LibGuides: Nursing: B3 Nursing Resources

Nursing - B3 Resources

RGV Nursing Resources

General Sources

Tecnicas basicas de enfermeria by Carlos Galindo
Call Number: RT41 T255 2008

ISBN: 8479421657

Publication Date: 2008-01-01

This resource provides the basics of nursing. It covers health concepts such as nursing models, nursing assistance, cells and tissues and other topics related to heatlh and well-being.
Spanish for Nurses Pocket Guide by Arthur Natella; Donna Polverini
Call Number: PC4120.M3 P65 2008

ISBN: 9780763751128

Publication Date: 2008-01-14

Spanish for Nurses Pocket Guide includes basic phrases and vocabulary relating to parts of the body and ailments as well as questions and answers related to hospital facilities, admitting and treating patients in general and emergency care, as well as other issues. Cultural observations are highlighted and separate chapter on the intercultural aspects of nursing is included makign this book useful for all nurses. Spanish for Nurses contains a list of Spanish vocabulary words as well as a special glossary of Spanglish and border Spanish words and expressions in addition to such material in standard Spanish.
Medical Spanish for Health Care Professionals: a New Approach by Ron W. Scott
Call Number: PC4120.M3 $bS37 2008

ISBN: 9780763749828

Publication Date: 2007-09-21

This book presents a novel, but simple approach to mastering elemental and basic conversational Spanish as a mode of communication between English-speaking health care professionals and limited-English-proficient patients.
Problem-Based Medical Spanish by William Joaquin Adamas-Rappaport; Oscar Beita Quesada; Mara Gricel SantaMaria; Bardo Daniel Padilla Verlarde
Call Number: PC4120.M3 P76 2008

ISBN: 9781416036586

Publication Date: 2007-12-06

To meet the health care needs of Spanish-speaking patients, you have to be able to communicate with them. Master the Spanish you need to know for medical school and practice! Organized by body system, this new book uses a problem-based approach to help you learn the Spanish anatomy, pathophysiology, diagnosis, and treatment vocabulary and phrases you need to interact effectively with patients around a variety of health issues.
Spanish for Nurses by Rudy Valenzuela
Call Number: PC4120.M3 V35 2009

ISBN: 9781427799760

Publication Date: 2009-02-03

Spanish for Nurses can help you communicate clearly in most types of medical situations, from basic greetings to more complex phrases. Become comfortable taking patient histories, describing medical tests and explaining diagnoses with this guide to medical terms in Spanish. Learn dialogues from greetings to the diagnosis.
Enfermería Fácil. Fundamentos de Enfermería by Lippincott Williams Lippincott Williams & Wilkins
Call Number: RT41 .E544 2015

ISBN: 9788416353828

Publication Date: 2016-06-02

This title provides a brief introduction to all the nursing skills necessary for the clinical environment. The content is logically organized into three parts, providing step-by-step instructions on nursing procedures. The first offers basic nursing information, ethical and legal considerations, and the nursing process. The second part covers communication, health assessment, vital signs, infections, and key medical information.

Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL Plus with Full Text indexes over 3000 nursing, allied health, and related journals, including full text for over 330 journals, as far back as 1937. To access language options to locate Spanish language materials select the Advanced Search link.
Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library "is a unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care...The Cochrane Library is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care." To locate Spanish language materials select Advanced Search, then change Title Abstract Keyword to Language.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) "provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals ... vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science." Once in the database change the Field box to Language to search for materials in Spanish.
Health Research Premium Collection
Health Research Premium Collection addresses the diverse needs of students, researchers, medical professionals, hospital administrators, and patients and their families by offering a central access point to a variety of essential content. Health Research Premium Collection provides a broad collection of journals, evidence-based resources, and full-text dissertations. To search for Spanish language material select Advanced Search.
MEDLINE (Ovid)
MEDLINE (Ovid) “covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published world-wide.” Once in the database change the Field box to Language to search for materials in Spanish.
MEDLINEPlus (Español)
MEDLINEPlus (Español) Informacion de salud de la Biblioteca Nacional de Medicina. Resource is all in Spanish. Also materials presented in MEDLINEPlus are in that language as well.
PubMed
PubMed - "a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources." To find Spanish language resources select advance search then change the field box to Language.
Science Direct
Science Direct provides full image articles from more than 1000 agriculture, arts and humanities, astronomy, biology, business, chemistry, clinical medicine, computer science, earth and planetary sciences, economics, engineering, energy and technology, environmental science, life sciences, materials science, mathematics, physics, and social and behavioral sciences journals. To limit by a specific language use the tool bar on the left hand side of the database's results list.

Journals

American Journal of Nursing
The American Journal of Nursing is a monthly peer-reviewed nursing journal established in 1900. As of 2022 the editor-in-chief is Carl Kirton and it is published by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.
C.E.S. medicina: órgano oficial de difusión de la Facultad de Medicina del Instituto de Ciencias de la Salud
The Faculty of Medicine of the Institute of Health Sciences (CES) publishes an official publication called C.E.S. Medicina. This publication focuses on disseminating information and the faculty's activities, serving as a means of connecting with the academic community and the public interested in medicine.
Ciencia UG Revista Universitaria en Ciencias de la Salud
Non-profit, open-access scientific journal that publishes clinical research related to the health sciences. It is specifically designed for medical students and the general public, and is committed to disseminating and highlighting original research ideas from medical personnel.
Duazary : revista de la Facultad de Ciencias de la Salud
Duazary is a continuously published scientific journal edited by the Faculty of Health Sciences of the University of Magdalena, Colombia. Its objective is to disseminate original and unpublished research that contributes to the understanding of the health-disease process.
Journal of Informatics Nursing
An official publication of the American Nursing Informatics Association (ANIA) dedicated to advancing nursing practice, clinical research, and professional development.
Medicina U.P.B.
Official publication of the School of Health Sciences of the Pontificia Bolivarian University. Its objective is to publish high-quality articles on basic and clinical health sciences, public health, health administration, and related areas. The journal is aimed at students, faculty, and researchers and is open to authors outside the publishing entity.
Online Journal of Issues in Nursing
OJIN is a peer-reviewed, online publication that addresses current topics affecting nursing practice, research, education, and the wider health care sector.
Revista Ciencias de la Salud
The Journal of Health Sciences is the official publication of the School of Medicine and Health Sciences of the Universidad del Rosario. It adheres to the Agreement on Uniform Requirements for the Preparation of Manuscripts Submitted to Biomedical Journals, developed by the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors.
Revista Cuidarte
Resource aids in contributing to the expansion of knowledge in the field of Medical and Health Sciences and reaching more researchers around the world.
Revista Latino-Americana de Enfermagem = Latin American Journal of Nursing
The Revista Latino-Americana de Enfermagem (RLAE) is the official scientific publication of the University of São Paulo at Ribeirão Preto College of Nursing, Brazil, WHO Collaborating Centre for Nursing Research Development. Its mission is to publish scientific research results in nursing and other areas of interest for health professionals.
Salud Uninorte: Revista de la División de Ciencias de la Salud, Universidad del Norte
Uninorte Health, the dissemination agency of the Health Sciences Division of the Universidad del Norte, invites the academic and scientific community to submit Systematic Review articles on any topic in the health field related to basic, clinical, and public health sciences. Articles must be written in English.

Books

Antropoenfermería, salud, migración y multiculturalidad en América Latina by Patricia Casasa García, Axel Ramírez Morales, and Armando Sánchez Reyes
Call Number: RT86.5 $b.A58 2010

ISBN: 9786074012040

Publication Date: 2010-01-01

The book is divided into a prologue and introduction, followed by 16 essays written by members of the permanent seminar on Anthropo-Nursing: Health, Migration, and Multiculturalism in Latin America, which is held at the National School of Nursing and Midwifery.
Una vision antropologica de la enfermeria en Mexico by Patricia Casasa Garcia
Call Number: RT86.5 .C38 2009

ISBN: 6074012059

Publication Date: 2009-01-01

"Una Visión Antropológica de la Enfermería en México" explores nursing practices through an anthropological lens, examining how cultural, social, and historical factors influence nursing roles, interactions, and the provision of healthcare in Mexico. The book delves into the beliefs, values, and practices that shape nursing work, offering a deeper understanding of the profession within its Mexican context.
Educacin y Salud en Los Migrantes M'Xico-Estados Unidos by Guillermo Campos y Covarrubias
Call Number: F1392.A1 E38 2009

ISBN: 6074010986

Publication Date: 2009-02-01

The purpose of this publication is to tackle the problem of migration from different theoretical and methodological perspectives. The authors are specialists in the subject and their research stands out for the boldness of approaching migration from the stand point of medicine, particularly from the nurses point of view. Nursing has been an activity immerse in the migration problem in a operative way, especially because of the massive migration of nurses to the United States. The author tries to open up a space for reflection in the health arena, to make of this phenomenon a line of investigation that gives a place to the nursing profession in other areas of migration research.
Guía de Consulta de Los Criterios Diagnósticos Del DSM-5® by American Psychiatric Association Staff
Call Number: RC455.2 .C4 D5413 2014

ISBN: 9780890426739

Publication Date: 2014-12-02

The DSM-5 Diagnostic Criteria Reference Guide is a concise and accessible aid to the essential psychiatric reference, the DSM-5. It includes the revised complete diagnostic classification as well as all DSM-5 diagnostic criteria in an easy-to-use format. This convenient reference provides quick access to essential information for making a diagnosis. Designed as a companion to the DSM-5, this handy guide will assist mental health professionals in incorporating the DSM-5 diagnostic criteria into their diagnoses. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders is the authoritative reference for clinical practice in the field of mental health.
Enfermería by Ibáñez Alfonso, Luz Eugenia
Call Number: RT86.7 I126 2022

ISBN: 9585188325

Publication Date: 2022-01-01

This book contributes to the search for meaning in the nursing profession because it helps develop answers to essential questions such as: what is care, its importance, why is it necessary to care, and what is the future of care? Through the answers this text provides, it aims to contribute to the reflection of individuals and nurses who are exploring the importance and reasons for caring.

Professional Organizations

General Tips: Finding More B3 Nursing Resources

With the UTRGV Library Catalog, as well as most databases, search results can be filtered by language, making it quick and easy to locate Spanish-language content

For some databases (such as CINAHL Plus with Full Text, MEDLINE (Ovid), and PubMed), the user interface can be presented in various languages, including Spanish. This feature may be available within the database's user settings or via a "languages" option at the top-right of the resource's main page.

Below are some suggested keyword searches and subject searches to find more B3 History content using UTRGV's Library Catalog (click on the links below to see search results).

Keyword Suggestions:
border medicine
enfermería
enfermería pediátrica
farmacia
medicamento

Subject Suggestions:
Educación en enfermería
Enfermería pediátrica
Enfermería -- Práctica profesional
Healing -- Mexican-American Border Region
Mexican Americans -- Medicine
Traditional medicine -- Mexican-American Border Region

For any of these sample catalog searches, results can be limited to feature specific formats, including books, documents, journals, and media.

Generally, searches conducted in library catalogs and academic databases retrieve the same results for terms and names containing accents/other diacritics, whether the accents are included in the search or not (for example, a search for "Mexico" will produce the same results as "México"). However, some search engines will yield differing results when an accent or diacritic is present vs. not. It may be worth using both variants if exhaustive search results are needed.

Though not primarily focused on B3 content, nursing resources like Academic Search Complete, Gale OneFile: Health & Medicine, and Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy & Sports Medicine (among others) do contain some B3 materials, as well.