles in Spanish and English on general linguistics, bilingualism, language policy, etc. A valuable resource for teachers who want theoretical support for designing bilingual courses (applied linguistics, bilingual academic writing, language policies).

Literature

Revista de Literatura (CSIC, Spain)
An open-access electronic journal dedicated to Hispanic literature.
Literatura Mexicana (UNAM, Mexico)
A biannual, open-access journal that publishes articles, notes, and reviews on Mexican literary culture in Spanish, English, or French
Revista Escritura Creativa (acceso abierto)
Digital publication featuring articles, essays, and reflections on creative writing (and also issues of style/literary theory). It operates under open access policies.

Linguistics

Cuadernos de Lingüística de El Colegio de México
A general linguistics journal with open access, publishing in Spanish and English, under a Creative Commons license.
Estudios de Lingüística Aplicada (ELA, UNAM)
A biannual, open-access journal that includes topics such as bilingualism, pedagogical grammar, ICT, and other areas of linguistics/pedagogy.
Revista Española de Lingüística
A general scientific journal in linguistics open to international researchers. (Part of its content is accessible; it is advisable to check each issue).
Lexis (PUCP, Perú)
Free, open-access journal that accepts articles in linguistics, literary theory, and Hispanic studies.

Composition / Rhetoric / Academic Writing

Revista Latinoamericana de Estudios de la Escritura (RLEE)
International, biannual, open-access, multilingual journal. It publishes research on writing in Spanish, English, or Portuguese, in educational, professional, and other contexts.
“Aportaciones de la retórica a la escritura creativa” (Arbor, CSIC)
Article available for download that connects rhetoric and creative writing from an educational perspective.
AmeliCA – Escrita / Escritura Creativa
Portals of Latin American open-access academic journals; includes publications on writing, education, and texts. (Creative Writing Journal is included).

Creative Writing

Revista Escritura Creativa
Revista digital abierta que publica trabajos relacionados con escritura literaria, teoría, talleres, estilo.
Revista Escritura Creativa – repositorio AmeliCA
Version of the journal available on the AmeliCA platform.
"Aportaciones de la retórica a la escritura creativa” (Arbor, CSIC)
Also relevant to creative writing from a rhetorical/educational perspective; available for download.

Books

Borderlands/la Frontera, Third Edition by Gloria Anzaldúa
ISBN: 1879960745

Publication Date: 2007-06-01

Rooted in Gloria Anzald's experience as a Chicana, a lesbian, an activist, and a writer, the groundbreaking essays and poems in this volume profoundly challenged how we think about identity. Borderlands/La Frontera remapped our understanding of what a "border" is, seeing it not as a simple divide between here and there, us and them, but as a psychic, social, and cultural terrain that we inhabit, and that inhabits all of us.
Border Matters by José David Saldívar; José David Saldívar
ISBN: 0520206819

Publication Date: 1997-12-01

Border Matters locates the study of Chicano culture in a broad social context. José Saldívar examines issues of representation and expression in a diverse, exciting assortment of texts--corridos, novels, poems, short stories, punk and hip-hop music, ethnography, paintings, performance, art, and essays. Saldívar provides a sophisticated model for a new kind of U.S. cultural studies, one that challenges the homogeneity of U.S. nationalism and popular culture by foregrounding the contemporary experiences and historical circumstances facing Chicanos and Chicanas.
Escritura Creativa e Imaginación Literaria. de la Práctica a la Teoría by Vicente Luis Mora and Carlos Peinado Elliot
ISBN: 8411700232

Este es uno de los primeros libros de investigación en escritura creativa publicados en España. Su propósito es ofrecer, por un lado, un compendio de visiones que van desde la teoría de la escritura literaria a la práctica, y, por el otro, una suma de perspectivas que recorren el camino inverso: planteadas desde el ejercicio creativo, se dirigen hacia una teorización de sus procedimientos.
Nine Centuries of Spanish Literature by Seymour Resnick; Jeanne Pasmantier
ISBN: 0486282716

Publication Date: 1994-10-20

This rich sampling of Spanish poetry, prose, and drama includes more than seventy selections from the works of more than forty writers, from the anonymous author of the great medieval epic The Poem of the Cid to such 20th-century masters as Miguel de Unamuno. The original Spanish text of each work appears with an excellent English translation on the facing page.
A History of Mexican Literature by Anna Nogar (Editor); José Ramón Ruisánchez Serra (Editor); Ignacio M. Sänchez Prado (Editor)
ISBN: 9781107099807

Publication Date: 2016-06-24

A History of Mexican Literature chronicles a story more than five hundred years in the making, looking at the development of literary culture in Mexico from its indigenous beginnings to the twenty-first century. Featuring a comprehensive introduction that charts the development of a complex canon, this History includes extensive essays that illuminate the cultural and political intricacies of Mexican literature.
The Shattered Mirror by María Elena de Valdés; María Elena de Valdés
ISBN: 0292715900

Publication Date: 1998-03-01

Popular images of women in Mexico--conveyed through literature and, more recently, film and television--were long restricted to either the stereotypically submissive wife and mother or the demonized fallen woman. But new representations of women and their roles in Mexican society have shattered the ideological mirrors that reflected these images. This book explores this major change in the literary representation of women in Mexico.
Latin American Narratives and Cultural Identity by Irene Maria F. Blayer (Editor); Mark Anderson (Editor)
ISBN: 0820463205

Publication Date: 2003-11-18

This book presents a selection of fourteen provocative and unique essays bringing together the views of exciting new scholarship on narratives and cultural identity in Latin America. In so doing, it balances theory, methodology, and description.
George Washington Gómez by Americo Parédes
ISBN: 1558850120

Publication Date: 1990-01-01

Fiction. "An absorbing, heart-rending story told with sensitivity and wisdom.this book deserves a wide readership not only for its artistry but also for its subject matter" -Beaumont Enterprise.
The Borderlands of Culture by Ramón Saldívar; Donald E. Pease (Series edited by)
ISBN: 0822337894

Publication Date: 2006-04-04

Poet, novelist, journalist, and ethnographer, Américo Paredes (1915-1999) was a pioneering figure in Mexican American border studies and a founder of Chicano studies. Paredes taught literature and anthropology at the University of Texas, Austin for decades, and his ethnographic and literary critical work laid the groundwork for subsequent scholarship on the folktales, legends, and riddles of Mexican Americans. In this beautifully written literary history, the distinguished scholar Ramón Saldívar establishes Paredes's preeminent place in writing the contested cultural history of the south Texas borderlands.

Websites

Libros OA (UNAM)
UNAM's open access book repository; it contains a good number of titles in literature.
UTRGV Literatures and Cultural Studies Faculty Publications and Presentations
UTRGV Creative Writing Department Books
Creative Writing Department Alumni Books & Accomplishments

General Tips: Finding more B3 Business Resources

With the UTRGV Library Catalog, as well as most databases, search results can be filtered by language, making it quick and easy to locate Spanish-language content.

For some databases (HAPI, Informe Académico), the user interface can be presented in various languages, including Spanish. This feature may be available within the database's user settings or via a "languages" option at the top-right of the resource's main page.

Generally, searches conducted in library catalogs and academic databases retrieve the same results for terms and names containing accents/other diacritics, whether the accents are included in the search or not (for example, a search for "Mexico" will produce the same results as "México"). However, some search engines will yield differing results when an accent or diacritic is present vs. not. It may be worth using both variants if exhaustive search results are needed.