Skip to main content

University Library Assessment

IPEDS Academic Libraries Survey Introduction

IPEDS Academic Libraries Survey

The purpose of the Academic Libraries Survey (ALS) is to collect information on library resources, services, and expenditures from academic libraries serving degree-granting, Title IV postsecondary institutions in the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and the outlying areas. Since 2014, the report is collected annually.  All of the data reported in IPEDS is also included in ACRL, so there is duplication in data reporting. 

Reporting Period: September-August (pull data on September 1)

Data Collection Period: September-April

Due: April 10th

Find Historical Data & Reports

IPEDS Historical Data and Reports

Historical Data & Reports

Below are the numbers reported for prior years.

NOTE: IPEDS references the time period as the collection period, but the data is for the previous academic year.  For example, the 2016-2017 report reflects the statistics for the academic year 2015-2016 and collections as they were on or around September 1, 2016.

Reporting Period 2016-2017 2017-2018 2018-2019 2019-2020
Data Period 2015-2016 2016-2017 2017-2018 2018-2019
Physical Collections: Books 939,140 931,574 509,892 (1) 511,935
Physical Collections: Media 28,541 44,762 (1) 21,114 (2) 24,925
Physical Collections: Serials 617 5,176 (2) 5,309 14,738 (2)
Physical Collections: Circulation 76,706 78,359 78,245 21,370 (3)
Electronic Collections: Books 443,906 444,697 509,206 546,403
Electronic Collections: Databases 234 244 503 (3) 366
Electronic Collections: Media 1,985 2,541 18,007 (4) 103,113 (1)
Electronic Collections: Serials 4,384 4,634 139,456 (5) 144,604
Electronic Collections: Circulation 107,889

101,193

133,331 (6) 21,005 (4)
ILL Provided 5,196 4,525 4,369 4,015
ILL Received 3,716 4,568 4,080 3,045
Branches 2 2 2 2
Salaries & Wages 2,569,831 2,862,137 3,060,873 2,648,268
Fringe Benefits 0 0 0 0
Materials: One-time purchases 1,029,199 726,767 799,942 232,758
Materials: Ongoing commitments 1,306,315 3,030,758 4,025,630 3,338,435
Materials: Other materials/Services costs 129,376 54,086 41,050 41,008
Total Materials/Services 2,464,890 3,811,611 (5) 4,866,622 (7) 3,612,201 (5)
Operations: Preservation services 19,663 90,100 18,305 11,930
Operations: Other operations and maintenance expenses 537,780 1,260,131 1,192,827 1,107,755
Total Operations 557,443 1,350,231 (3) 1,211,132 1,119,685
Total Expenses 5,592,164 8,023,979 (4) 9,138,627 7,380,154
Prepared By

Peter Cortez &

Raquel Estrada

Raquel Estrada Susie Bushnell Susie Bushnell & Charley Roush
Number of Staff Involved Not Required 8   9
Number of Hours Collecting Data (Total of Your Office & Other Offices) 3 190   19

2017-2018 Notes:

  1. Added 16,445 microform titles to media count.  Microforms were not included in last year's media count as ILS system did not separate them out.  We were able to identify them this year and add to media category.
  2. Number submitted last year likely corresponds to print subscriptions no physical titles.
  3. Purchase of furniture and equipment for both libraries.  Also saw increase due to new Head of Special Collections working and acquiring materials for the department.
  4. Increase of SOM databases and the amount of 1,164,185.90 may not have been included with database costs of previous year.  Purchase of furniture and equipment for both libraries.  Also saw increase due to Head of Special Collections working and acquiring materials for the department.
  5. Increase in database costs for SOM and database costs in the amount of 1,164,185.90 may not have been included in previous year.

2018-2019 Notes:

Notes unavailable

2018-2019 Notes:

  1. Individual records from a large media database (Naxos Music Online) were uploaded to our catalog to allow for improved media searching.
  2. The total is higher this year because of how serials are counted in our new ILS (ALMA). More accurate this year. Also, there may have been confusion last year about how to count ceased serials.
  3. Prior Year Amount included in-house use and equipment checkouts on top of regular circulation. This year's physical circulation count eliminates these other categories, and results in an overall lower (more accurate) total. More precision is now possible because of a new ILS.
  4. A new procedure is being implemented to more accurately capture e-book and database usage--SUSHI protocol in compliance with the latest COUNTER standards. The new procedure is not fully set up, and the count is lower than last year. When finalized, the new procedure will provide more accurate totals.
  5. Expenditures for Ongoing Commitments to Subscriptions were less this year than last year. This year's total in this category ($3,338,435) is closer to FY 2016-2017's total, whereas the amount spent in FY 2017-2018 was higher.