LibGuides: Foundations of Medicine (MEDI 8000): Evidence-Based Medicine

Key Resources

Clinical Epidemiology by Grant S. Fletcher
ISBN: 9781975109554
Publication Date: 2020-03-06

JAMAevidence This link opens in a new window
JAMAevidence provides Evidence based medical care ebooks, guides, calculators, glossary, and more.

Khan Academy Statistics and Probability
GettheDiagnosis.org
"GetTheDiagnosis is a collaborative database for health professionals to share knowledge on the sensitivity and specificity of history questions, physical exam findings, and lab and imaging tests. You can use it to look up sensitivity and specificity, or submit an entry of your own from the literature!"
Rice Virtual Lab in Statistics

Basic & Clinical Biostatistics: Fifth Edition by Susan White
ISBN: 9781260455366
Publication Date: 2019-10-04
Format: Available online.
High-Yield Biostatistics, Epidemiology, & Public Health by Anthony N. Glaser
Call Number: WA 950 G548h 2014 Ramirez Library (Harlingen) and Aaronson Library (Edinburg)
ISBN: 9781451130171
Publication Date: 2013
Jekel's Epidemiology, Biostatistics, Preventive Medicine, and Public Health by Joann G. Elmore; Dorothea Wild; David L. Katz; Heidi D. Nelson
Call Number: Available online.
ISBN: 0323642012
Publication Date: 2020-01-29

Formulating Answerable Clinical Questions
Step-by-step introduction to using the PICO framework (Patient, Intervention, Comparator, Outcome) for developing clinical questions.
How to Use the PICO Method to Form a Clinical Question [Video]

Cochrane Library
A collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is the leading resource for systematic reviews in health care. The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) is a highly concentrated source of reports of randomized-controlled trials.
Guideline Central
Free access to thousands of current clinical practice guidelines and guideline summaries.
Prevention TaskForce (formerly AHRQ ePSS)
"The Prevention TaskForce (formerly ePSS) application assists primary care clinicians to identify the screening, counseling, and preventive medication services that are appropriate for their patients."
PubMed Clinical Queries
A PubMed searching feature that allows users to easily limit searches to specific clinical study categories including etiology, diagnosis, therapy, prognosis, clinical prediction guides, and systematic reviews.
Trip Database
A clinical search engine designed to allow users to find high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
UpToDate
A clinical decision support tool combining the evidence with expert opinion and designed to be useful at the point-of-care. Can be accessed via the web or downloaded as an app for smartphones and tablets.

Critical Appraisal Skills Programme (CASP) Checklists
A set of 8 checklists for appraising systematic reviews, randomized-controlled trials, cohort studies, case control studies, and more.

How to Read a Paper by Trisha Greenhalgh The best-selling introduction to evidence-based medicine In a clear and engaging style, How to Read a Paper demystifies evidence-based medicine and explains how to critically appraise published research and also put the findings into practice. An ideal introduction to evidence-based medicine, How to Read a Paper explains what to look for in different types of papers and how best to evaluate the literature and then implement the findings in an evidence-based, patient-centred way. Helpful checklist summaries of the key points in each chapter provide a useful framework for applying the principles of evidence-based medicine in everyday practice. This fifth edition has been fully updated with new examples and references to reflect recent developments and current practice. It also includes two new chapters on applying evidence-based medicine with patients and on the common criticisms of evidence-based medicine and responses. How to Read a Paper is a standard text for medical and nursing schools as well as a friendly guide for everyone wanting to teach or learn the basics of evidence-based medicine.
Call Number: MED WB 102.5 G813h 2014
ISBN: 9781118800966
Publication Date: 2014-04-07

Video Tutorials

Calculate by QxMD
[Free app] Popular clinical calculator and decision support tool.
Diagnostic Test Calculator
Likelihood Ratios
From the Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine (University of Oxford)
EBMcalc (TDS Health)
Collection of over 520 calculators, clinical criteria sets and decision trees. This resource can be accessed via the web in the Stat!Ref database. It is also integrated into the STAT!Ref app available to UTRGV students, faculty and staff.
Number Needed to Treat (NNT)
From the Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine (University of Oxford)
Sensitivity and Specificity (SpPin & SnNout)
From the Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine (University of Oxford)

Video Tutorials