LibGuides: Social Work: B3 Social Work Resources

Social Work - B3 Resources

RGV Social Work Resources

General Reference Sources

Diccionario internacional de Trabajo Social by Ander Egg, Ezequiel
Call Number: HV12.A53 2014

ISBN: 9875916757

Publication Date: 2014-01-01

This dictionary identifies the most important terms to know and understand the work of social intervention professionals in their different fields. In addition, terms, concepts and theories from related disciplines such as anthropology, law, psychology, etc., have been incorporated, and always applies to social work.
Diccionario internacional de trabajo social en el ámbito socio-jurídico. by Krmpotic, Claudia Sandra.
Call Number: HV40.B485 2017

ISBN: 8416281025

Publication Date: 2017-01-01

This book condenses valuable contributions from colleagues from Latin America, the Caribbean and Europe. Through a dialogue between different perspectives and experiences, it enables the collective construction of knowledge that enriches the ways of thinking and doing Social Work in the socio-legal field.
Diccionario internacional de Trabajo Social y Servicios Sociales by Lucas y Murillo de la Cueva, Fernando de. Arias Astray, Andres.
Call Number: HV12.D545 2010

ISBN: 8492613327

Publication Date: 2010-07-01

This dictionary aims to collect the most common voices in the field of social work and social services through the confluence of teachers and professionals from EU and non-EU member countries.
Nuevo diccionario para el análisis e intervención social en infancia y adolescencia by Solís de Ovando Segovia, René, director.; Canales Rodríguez, José Miguel, coordinador.
Call Number: HV1421.N964 2021

ISBN: 8413776503

Publication Date: 2021-01-01

In this NEW DICTIONARY FOR SOCIAL ANALYSIS AND INTERVENTION WITH CHILDREN AND ADOLESCENTS, definitions (and explanatory articles) have been compiled on more than 250 concepts commonly used by psychology, the judiciary, social work, social pediatrics and, in general, by all the disciplines that deal with children and adolescents.

Databases and Archives

Library Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL Plus with Full Text indexes over 3000 nursing, allied health, and related journals, including full text for over 330 journals, as far back as 1937. To access language options to locate Spanish language materials select the Advanced Search link.
HAPI
Considered a primary database for Hispanic research, indexing scholarly articles from journals focused on Latin America, the Caribbean, and US Latinos, particularly in the humanities and social sciences. Search results can also be filtered by language. Searches in HAPI can be conducted in English, Spanish, or Portuguese. To limit by a specific language select Advanced Search.
JSTOR
A comprehensive database with extensive access to scholarly articles across various fields, including Latin American studies, allowing for deep research on Hispanic topics. The database is available in both English and Spanish languages. To limit by a specific language select Advanced Search.
PRISMA
Another database specifically designed for Latin American social science and humanities research. Search results can easily be filtered by Subject and Document Type. To limit to Spanish you can use the Advanced Search option and select the language.
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text has millions of citations and articles, from thousands of journals (some going back to 1895), plus conference papers, books, and other items in both Spanish and English languages. To limit by Spanish you can use the Advanced Search option and select the language.

Archives and Collections

Redalyc
Redalyc is an indexing system that contains open access journals of scientific and editorial quality from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain, and Portugal.
Red de Repositorios Latinoamericanos/ Universidad de Chile
This portal allows you to browse through institutions, countries, and discover the new publications available: books, theses, articles, among others.
SciELO
A large open-access database primarily focused on Latin American academic journals, providing a valuable resource for research in the region.

Journals

International Social Work
A scholarly peer reviewed journal designed to extend knowledge and promote communication in the fields of social development, The International Social Work Journal concentrates a major focus on international themes in the delivery of services.
Journal of Ethnic & Cultural Diversity in Social Work
This journal assists readers in expanding their knowledge and fostering comprehension of how culture, race, ethnicity, and class affect how human services are delivered to individuals, groups, organizations, and communities.
Journal of Latin American Studies
Publishes articles on Latin American culture and on theoretical and historical approaches to cultural production in Latin America, including Caribbean, Latino/a and other diasporic, trans-regional formations. Multidisciplinary work focusing on literature, film, visual arts, and music, as well as anthropology, gender and queer studies, communication, history and memory studies, and other areas of analysis. Can be accessed through the following UTRGV databases: Taylor & Francis.
Journal of Social Work
Journal of Social Work is dedicated to improving practice and advancing knowledge in social work and social welfare. Its articles yield new insights into established practices, evaluate new techniques and research, examine current social problems, and bring serious critical analysis to bear on problems in the profession. The journal is available in both Spanish and English languages.
Journal of Social Work Practice (Online)
This journal database collection aims to support and enliven practitioners and academics alike through deep and thoughtful exploration of matters relevant to contemporary practice. As the title suggests, social work is the prime focus.
Journal of Spanish Cultural Studies
This online journal database covers all areas of Spanish studies comprised by the Spanish studies, covering music, film, religion, and popular and mass culture.
Latin American Perspectives
This journal offers a vital multidisciplinary view of the powerful forces impacting the lives of people across the Americas in the timely analysis of critical issues, social movements, and political variables.

Books

Asset Assessments and Community Social Work Practice by Melvin Delgado; Denise Humm-Delgado
Call Number: HV40.D4393 2013

ISBN: 9780199735846

Publication Date: 2013-01-18

The sections related in this book covers definitions and related theories of community asset assessments related to social work, frameworks, methods, case analyses, reflections from practice, and discussions about challenges.
Chicago Latina Trailblazers by Rita D. Hernández (Editor); Leticia Villarreal Sosa (Editor); Elena R. Gutiérrez (Editor)
Call Number: F548.54.D35 C63 2024

ISBN: 9780252046087

Publication Date: 2024-09-10

An eyewitness view of an unknown history, Chicago Latina Trailblazers reveals the vision and passion that fueled a group of women in the vanguard of reform.
Cross-Cultural Practice 2E by Karen M. Harper-Dorton; Jim Lantz
Call Number: HV3176.H37 2007

ISBN: 9780925065766

Publication Date: 2006-01-01

Building on the existential concepts of Victor Frankl, the text provides a framework for helping families and individuals discover meaning and meaning opportunities in daily living.
Latin American Social Work in the Justice System by Claudia Reyes-Quilodrán (Editor); Rajendra Baikady (Editor)
Call Number: HV110.5 2023

ISBN: 9783031282201

Publication Date: 2023-06-29

Latin American Social Work in the Justice System is essential reading for students, researchers, academicians, policymakers, and practitioners who are interested in international social work with a special focus on Latin American countries and legal culture.
Latino Small Businesses and the American Dream by Melvin Delgado
Call Number: HD62.7.D455 2011

ISBN: 9780231150880

Publication Date: 2011-10-04

Reviewing the latest research on formal and informal economies within urban communities of color, Melvin Delgado lays out the demographic foundations for a richer collaboration between theory and practice.
Social Work with Latinos by Melvin Delgado
Call Number: HV3187.A2 D444 2007

ISBN: 0195301188

Publication Date: 2006-09-07

Beginning with a thorough demographic profile of Latinos in the United States today, Melvin Delgado introduces students to key issues that they must grasp as social workers if they are to provide effective interventions to increasingly heterogeneous group.

Professional Organizations

General Tips: Finding More B3 Social Work Resources

With the UTRGV Library Catalog, as well as most databases, search results can be filtered by language, making it quick and easy to locate Spanish-language content.

For some databases (such as CINAHL Plus with Full Text, JSTOR, and Social Work Abstracts), the user interface can be presented in various languages, including Spanish. This feature may be available within the database's user settings or via a "languages" option at the top-right of the resource's main page.

Below are some suggested keyword searches and subject searches to find more B3 History content using UTRGV's Library Catalog (click on the links below to see search results).

Keyword Suggestions:
Servicios de Orientación
Sesión de Terapia
Terapia
Terapia Cognitiva
Terapia Física
Trabajador Social

Subject Suggestions:
Terapia
Terapia cognitiva
Terapia física
Terapia intensiva -- Ninos
Trabajadores sociales
Trabajo social

For any of these sample catalog searches, results can be limited to feature specific formats, including books, documents, journals, and media.

Generally, searches conducted in library catalogs and academic databases retrieve the same results for terms and names containing accents/other diacritics, whether the accents are included in the search or not (for example, a search for "Mexico" will produce the same results as "México"). However, some search engines will yield differing results when an accent or diacritic is present vs. not. It may be worth using both variants if exhaustive search results are needed.

Though not primarily focused on B3 content, general social work/psychology resources like PsycARTICLES, or SAGE Online (among others) do contain some B3 materials, as well.