Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections & University Archives: Tours

This is the webpage for UTRGV Special Collections & University Archives.

Tours Temporarily Suspended

In an effort to keep our patrons and staff members safe from the spread of COVID-19 (Coronavirus), Special Collections & Archives will be closed to the public until further notice.

Tours of Special Collections & Archives

We are happy to welcome schools, organizations, businesses, and local cultural heritage groups for tours of our Special Collections & University Archives. Tours are available by appointment only according to the guidelines listed below. For more information on tours and scheduling please contact us by email: archives@utrgv.edu or by phone: 956-882-7968 (Brownsville) or 956-665-2726 (Edinburg).


Tour Guidelines

  • Tours must be scheduled in advance and are only available at the convenience of library staff.

  • The tour organizer (not library staff) is responsible for coordinating the following:

    • Making sure the tour group arrives at the library on time.

    • Notify library ahead of time if there is a specific topic you wish to cover.

    • If participants are not able to attend the tour, then you may consider an alternative learning experience such as an online archives tour, available through the National Archives (https://www.archives.gov/), Library of Congress (https://www.loc.gov/), and the Texas Digital Archive (https://tsl.access.preservica.com/)

  • Due to limited space and staffing, we can only accommodate groups of 5-15 patrons.

  • Please arrive on time for your scheduled tour. We reserve the right to cancel and reschedule your tour if your group is more than 15 minutes late.

  • Our hours of operation are subject to change without prior notice.