LibGuides: Public Administration: B3 Public Administration Resources (Under Construction)

Public Administration - B3 Resources

Border Sites

Borders, Trade, and Immigration Institute (University of Houston)
Through a multi-disciplinary team of national and international experts, the Institute delivers transformational technology-driven solutions, data-informed policies, workforce development opportunities for today’s Homeland Security Enterprise, and trans-disciplinary education for the next generation of homeland security experts.
Center for Border Economic Studies (Robert C. Vackar College of Business and Entrepreneurship – University of Texas Rio Grande Valley)
The Center for Border Economic Studies (CBEST) is a public policy research unit dedicated to the study of problems and issues unique to the U.S./Mexico border economy and North Tamaulipas. CBEST conducts interdisciplinary research that supports economic development, trade, entrepreneurship, innovation, social mobility, and access. Among its technical reports, the Center publishes the Border Business Brief (BBB), a newsletter on economic indicators and forecasts of the Rio Grande Valley, South Texas, and North Tamaulipas. CBEST has strategic partnerships with private sectors, foundations, government agencies, research scholars, and non-profits to fulfill its mission.
Center for Inter-American and Border Studies (College of Liberal Arts – University of Texas El Paso)
The Center is a focus for UTEP activities concerning Borders, Latin America, and the Caribbean. While an emphasis on our local region is interwoven through most UTEP activities, CIBS creates a central point of leadership and support for other units in academic programs, research, and outreach activities.
Center for the U.S. and Mexico (Baker Institute – Rice University)
The Center for the United States and Mexico seeks to have a meaningful impact on the U.S.-Mexico relationship through original research, relevant solutions to binational policy issues, and the advancement of mutual understanding by convening leaders who can bridge the world of ideas and the world of action. The center’s research agenda focuses primarily on the following issues of concern to the United States and Mexico: Trade and economic integration, Immigration, Rule of law, Security and organized crime, The U.S.-Mexico border, and Politics and democracy in Mexico.
Center for U.S.-Mexican Studies (USMEX – UC San Diego)
The USMEX based at the UC San Diego School of Global Policy and Strategy (GPS), was founded in 1980 to study Mexico and the full range of issues affecting economic, social and political relations between Mexico and the U.S. Spearheading the university’s engagement with Mexico, USMEX is a go-to source for rigorous academic research that can be applied to the creation, implementation and evaluation of public policy. The center is privileged with the unique opportunity to engage in research on Mexico, Mexicans in the U.S., and the U.S.-Mexico relationship from its location on the border.
El Colegio de la Frontera Norte (El Colef – The College of the Northern Border)
El Colef is committed to high-level research and teaching aimed at generating scientific knowledge about regional phenomena concerning the Mexico-USA border. Its mission also includes training high-level human resources and fostering institutional links to contribute to the region's development.
El Colegio de la Frontera Sur (ECOSUR – The College of the Southern Border)
ECOSUR is a public center of scientific research focused at contributing to the sustainable development of the southern border of Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean through the generation of knowledge, training of human resources, and institutional links from the social and natural sciences.
El Colegio de Sonora (El Colson – The College of Sonora)
This organization is a specialized community in the social sciences and humanities, dedicated to exceptional research, teaching, and establishing connections that propose solutions to public social issues while leading in the northwestern region of Mexico.
Texas Center for Border Economic and Enterprise Development (Texas A&M International University)
Since 1989 the Texas Center for Border Economic and Enterprise Development of Texas A&M International University, provides leadership and support to Texas border communities in their socio-economic development efforts, including activities in the areas of business, education, health care, public administration, and the environment. Mission. Provide support to private and public entities with research, knowledge, information, assistance and expertise in border and binational socio-economic development efforts.

Mexican Government Sites

Datos Abiertos – Open Data
A federal governmental tool that provides data about diverse topics: health, environment, economics, tourism, among others.
Diario Oficial de la Federacion – Official Journal of the Federation
Official journal of the Mexican government. Contains materials related to the executive, legislative, and judicial branches of the federal government of the Republic of Mexico.
Instituto Nacional Electorial (INE) – National Electoral Institute
INE’s main responsibility is organizing, supervising, and overseeing elections at the federal, state, and municipal levels. Its goal is to ensure democracy and political stability by guaranteeing electoral transparency, legitimacy, and legality.
Presidencia de Mexico – Presidency of Mexico
Website with information related to activities, press conferences and historical information from Mexico’s president.

Mexican States’ Congress Websites PDF
These sites have access to information on enacted state constitutions, laws, rules, and norms. Researchers can locate law and rule bills.
Mexican States’ Electoral Institutes Websites PDF
These resources contain electoral processes data from States, Municipalities, and Local Legislators. You can also locate information on political parties as well as historical information related to state elections.
Mexican States’ Official Websites PDF
PDF with websites from different Mexican States’ includes information on programs/policies, governmental structure, agencies/secretaries, statistics, government reports, state development plans, government procedures/services, and finance/budget data.

U.S. Government Sites

Arizona State Legislature
Government website of the Arizona State Legislature. The resource has access to bills, committee information, and other legislative data.
California Legislative Information
Government website of the California State Legislature. The resource has access to bills, committee information, and other legislative data.
New Mexico Legislature
Government website of the New Mexico Legislature. Contains bills, information on committees, publications, and other legislative information.
Texas Legislature Online
Government website of the Texas Legislature. Contains bills, information on committees and other legislative information.
USAGov en español
Government website of the USA in Spanish. Contains links to governmental websites and areas to get assistance.

Federal & Southern Border States Websites
PDF with websites for U.S. Federal and Southern Border States Websites. This includes information on legislation, governmental structure, agencies, and finance/budget data as well as other public affairs information.

Databases

Emerald
Emerald provides full text articles from journals in the field of public administration. To find materials dealing with public affairs and bilingual issues you can search for individual languages or use the terms bilingualist, linguist, polyglot, etc...
HAPI
HAPI Hispanic American Periodical Index (HAPI) "is your source for over 265,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States." This includes materials on public administration and affairs. To locate materials dealing with these topics you can use public administration, affairs, policy, etc... The database has many materials in Spanish and you can use the advanced search to limit by that language.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a full image database of back issues of scholarly journals which does include articles dealing with public administration, affairs, and policy. Users can limit searches by using the Advanced Search option and then scrolling down to refine by language as well as discipline. Searchers should use the Political Science and Public Administration limiters to find materials in those subjects.
PRISMA
PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanisticas) "is a comprehensive reference resource providing full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin." This does include materials dealing with public administration, affairs, and policy. To limit to Spanish you can use the Advanced Search option and select the language.

Journals

Estudios Demograficos y Urbanos (Urban and Demography Studies – El Colegio de Mexico)
This academic journal is dedicated to analyzing and reflecting on population, urban, and environmental issues in Latin America. Since its creation in 1986, the publication has served as an important forum for discussion in its areas of specialization, viewed from a social science perspective, with a focus on Mexico. It is published continuously and is available in open access in PDF, HTML, audio, Kindle, and EPUB formats. The journal’s articles undergo a double-blind review by at least two peers. Its predecessor is the journal Demografía y Economía, founded in 1967.
Estudios Fronterizos (REF Universidad Autonoma de Baja California)
Estudios Fronterizos (REF) is a peer-reviewed, open-access, continuous journal featuring rolling content. Its purpose is to serve as a space for debate and dissemination of knowledge generated on borders in general, international borders, border regions, and cross-border phenomena worldwide. The REF publishes original articles presenting research results, theoretical analyses, or methodological proposals for border studies. Given the multidisciplinary nature of border studies, articles with disciplinary or interdisciplinary approaches from sociology, anthropology, history, geography, economics, demography, political science, and international relations are welcomed.
Frontera Norte (North Border – El Colegio de la Fronter Norte)
Frontera Norte is a bilingual scientific research journal that operates as a peer-reviewed, edited ongoing publication from El Colegio de la Frontera Norte, available in digital and open access formats. It aims to disseminate research related to the following topics: a) international migrations and transboundary/transnational mobilities; b) identities, heritage, and cultural policies; c) violence, public security, and human rights; d) global change, natural resources, and territory; e) innovation, technological change, productive organization, and work; f) public policy, governance, and development in border regions; g) health and population; h) employment and occupations; and i) economy, integration, and economic development.
Norteamerica (Centro Investigaciones sobre America del Norte, Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico)
Norteamérica is a semiannual peer-reviewed journal that publishes multi and interdisciplinary academic studies about the North America region (Mexico, United States and Canada) which consider the region itself as an object of study, along with its evolution, its individual processes and internal dynamics. An analysis of the reality of each of the three nations is thematically linked with the rest of the region.
Region y Sociedad (El Colegio de Sonora – Region and Society)
It is a scientific journal aimed at scholars in the social sciences and humanities. Its objective is to publish original research articles with a regional focus, emphasizing the analysis of Mexico and Latin America on topics such as development, the environment, politics, gender, and health. The journal utilizes disciplinary or interdisciplinary approaches related to the social sciences, applying both quantitative and qualitative methodologies.
Sociedad y Ambiente (El Colegio de la Frontera Sur)
It seeks to enhance understanding of socio-environmental issues connected to the impact of human activities on the natural environment, along with the effects of environmental changes on social and cultural development, whether viewed from historical, contemporary, or prospective perspectives.

CONfines (Tecnologico de Monterrey)
It is a digital journal published semiannually, open-access, that focuses on research and critical theory in the social sciences, particularly in political science and international relations.
Convergencia. Revista de Ciencias Sociales (Universidad Autonoma del Estado de Mexico)
Publishes articles resulting from scientific research regarding analyses or controversies on contemporary theories, social facts, current discussions, and case studies that enrich and provide a new theoretical approach to various disciplines in the social sciences, particularly to communication sciences, political science, public administration, and sociology.
Espacios Publicos (Facultad de Ciencias Politicas y Sociales de la Universidad Autonoma del Estado de Mexico)
It is published by the Faculty of Political and Social Sciences at UAEMEX and has been edited annually since 1998. As of 2022, it aims to disseminate the most relevant information in social sciences, focusing on sociology, political science, public administration, communication sciences, and anthropology. The journal comprises specific themes: Public Policies and Government, Contemporary Society, Communication Processes and Networks, and Citizenship and Territory.
Estudios Politicos (Universidad Autonoma de Mexico)
It addresses a wide diversity of political science topics, becoming a critical ponder space and specialized dissemination. The journal ensures the quality of its publications by selecting the articles chosen by the Editorial Board.
Foro Internacional (El Colegio de Mexico)
Foro Internacional is a peer-reviewed journal published by the Center for International Studies at El Colegio de México. Founded in 1960 by Daniel Cosío Villegas, the journal publishes academic work in the fields of international relations, comparative politics, Mexican politics, public administration, and political theory. Foro Internacional welcomes rigorous research employing diverse disciplinary and methodological approaches.
Gestion y Politica Publica (Centro de Investigacion y Docencia Economicas CIDE) – Management and Public Policy
Gestión y Política Pública is a biannual academic journal published by the Public Administration Division of the Center for Economic Research and Teaching (CIDE). It aims to provide a platform for academic discussion to disseminate theoretical approaches, empirical research findings, and management experiences in the realm of public policy and the administration of government organizations. The journal seeks to address the pressing contemporary issue of state reform. In this regard, it aspires to engage both scholars of government management and public policymakers in Mexico and beyond.
Perfiles Latinoamericanos (Facultad Latinoamericana de Ciencias Sociales FLACSO)
It aims to disseminate original social science research in the fields of political science, sociology, public policy, international relations, public administration, and anthropology that study the region or cases within it.
Politica y Gobierno (CIDE Centro de Investigacion y Docencia Economicas – Politics and Government)
Since 1994, Politica y Gobierno has been a platform for disseminating and critiquing high-quality academic work on the most relevant political issues in current Mexican and Latin American affairs. The journal is situated within the field of comparative politics.
Revista Mexicana de Ciencias Politicas y Sociales (Mexican Journal of Political and Social Sciences - UNAM)
It addresses topics in the social sciences and its disciplines, including sociology, political science, international relations, public administration, anthropology, and communication sciences. Moreover, it draws on specialized disciplines and their convergence, such as political theory, social theory, political communication, public opinion, management and public policies, society and the State, international actors, globalization processes, social anthropology, political anthropology, and anthropological linguistics, among others.
Revista Mexicana de Opinion Publica (Mexican Journal of Public Opinion)
Published since 2006, the Revista Mexicana de Opinión Pública  (RMOP) targets both Mexican and foreign researchers interested in presenting articles that pose research questions and relevant findings in the fields of public opinion, electoral behavior, and political communication. The RMOP has embarked on a new phase that prioritizes works generating valid causal inferences based on robust methodological designs and solid empirical evidence.

Estudios Sociologicos (Sociologic Studies – El Colegio de Mexico)
It is a scientific digital journal dedicated to publishing empirical research and theoretical contributions in sociology and related disciplines following a double-blind peer-review process. Since 1983, our mission has been to present the highest quality research results, emphasizing the Latin American region while maintaining a global perspective. As of 2024, Estudios Sociológicos has transitioned to a continuous publication model to ensure the efficient dissemination of scientific research in the field of Social Sciences.
Intersticios Sociales (El Colegio de Jalisco)
Edited by El Colegio de Jalisco, this publication aims to disseminate unpublished research articles in the social sciences and humanities, covering sociology, history, anthropology, law, political science, philosophy, geography, literary studies, and related disciplines.
Mexican Studies / Estudios Mexicanos (University of California Press)
Mexican Studies/Estudios Mexicanos is a bilingual, international scholarly journal dedicated to providing a unique and essential forum for the dissemination of cutting-edge research relating to Mexico, broadly defined. Analyzing cultural, historical, political, social, economic, artistic, and scientific factors, and engaging a range of disciplinary frameworks, fields, and approaches, articles contribute to understanding and knowledge of contemporary and historical issues.
Polis (Universidad Autonoma Metropolitana, Iztapalapa)
It publishes scientific research articles in the fields of Sociology, Social Psychology, Political Science, and Human Geography. It welcomes investigations that contribute to theoretical reflection, encouraging dialogic and reflective discussions on topics related to social studies, particularly in Mexico, Latin America, and the Caribbean.
Politca y Cultura (Universidad Autonoma Metropolitana, Unidad Xochimilco)
It is a research publication in social sciences and humanities, aiming to publish original, high-quality articles in these fields. It emphasizes the analysis of current and historical social realities across various disciplinary and interdisciplinary approaches aspects. The journal is edited by the Department of Politics and Culture of the Division of Social Sciences and Humanities of the UAM, Xochimilco.
Revista de El Colegio de San Luis (El Colegio de San Luis)
It aims to create a dialogue between human beings and their society through anthropological and historical research publications; with their social and natural environments, through studies on policy, water, and society; and to understand cultural manifestations through literary studies.

Collections

Academia Mexicana de Ciencias (AMC - Mexican Academy of Sciences)
The AMC is an independent non-profit civil organization made up of scientists with distinguished academic careers across various fields, including the exact sciences, natural sciences, social sciences, humanities, and engineering, who work in diverse institutions both nationally and internationally.
Altexto – Red de Editoriales Universitarias y Academicas de Mexico
Altexto surged in 2006 as a working web integrated by representatives from universities belonging to the National Association of Universities and Superior Education Institutes in Mexico (ANUIES) that had some editorial dependency. In 2020, it became a non-profit association integrated with more than 50 editorials from all over the country.
Altexto – Red de Editoriales Universitarias y Academicas de Mexico - Books
Open access catalogue for Altexto. This non-profit association made up of more than fifty higher education institutions across the country has created this resources to give access to Spanish Language political science books.
Comision Economica para America Latina Publicaciones
Publications of the ECLAC outline the economic and governance going on in Latin America and the Caribbean. These Spanish language materials include extensive information on Mexico.
El Colegio de Mexico (El Colmex - The College of Mexico)
El Colmex is a public institution, with a university character, aimed at research and teaching at graduate and undergraduate levels on social sciences and humanities. Contains collections in social science materials.
El Colegio de Mexico (El Colmex - The College of Mexico) - Books
El Colmex is a public institution, with a university character, aimed at research and teaching at graduate and undergraduate levels on social sciences and humanities. This collections includes books dealing with humanities.
Estudios sobre America Latina y el Caribe (El Colmex)
It is a database that collects academic activities from the social science and humanities made by El Colmex about topics related to Latin America and the Caribbean. This non-profit project is organized around two axes: (a) Presentation of activities according to their type: books, scientific articles, thesis, academic events, and videos; (b) Activities classification on five topics: History, Language and Literature, Policy, Political Parties and Institutions, International Relations, Society and Economics, and Violence and Human Rights.
FLACSO Mexico (Facultad Latinoamericana de Ciencias Sociales – Latin American Faculty of Social Sciences)
FLACSO Mexico aims to provide resources for both general and specialized audiences, fostering high-quality research and original content grounded in theoretical diversity and methodological contributions to the development and professionalization of the social sciences. This includes the study of key topics that shape academic and public agendas in Latin America and the Caribbean.
Libros UNAM (Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico)
Libros UNAM Open Access is a digital platform that includes a catalog of electronic books published and distributed for free by academic entities and university departments.
Redalyc (Red de revistas cientificas de Acceso Abierto – Network of Open access scientific journals)
Redalyc is an indexing system that is incorporated by regional high-quality scientific journals and editorials. After 16 years of providing visibility and supporting the consolidation of journals, it now exclusively integrates those that share the non-profit publishing model to preserve the academic and open nature of scientific communication, regardless of the region.

Websites

Center for Global Democracy (Vanderbilt University)
The organization is dedicated to advancing rigorous scientific research to deepen the understanding of how democracies emerge, function, and decline. Their core research projects, including the flagship LAPOP Lab, examine how mass publics perceive, experience, and support democratic development. The center strives to drive policy innovation to strengthen democracy and good governance globally.
Centro de Estudios Espinosa Yglesias
It is a non-profit and non-partisan association that aims to generate specialized research to shape policy guidelines and actions promoting social mobility in Mexico. The Center analyzes opportunity equity and social mobility within the country. The main research topics include economic growth, health, education, the labor market, protection and social security, and the finance sector.
Centro de Investigacion y Docencia Economicas A.C. (CIDE – Center for Research and Teaching in Economics)
It is a Mexican state institution that specializes in social sciences and is part of the System of Public Centers of the Secretary of Science, Humanities, Technology, and Innovation. Its academic personnel focus on research and teaching that meet international quality standards, aiming to influence Mexico’s social, economic, and political landscape. The research activity primarily translates into public policy options to address various issues. CIDE’s scientific production enjoys international recognition across the diverse fields of knowledge in which it is presented.
Comision Economica para America Latina (CEPAL – Economic Commission for Latin America)
ECLAC, headquartered in Santiago, Chile, is one of the five regional commissions of the United Nations. It was established to contribute to the economic development of Latin America, coordinate actions aimed at this goal and strengthen economic ties among countries and with other nations worldwide. The promotion of the region's social development was later added to its primary objectives.
Consejo Lationamericano de Ciencias Sociales (CLACSO – Latin American Council of Social Sciences)
It is an international non-governmental institution with associative status in UNESCO, created in 1967. Currently, it brings together 806 research and postgraduate centers in the field of social sciences and humanities in 51 countries in Latin America and other continents.
El Colegio de Mexico (El Colmex - The College of Mexico)
El Colmex is a public institution with a university character, dedicated to research and teaching at both the graduate and undergraduate levels in social sciences and humanities.
Estudios sobre America Latina y el Caribe (El Colmex)
It is a database that collects academic activities from the social sciences and humanities conducted by El Colmex on topics related to Latin America and the Caribbean. This non-profit project is organized around two axes: (a) Presentation of activities by type: books, scientific articles, theses, academic events, and videos; (b) Classification of activities into five topics: History, Language and Literature, Politics, Political Parties and Institutions, International Relations, Society and Economics, and Violence and Human Rights.
Seminario de Migracion, Desigualdad y Politicas Publicas (El Colmex – Seminar of Migration, Inequalities and Public Policy)
The seminar aims to understand how diverse dimensions associated with migration broaden or reduce inequalities. It analyzes emigration processes as well as the economic, social, and political processes of migrants' integration in their hometowns, transit, destination, and return. The seminar analyzes how general public policy, and specifically migratory policy, could attenuate them.
The University of Chicago – Katz Center for Mexican Studies
The Katz Center for Mexican Studies promotes original research and informed international and interdisciplinary discussion on Mexican culture, history, arts, and politics. The Katz Center supports University-based research initiatives connected with Mexico’s cultural and political life; it fosters collaborations between University scholars and students and their counterparts in Mexico; it brings Mexican intellectuals, artists, journalists, and political leaders to speak at the University; and it seeks to build bridges to and shed light on the experiences of a growing Mexican Chicago. To these ends, the Katz Center organizes a wide array of seminars, lectures, workshops, and conferences, often in partnership with Chicago’s Center for Latin American Studies; it hosts visiting scholars and professors; and it publishes books related to its international conferences.
Wilson Center: Latin American Region
The Wilson Center occupies a unique place in US foreign policy—we are congressionally chartered, scholarship driven, and fiercely nonpartisan. It is our mission to help policymakers and stakeholders make sense of global developments. We are driven to offer the insights and analysis that can inform decision-making and forge a stronger America and more secure world.
Wilson Center – Mexico Institute
The Mexico Institute seeks to improve understanding, communication, and cooperation between Mexico and the United States by promoting original research, encouraging public discussion, and proposing policy options for enhancing the bilateral relationship.

Center for Inter-American and Border Studies (College of Liberal Arts – University of Texas El Paso)
The Center is a focus for UTEP activities concerning Borders, Latin America, and the Caribbean. While an emphasis on our local region is interwoven through most UTEP activities, CIBS creates a central point of leadership and support for other units in academic programs, research, and outreach activities.
Center for the U.S. and Mexico (Baker Institute – Rice University)
The Center for the United States and Mexico seeks to have a meaningful impact on the U.S.-Mexico relationship through original research, relevant solutions to binational policy issues, and the advancement of mutual understanding by convening leaders who can bridge the world of ideas and the world of action. The center’s research agenda focuses primarily on the following issues of concern to the United States and Mexico: Trade and economic integration, Immigration, Rule of law, Security and organized crime, The U.S.-Mexico border, and Politics and democracy in Mexico.
Center for U.S.-Mexican Studies (USMEX – UC San Diego)
The USMEX based at the UC San Diego School of Global Policy and Strategy (GPS), was founded in 1980 to study Mexico and the full range of issues affecting economic, social and political relations between Mexico and the U.S. Spearheading the university’s engagement with Mexico, USMEX is a go-to source for rigorous academic research that can be applied to the creation, implementation and evaluation of public policy. The center is privileged with the unique opportunity to engage in research on Mexico, Mexicans in the U.S., and the U.S.-Mexico relationship from its location on the border.
El Colegio de la Frontera Norte (El Colef – The College of the Northern Border)
El Colef is committed to high-level research and teaching aimed at generating scientific knowledge about regional phenomena concerning the Mexico-USA border. Its mission also includes training high-level human resources and fostering institutional links to contribute to the region's development.
El Colegio de la Frontera Sur (ECOSUR – The College of the Southern Border)
ECOSUR is a public center of scientific research focused at contributing to the sustainable development of the southern border of Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean through the generation of knowledge, training of human resources, and institutional links from the social and natural sciences.
El Colegio de Sonora (El Colson – The College of Sonora)
This organization is a specialized community in the social sciences and humanities, dedicated to exceptional research, teaching, and establishing connections that propose solutions to public social issues while leading in the northwestern region of Mexico.
Texas Center for Border Economic and Enterprise Development (Texas A&M International University)
Since 1989 the Texas Center for Border Economic and Enterprise Development of Texas A&M International University, provides leadership and support to Texas border communities in their socio-economic development efforts, including activities in the areas of business, education, health care, public administration, and the environment. Mission. Provide support to private and public entities with research, knowledge, information, assistance and expertise in border and binational socio-economic development efforts.

Ethos
Ethos is a think tank dedicated to research that offers clear recommendations and concrete actions regarding public policy to tackle some of the key challenges facing Mexico's development.
Fundar Centro de Analisis e Investigacion (Fundar Research and Analysis Center)
Fundar is committed to shaping public policies and institutions by developing and sharing specialized knowledge, fostering proactive and critical reflection, promoting experimentation, and engaging with civil, social, and governmental actors.
Instituto Nacional de Administracion Publica A.C. (National Institute of Public Administration)
INAP is a non-profit laboratory dedicated to knowledge generation, capacity building, research, and promoting administrative culture in Mexico and around the world. Since its establishment, its primary objective has been to actively contribute to the improvement of public servants and Mexican society.
Latinobarometro Corporation
Latinobarómetro is an annual public opinion survey that conducts approximately 20,000 interviews across 18 Latin American countries, representing over 600 million inhabitants. It is a non-profit organization based in Santiago, Chile, solely responsible for the production and publication of the data. It examines the development of democracy, economies, and societies, utilizing indicators of opinion, attitudes, behavior, and values. Its results are leveraged by social and political actors, international organizations, governments, and the media.
Mexico Evalua (Mexico Evaluates)
ME is a center for thinking and analysis that evaluates and monitors governmental operations to enhance quality outcomes. We support the improvement of federal, state, and local public policy processes by generating and reviewing evidence and formulating recommendations.
Novagob
Novagob is a non-profit organization that originated as a spin-off of the Autonomous University of Madrid (Spain) and promotes public innovation in Ibero-America. Its headquarters are located in Madrid and Mexico City. It supports public administrations in their transformations, creates professional network organizations, fosters collaboration among public administrations, and organizes events, conferences, and seminars with public administration experts, academics, and professionals to discuss topics related to innovation and public management.
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions. Our research. We study a wide range of topics including politics and policy; news habits and media; the internet and technology; religion; race and ethnicity; international affairs; social, demographic and economic trends; science; research methodology and data science; and immigration and migration.
RAND
RAND is a research organization that develops solutions to public policy challenges to help make communities throughout the world safer and more secure, healthier and more prosperous. RAND is nonprofit, nonpartisan, and committed to the public interest.
V-Dem (Varieties of Democracy)
Varieties of Democracy (V-Dem) is a unique approach to conceptualizing and measuring democracy. V-Dem distinguishes between five high-level principles of democracy: electoral, liberal, participatory, deliberative, and egalitarian, and collects data to measure these principles.

Books

Comparative Public Administration and Policy by Jamil E. Jreisat
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0429701608
Publication Date: 2019-04-03
This third edition text sees the new diversity of approaches as healthy and invigorating. The major theme is globalization. The diversity in comparative politics over the past two decades has been reflected in prior editions of this book. This eBook is available through the UTRGV Library.
Designing Public Policies by Michael Howlett; Michael Howlett
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781032380902
Publication Date: 2023-12-22
The third edition of this highly regarded book provides a concise and accessible introduction to the principles and elements of policy design in contemporary governance. It examines in detail the range of substantive and procedural policy instruments that together comprise the toolbox from which governments choose tools to resolve policy problems and the principles and practices that lead to their use. This eBook is available through the UTRGV Library.
El análisis de las políticas públicas en México by José Luis Méndez (Editor), Mauricio I. Dussauge Laguna (Editor), Isabel Vericat (Translator)
Call Number: Request Through Interlibrary Loan.
ISBN: 9786075640389
Publication Date: 2020
Este libro proporciona el primer examen general acerca de la forma en la que se realiza el análisis de políticas públicas en México. En esta obra, los autores estudian la naturaleza de dicho análisis en diferentes sectores y ámbitos del gobierno, así como en sectores no gubernamentales, como sindicatos, empresas, ONG y medios de comunicación. This book can be requested through the UTRGV Library's Interlibrary Loan service.
El Estudio de las Politicas Publicas by Harold D. Lasswell; Yehezkel Dror; David Garson; William Ascher; Douglas Torgerson; Luis F. Aguilar Villanueva (Introduction by)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9688429600
Publication Date: 2009-11-01
This is an eBook available through the UTRGV Library. El Estudio de las Politicas Publicas is a monograph dealing with policy analysis and public affairs in Latin America.
Meta-Analysis for Public Management and Policy by Evan Ringquist
Call Number: Edinburg Stacks - 3rd FL West; JA71.7.R56 2013
ISBN: 9781118227657
Publication Date: 2013-01-03
This book has a nice combination of conceptual overview, methodological details, and applications that will make it possible for researchers to conduct their own meta-analysis. It is available in multiple formats. Physically you can find it in the UTRGV Library campus library west with call number JA71.7.R56 2013.
Policy Analysis in Mexico by Jose Luis Mendez (Editor), Mauricio I. Dussauge-Laguna (Editor, Contributor)
Call Number: Request Through Interlibrary Loan.
ISBN: 1447329155
Publication Date: 2017
Part of the International Library of Policy Analysis series, this book provides the first detailed examination of the practice of policy analysis in Mexico. Whilst shaped by the legacy of the Mexican state’s colonial history as well as by recent social, economic and political developments, the study of policy analysis within Mexico provides important comparative lessons for other countries. This book can be requested through the UTRGV Library's Interlibrary Loan service.
Políticas Públicas. Perspectivas Para El Análisis Y El Diseño by Hector R. Arambula Quiñones
Call Number: Request Through Interlibrary Loan.
ISBN: 9786070311994
Publication Date: 2022
Frente a problemas públicos más complejos, la acción de gobernar requiere de nuevos enfoques y perspectivas que animen el diseño y la implementación de mejores soluciones. Este libro ofrece una compilación de los textos claves que han marcado el estudio y la reflexión de las políticas públicas en los últimos años. Book is not available. Can be requested through the UTRGV Library's Interlibrary Loan department.
Profesionales del gobierno. Ensayos sobre la importancia de una burocracia pública efectiva by Fernando Nieto Morales
Call Number: Request Through Interlibrary Loan.
ISBN: 9786075644585
Publication Date: 2023
Hablar de burocracias nunca ha sido particularmente agradable. La burocracia gubernamental a menudo nos parece ofensiva y, los burócratas, una partida de zánganos privilegiados y crueles, más interesados en las reglas y el papeleo, o en aumentarse el salario, que en resolver los problemas que enfrentan los ciudadanos. This book can be requested through the UTRGV Library's Interlibrary Loan service.
Public Administration by David H. Rosenbloom; Robert S. Kravchuk; Richard M. Clerk
Call Number: Edinburg Stacks - 3rd FL West; JF1351.R56 2009
ISBN: 9780073403892
Publication Date: 2008-04-07
This text uses a three-part framework of management, politics, and the law as the basis for its coverage of public administration. The text's analytic framework will help students develop a lasting understanding of the field. Newer 2022 edition can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
Public Administration: An Introduction by Marc Holzer (Author), Richard W. Schwester (Author)
Call Number: Request Through Interlibrary Loan.
ISBN: 103251700X
Publication Date: 2024
This book's coverage is both comprehensive and cutting-edge, including not only all of the essential topics (organizational theory, human resource management, leadership, program evaluation and policy analysis, budgeting, and the politics of public administration), but also reflecting new realities in public administration: the importance of new technology, changes in intergovernmental relations, especially the emphasis on inter-local and shared regional resources, and public performance and accountability initiatives. This book can be requested through the UTRGV Library's Interlibrary Loan service.
Repensando Lo Público. Estado, Políticas Públicas Y Gobernanza by David Gomez Alvarez
Call Number: Request Through Interlibrary Loan.
ISBN: 9786070311987
Publication Date: 2022
Para la solución de los problemas públicos, los gobiernos orientan sus esfuerzos apoyados de un conjunto de paradigmas y enfoques, muchas veces interrelacionados entre sí y enlazados a la noción de lo público. Tomando como referencia la labor intelectual de Luis F. Aguilar, impulsor en México y en el mundo académico de lengua española del análisis del gobierno, la administración y las políticas públicas, este libro busca reflexionar el concepto de lo público desde cuatro diferentes perspectivas: la racionalidad en el Estado, la política pública, la gobernanza y la alta dirección pública. This book can be requested through the UTRGV Library's Interlibrary Loan service.

To request books through the UTRGV Library's Interlibrary Loan department go to https://utrgv.illiad.oclc.org/illiad/. Once you have logged into the ILL page for the first time you will be asked to fill out a short form. Then you can select Book under New Request, fill out the form and your request will go to ILL. For books and other physical material it will take 2 to 3 weeks to arrive.

Professional Associations/Organizations

Asociacion Mexicana de Ciencias Politicas (AMECIP – Mexican Association of Political Science)
AMECIP is an association for academic promotion and development that brings together professors, researchers, and professionals dedicated to and specializing in Political Science.
Asociacion Mexicana de Estudios Internacionales (AMEI – Mexican Association of International Studies)
The Mexican Association of International Studies (AMEI) is a non-profit civil association. Its primary function is to promote and disseminate studies on international matters. It also encourages the exchange of opinions among its members for a better understanding of global issues and maintains close collaboration at national and international levels with public and private institutions dedicated to the study and analysis of world events.
Centro de Estudios Espinosa Yglesias
t is a non-profit and non-partisan association, that aims to generate specialized research to shape policy guidelines and actions to promote social mobility in Mexico. The Center analyzes opportunity equity and social mobility in Mexico.
Consejo Mexicano de Ciencias Sociales (COMECSO)
COMECSO is a national organization established in 1977 by an academic group responsible for various research and teaching centers dedicated to promoting the development of the social sciences in Mexico. It contains materials dealing with U.S./ Mexico relations and public affairs.

Newspapers

El Economista
Is a Spanish language newspaper from Mexico. This periodical cover economic news and is published five days a week and can include special inserts and issues.
El Financiero
El Financiero is a Mexican daily newspaper of national circulation specializing in economics, finance, business and politics, printed in Mexico City and owned by Grupo Multimedia Lauman.
El Pais
El País is a Spanish newspaper founded in 1976. It is written in Spanish, although it also publishes content in Catalan (for example, the Quadern supplement), English and Portuguese. It also has regional publishing headquarters, including in Mexico.
El Sol de Mexico
Mexican newspaper owned by Organización Editorial Mexicana. Contains articles dealing with politics and public affairs on both sides of the U.S./Mexican border.
El Universal
This Spanish language newspaper has been around since 1916 and covers government and politics.
Excelsior
Spanish language newspaper from Mexico that covers national and international political issues as well as other news.
La Cronica
Mexico based Spanish language newspaper. It is known for its coverage of issues on both sides of the border between Mexico and the U.S.
La Jornada
Spanish language newspaper based in Mexico city. Covers government and political news from both Mexico and the United States.
Milenio
Periodical has breaking news from Mexico and around the world. It contains information on politics, the economy, police, entertainment, and more.
Reforma
Reforma is a periodical that deals with Mexican and international politics and public affairs. This Spanish language paper also features weekly translations from selected articles of local interest from US and other foreign newspapers. These include The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal and the People's Daily.

General Tips: Finding More B3 PAFF Resources

With the UTRGV Library Catalog, as well as most databases, search results can be filtered by language, making it quick and easy to locate Spanish-language content. Select Advanced Search in order to modify a search by language.

For some databases (such as Emerald, HAPI, and PRISMA ), the user interface can be presented in various languages, including Spanish. This feature may be available within the database's user settings or via a "languages" option at the top-right of the resource's main page. In some cases you may need to create an account in order change language preferences.

Below are some suggested keyword searches and subject searches to find more B3 Public Administration content using UTRGV's Library Catalog (click on the links below to see search results).

Keyword Suggestions
Administración Pública
Public Administration and Mexico
Public Affairs and Mexico
Public Policy and Mexico
Border Policy
Public Administration and Border

Subject Suggestions
Public Administration -- Mexico
Public Institution -- Mexico
Mexico -- Politics and government -- 21st Century
United States -- Foreign relations -- Mexico
Mexico -- Foreign relations -- United States
Public works -- Political aspects -- Mexican-American Border Region -- History

For any of these sample catalog searches, results can be limited to feature specific formats, including books, journals, video, and audio recordings.

Generally, searches conducted in library catalogs and academic databases retrieve the same results for terms and names containing accents/other diacritics, whether the accents are included in the search or not (for example, a search for "Mexico" will produce the same results as "México"). However, some search engines will yield differing results when an accent or diacritic is present vs. not. It may be worth using both variants if exhaustive search results are needed.

Though not primarily focused on B3 content, general public administration resources like Academic Source Complete, Gale Academic One File and SAGE Online (among others) do contain some B3 materials, as well.