Skip to main content

Special Collections & University Archives: Home

Thumbnail

Thumbnail

Image preview

Thumbnail

Thumbnail

Thumbnail

Thumbnail

Visit Us

Brownsville Hours of Operation

Monday - Friday
8:30 A.M. - 4:30 P.M.

Saturday
(by special appointment only)

Sunday
Closed

Contact Us

(956) 882-7968
archives@utrgv.edu

Edinburg Hours of Operation

Tuesday - Thursday
8:00 A.M. - 8:00 P.M.

Friday
8:00 A.M. - 5:00 P.M.

Saturday
9:00 A.M. - 6:00 P.M.

Sunday - Monday
Closed

Contact Us

(956) 665-2726
archives@utrgv.edu

Loading ...

Current Exhibits

2nd Floor Wall Gallery:

Paint Your Piece: Celebrating UTRGV Diversity

3rd Floor Wall Gallery:

Borderlines: Drawing Border Lives

3rd Floor Gallery Cases:

None

Library Lobby:

Jose Lozano Ceramic Art Exhibit

Loading ...

South Texas and Northeast Mexico Collections

Special Collections and Archives is the first stop for any student, faculty, public patron, or visiting researcher wishing to learn more about the region of southern Texas and northeastern Mexico.  Our collections include books, periodicals, maps, oral histories, and archival materials concerning the Lower Rio Grande Valley, the broader southern Texas and Mexico Rio Grande border region, Mexican American culture and identity, and the Mexican War.

Special Collections & Archives Mission

As a component of The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley Library, Special Collections & University Archives plays a critical role in the commitment of UTRGV to academic excellence in a balanced program of research and service. The collections provide documentation which supports the research of the history, development, traditions, and activities of south Texas and northeastern Mexico. Its main feature is to facilitate scholarship by acquiring, preserving, and making accessible regional information through published and original archival materials to students, faculty, and visiting scholars, both in person and digitally. Instruction and reference services are provided on both an individual and group basis.

 Brownsville and Edinburg Locations

The University Library in Edinburg and Brownsville hold unique collections relating to southern Texas and northeastern Mexico and the broader border region, as well as the archives of UTRGV and its legacy institutions.

Upcoming Events

Loading ...

Best Practices

Call or Email First: We will be able to ensure that the appropriate materials are ready for your visit if you contact us to reserve an appointment.

Obtain a Parking Permit: If you are not affiliated with the University, then you may wish to purchase a visitor's permit in advance from Parking Services.

No Photocopies or Scanning: Materials are in-library use only and photocopiers are not available. Non-flash photography is permitted.

What to Bring with You: Paper, pencils (no pens), laptop or tablets (no cases), digital camera or smartphone for photographing materials. Food and drink are not permitted.