LibGuides: Medical Education Remote Teaching Resources: Home

Basic Sciences

Acland’s Video Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window Acland’s Video Atlas of Human Anatomy is a realistic, three-dimensional quality video atlas of human anatomy which can be used as an adjunct to dissection as well as a review tool.

APGO Basic Sciences Videos (Association of Professors of Gynecology and Obstetrics)
Case Files Basic Science Includes cases related to Anatomy, Biochemistry, Microbiology, Neuroscience, Pathology, Pharmacology and Physiology

JoVE - Science Education This link opens in a new window "JoVE Science Education is a revolutionary video library dedicated to teaching scientific fundamentals through simple easy-to-understand video demonstrations."
LWW Health Library - Medical Education/Premium Basic Sciences This link opens in a new window Health Library contains texts, audio and video, self-assessments, case studies, and clinical skills training resources for medical students.

OnlineMedEd Basic Sciences
Includes some free video content in the basic sciences.
Pathophysiology of Disease Cases
Virtual Learning Resources during COVID-19 (MedEdPORTAL) "This collection features peer-reviewed teaching resources that can be used for distance learning, including self-directed modules and learning activities that could be converted to virtual interactions. As always, the resources are free to download and free for adaptation to local settings. The collection will be reviewed and updated regularly."

General Clinical Education Resources

AccessMedicine Multimedia Resources Includes a wide variety of videos, simulations, and images related to medical education.

Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination “Delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques. The site features more than 8 hours of video content."
Board Vitals This link opens in a new window Includes qbanks with NBME-style questions for USMLE Step 1-3 and NBME shelf exams. Faculty can create customized exams, send to students and track performance.

Aquifer Clinical Learning (Cases) Case-based clinical learning tool for clerkships/medical education. Contact Kathleen Carter at kathleen.carter@utrgv.edu to request access to the Aquifer case library.
Clinical Key Procedures Videos
Clinical Teaching and Learning Experiences without Physical Patient Contact (AAMC iCollaborative) "This resource collection was built in response to the COVID-19 pandemic’s significant impact on the teaching and learning of health professionals. Designed by diverse educators, this working collection features clinical learning experiences, which can be readily used or easily adapted for specific, local settings, without the need for physical patient contact."
COVID-19: Your Questions, Answered (Osmosis) Includes video courses related to COVID-19 including information related to diagnosis and treatment.
JAMANetwork Learning (AMA EdHub)
Click on JN Learning (top menu) to access educational resources from the AMA including clinical case challenges.
JoVE Science Education Clinical Skills Video Lessons
LWW Health Library Clerkship/Clinical Rotations Self-Assessments Users must create a free personal account to access the Self-Assessment tool.
Patient Safety Modules (AccessMedicine) These online modules provide "an introduction to the core concepts of patient safety in an interactive and self-paced learning environment. The current course includes three (3) modules: Handwashing, Understanding Error, and Communication Concepts."
more...less...
Patient safety modules can be accessed from the left menu.
Sex and Gender Cases (American Medical Women's Association)
Texas Health Steps CE Courses
Virtual Learning Resources during COVID-19 (MedEdPORTAL) "This collection features peer-reviewed teaching resources that can be used for distance learning, including self-directed modules and learning activities that could be converted to virtual interactions. As always, the resources are free to download and free for adaptation to local settings. The collection will be reviewed and updated regularly."

Emergency Medicine and Critical Care

Academic Life in Emergency Medicine
Emergency Medicine LibGuide
JoVE Science Education Emergency Medicine and Critical Care The Emergency Medicine and Critical Care Collection includes easy-to-understand video demonstrations to teach and learn key concepts and fundamental techniques.

Family Medicine

Internal Medicine

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window AccessMedicine “is a comprehensive online medical resource that provides medical students with a variety of resources needed to excel in basic science studies and clerkships.” You must create an account to use the study tools.

Internal Medicine Clerkship LibGuide
NEJM Interactive Medical Cases
Vanderbilt Internal Medicine & Pediatrics Curriculum (AccessMedicine) "The Vanderbilt Internal Medicine and Pediatrics Curriculum is a comprehensive, case-based curriculum for the care of adults and children in the outpatient setting. This curriculum can be used by learners in all stages of training, from students to residents to practicing clinicians and is updated regularly to reflect the newest research and guidelines."

Neurology

AccessNeurology This link opens in a new window
See Clerkship Corner and Cases for interactive learning tools.

Movement Disorders Fundamentals Course Series (International Parkinson and Movement Disorder Society) Includes 30 video presentations conducted by the top experts in the Movement disorders field. Provide a complete overview of various aspects and clinical approaches to the evaluation and management of common movement disorders. Courses are free to access through the MDS Learning Management System.
NeuroLogic Exam Videos and Descriptions (Univ of Utah)
Neurology Clerkship LibGuide

Educational Videos

Board Vitals Qbanks (Video)
Case-based Learning via the Access Databases (Video) Learn more about how you can use the “Access Databases” available through the School of Medicine Libraries to facilitate remote case-based learning.
Creating Links to Library Resources (Video)
Electronic Books & Study Resources - UTRGV SOM Libraries
Taking Your Clerkship Online (Video) This faculty development session is composed of two parts; Part 1 will provide you with Teaching Tips to convert your traditional didactic session into an active learning session using small group discussions. Part 2 will provide you with current UTRGV Library Resources to enhance your teaching techniques and methods for medical education learning.

Linking to Library Resources

= Subscription-based resource

Resources listed with the padlock icon are subscription-based. The library uses a tool called OpenAthens to make off-campus access to subscription-based resources possible.

In order for a link to work off-campus, it must include the following OpenAthens string at the beginning of the URL:

https://go.openathens.net/redirector/utrgv.edu?url=

For example, the link to AccessMedicine would be configured as follows:

https://go.openathens.net/redirector/utrgv.edu?url=https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com

Still need help? No problem!
If you need assistance creating links to library resources, please contact the library at somlibrary@utrgv.edu.

Open Access Resources

This list includes resources that are either open access or being offered by publishers who have announced that they will offer free access (for a limited time) to Universities impacted by COVID-19. This list is being updated as we learn of new resource offerings.

Visit the University Libraries' Guide to Open Educational Resources to learn more using OER for teaching and learning.

OpenStax
Peer-reviewed open textbooks, hosted at Rice University. The most widely adopted open textbook publisher in the field.
MERLOT
MERLOT is a free and open peer reviewed collection of online teaching and learning materials and faculty-developed services contributed and used by an international education community.

OBGYN

AccessOBGYN This link opens in a new window
See Clerkship Corner and Cases for interactive learning tools.

Pediatrics

AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new window
See Clerkship Corner and Cases for interactive learning tools.

Pediatrics Clerkship LibGuide
Vanderbilt Internal Medicine & Pediatrics Curriculum (AccessMedicine) "The Vanderbilt Internal Medicine and Pediatrics Curriculum is a comprehensive, case-based curriculum for the care of adults and children in the outpatient setting. This curriculum can be used by learners in all stages of training, from students to residents to practicing clinicians and is updated regularly to reflect the newest research and guidelines."

Psychiatry

Access Neurology
See Cases menu option to access Case Files Psychiatry.
ADMSEP Clinical Simulation eModules
Psychiatry Clerkship LibGuide
Symptom Media A library of DSM 5 and ICD 10 guided films for mental health education & training.

Surgery

AccessSurgery This link opens in a new window
See Clerkship Corner and Cases for interactive learning tools.

Surgery Clerkship LibGuide

Medical Education Remote Teaching Resources: Home

About this Guide