Skip to main content

Special Collections & University Archives: Services

Visit

Brownsville Hours of Operation

Monday - Friday
8:30 A.M. - 4:30 P.M.

Saturday
(by special appointment only)

Sunday
Closed

Contact Us

(956) 882-7968
archives@utrgv.edu

Edinburg Hours of Operation

Tuesday - Thursday
8:00 A.M. - 8:00 P.M.

Friday
8:00 A.M. - 5:00 P.M.

Saturday
9:00 A.M. - 6:00 P.M.

Sunday - Monday
Closed

Contact Us

(956) 665-2726
archives@utrgv.edu

Loading ...

Current Exhibits

2nd Floor Wall Gallery:

Summer Stay-cation 

3rd Floor Wall Gallery:

Borderlines: Drawing Border Lives

3rd Floor Gallery Cases:

None

1st Floor Library Lobby:

Summer Stay-cation 

1st Floor Wall Gallery:

None currently

 

Loading ...

Special Collections & University Archives can offer research consultations for researchers interested in topics that we have resources for. Please contact the campus office or archives@utrgv.edu to set up an appointment. 

Additionally, we can set up class visits for faculty to bring in students for use of materials. This takes a significant amount of preparation on our part, so please contact us with two weeks' notice for class research trips, and be prepared to provide us with a list of students' research topics at that time.

If you would like to use one or more of Special Collections & University Archives' resources for publication, whether in print or online, you must fill out a licensing and reproduction form. Please download the following form and email it to us at archives@utrgv. We will consider your request and get back to you shortly. Feel free to contact us for additional assistance, or with any questions that you may have.

The Library staff from the and Special Collections and Archives are eager to assist faculty with a variety of instruction formats including orientations, specialized sessions, and assignment based projects.

Please fill out Instruction Form below.

Instruction Form

Interested in mounting an exhibition at the Library? Edinburg Library Lobby Display Cases are available for display of exhibitions designed and implemented by Special Collections & Archives staff, exhibitions designed by other departments at UTRGV, and exhibitions from other members of the community. All exhibitions must have relevance to the community that UTRGV serves; the student body, staff, and faculty of UTRGV; the Rio Grande Valley; and northeast Mexico. A calendar shall be used to “book” exhibitions. Please contact Edinburg Special Collections & University Archives at archives@utrgv.edu or 956-665-2726 if you have questions about whether a certain time is available. If approved, you'll need to fill out our Library Lobby Exhibition and Display form, and read the associated policy. Both form and policy are available on this page for download.

Do you have a unique or interesting story to tell, or know a friend or family member that does? Special Collections & University Archives hold collections of over 500 oral history interviews, and continue to grow them by the year. We collect oral history interviews based around a yearly theme, but also always collect interviews at any time with members of the community that deal with the following themes: Development in the Rio Grande Valley, race/ethnic relations and issues, the Mexican Revolution, agriculture, UTRGV/UTPA/UTB history or experiences, religion, city development, medicine in the RGV, agriculture, immigration, ecology, and labor.

Our current yearly theme is "Sports and Sporting in the Rio Grande Valley."

If you or someone you know would like to participate in our oral history program, please fill out the Oral History Contact Form. As part of the process, we will set up a pre-recording interview, conduct the interview with an audio or video recorder (interviewee's preference), store the interview in our digital preservation system, and make the interview accessible via the Internet.

Thank you for your interest in recording and preserving the history of the Rio Grande Valley!

We are happy to welcome schools, organizations, businesses, and local cultural heritage groups for tours of our Special Collections & University Archives. Tours are available by appointment only according to the guidelines listed below. For more information on tours and scheduling please contact us by email: archives@utrgv.edu or by phone: 956-882-7968 (Brownsville) or 956-665-2726 (Edinburg).


Tour Guidelines

  • Tours must be scheduled in advance and are only available at the convenience of library staff.

  • The tour organizer (not library staff) is responsible for coordinating the following:

    • Making sure the tour group arrives at the library on time.

    • Notify library ahead of time if there is a specific topic you wish to cover.

    • If participants are not able to attend the tour, then you may consider an alternative learning experience such as an online archives tour, available through the National Archives (https://www.archives.gov/), Library of Congress (https://www.loc.gov/), and the Texas Digital Archive (https://tsl.access.preservica.com/)

  • Due to limited space and staffing, we can only accommodate groups of 5-15 patrons.

  • Please arrive on time for your scheduled tour. We reserve the right to cancel and reschedule your tour if your group is more than 15 min late.

  • Our hours of operation are subject to change without prior notice.

Loading ...