Brownsville Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday
8:30 A.M. - 4:30 P.M.
Saturday - Sunday
Edinburg Hours of Operation
Tuesday - Friday
8:00 A.M. - 5:00 P.M.
Our materials are unique, often old, and sometimes brittle or easily damaged. We request that you respect these User Guidelines to help preserve the documents for future use.
Before Your Visit
Check published sources to gain as much information about your topic as possible, including names, dates, and places.
Search our online finding aids (for archival materials) and online catalog (for books, newspapers, maps) to find out what resources we have. If you don't find what you are looking for, we have additional collections which have not yet been described online.
Please contact us at 956.882.7968 (Brownsville) or 956.665.2726 (Edinburg), or email us at firstname.lastname@example.org to let us know what you are interested in viewing, or for further assistance. Describe your request as well as you can including names, dates, places, and specific documents. If you can provide us with box information from the finding aid, that is even better. This will allow you to use your time wisely when you are here, and may prevent you from making an unnecessary trip.
When you arrive at the Archives, you will be asked to submit a Registration form and a photo ID before you are allowed to view any materials. To protect our documents, you will only be allowed paper, pencils, camera, laptop and audio recorders in the Reading Room.
Researchers are required to register on their first visit. You must agree to abide by these guidelines and policies before you are given any materials. You will be asked to show photo identification, and fill out a registration form.
For the safe-keeping of our documents, patrons are only permitted to bring paper, pencils (no pens), laptops, cameras, and audio recorders into the reading room. We will provide paper and pencils if requested. You will be provided with lockers to put your backpacks, purses, binders, books, jackets, or any other personal items. Cell phone use (other than camera use) is not permitted. Archival materials may not be removed from the Reading Room. All personal items used in the Reading Room are subject to being searched as you leave.
Rules for Handling Archival Materials
Archival materials are shelved in closed stacks. A staff member will bring the materials to you. All materials housed in Archives are to remain within the Reading Room. At no time are materials allowed outside of the Reading Room. Every researcher is responsible for assisting in the preservation of our documents. The following rules are intended to protect and preserve our archival materials to ensure that the information they contain is available for subsequent visitors. Patrons who carelessly handle materials may be denied further access.
The order and arrangement of the materials may be important to a researcher. Follow these rules to maintain that order:
Handle with care
Researchers are asked to respect the fragile nature of the research material, to handle it with care.
Failure to comply with these rules may result in denial of access to the collections. Theft or mutilation of the holdings is a crime that may be prosecuted. These rules are enforced to ensure the protection of the unique materials.
Copying Policy and Procedure
You are allowed to make copies using your own digital camera. A camera stand is provided. Flash is not allowed.
Copyright and Publications
It is the researcher's responsibility to conform to all legal, literary, property rights, libel laws and copyright provisions attached to the materials used. Special Collections and University Archives is not responsible for the infringement of any such laws. If you wish to duplicate materials for use in a publication or on a website, please speak with a staff member. You must sign Copyright Compliance and Provisions for Use Form where you agree to abide by any copyright laws, and agree to provide the Archives with a copy of whatever you published (report, article, etc.).
Please use the following format for citation of archival materials used in research and publication:
[Title of Collection]; [item description], [dates]. [Number of Collection], Box [#], Folder [#], [name of item, e.g. Photograph of McAllen, 1951]. University Library, Special Collections & University Archives, University of Texas Rio Grande Valley, [Edinburg or Brownsville], Texas.