Skip to main content

University Library Assessment

IPEDS Academic Libraries Survey Introduction

IPEDS Academic Libraries Survey for TSC

The purpose of the Academic Libraries Survey (ALS) is to collect information on library resources, services, and expenditures from academic libraries serving degree-granting, Title IV postsecondary institutions in the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and the outlying areas. The ALS was conducted by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) on a 3-year cycle between 1966 and 1988, within the framework of the Higher Education General Information System (HEGIS). Between 1988 and 1998, the ALS was a component of the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) and was collected on a 2-year cycle. Between 2000 and 2012, the Academic Libraries Survey was conducted independently of IPEDS but remained on a 2-year cycle. Since 2014, the ALS has been reintegrated back into the IPEDS collection as the Academic Libraries (AL) component and is collected annually. The resources available on this page provide guidance on the reintegration of the ALS back into IPEDS and supplementary instructions for completing the AL component.

The University Library collects data for the TSC IPEDS survey and submits it to TSC. 

Reporting Period: September-August (pull data on September 1)

Data Collection Period: September-April

Data is collected and provided in written form to Dr. Angelica Fuentes (TSC).The University Library does not have access to or log into the TSC IPEDS account and is not provided with a copy of the report after submission. 

Due: April 10th

Find Information on Collecting Data

Find Historical Data & Reports

TSC IPEDS Historical Data

Historical Data & Reports

Below are the numbers reported for prior years.

NOTE: IPEDS references the time period as the collection period, but the data is for the previous academic year.  For example, the 2016-2017 report reflects the statistics for the academic year 2015-2016 and collections as they were on or around September 1, 2016.

Data 2016-2017 2017-2018 2018-2019 2019-2020
Physical Collections: Books 109,121 110,003 57,806 55,331
Physical Collections: Media 5,708 1,511 1,492 1,878
Physical Collections: Serials 0 0 690 691
Physical Collections: Circulation 1,161 1,018 1,070 862
Electronic Collections: Books 443,905 444,697 509,206 546,403
Electronic Collections: Databases 234 244 503 366
Electronic Collections: Media 1,985 2,541 18,007 103,113
Electronic Collections: Serials 4,384 4,634 139,456 144,604
Electronic Collections: Circulation 9,591 101,193 133,331 21,005
ILL Provided 5,196 4,525 4,369 4,015
ILL Received 3,716 4,568 4,080 3,045