Skip to main content

Special Collections & University Archives: Digital Collections

Visit

Brownsville Hours of Operation

Monday - Friday
8:30 A.M. - 4:30 P.M.

Saturday
(by special appointment only)

Sunday
Closed

Contact Us

(956) 882-7968
archives@utrgv.edu

Edinburg Hours of Operation

Tuesday - Thursday
8:00 A.M. - 8:00 P.M.

Friday
8:00 A.M. - 5:00 P.M.

Saturday
9:00 A.M. - 6:00 P.M.

Sunday - Monday
Closed

Contact Us

(956) 665-2726
archives@utrgv.edu

Loading ...

Current Exhibits

2nd Floor Wall Gallery:

Summer Stay-cation 

3rd Floor Wall Gallery:

Borderlines: Drawing Border Lives

3rd Floor Gallery Cases:

None

1st Floor Library Lobby:

Summer Stay-cation 

1st Floor Wall Gallery:

None currently

 

Loading ...

Digital Collections

UTRGV has digitized more than 24,000 items, including local and regional publications, rare books, faculty publications, photographs, maps, correspondence, and more, including the featured collections below. More digitized materials can be found at our Digital Collections and Institutional Repository

  • Archivo General de la Nacion: 17 digitized maps, courtesy of the Summerlee Foundation, from the Archivo General. Maps are of Colonial Mexico and Texas, and are dated from 1700 - 1851.

  • El Sol: Student newspaper from Pan American University and later the University of Texas Pan American. El Sol focused on Mexican American issues. The digitized newspaper runs from 1976 - 1992.

  • John H. Shary Collection: Selected letters, photographs, and speeches from the John H. Shary Collection. Shary was one of the most influential developers in the Rio Grande Valley, and is in many ways the father of the citrus industry in South Texas. 

  • Kika de la Garza Congressional Papers: Selected newsletters and news releases from the Kika de la Garza Congressional Papers.  Kika de la Garza served as Congressman for the 15th Congressional District of Texas from 1965-1996. This digitization project was funded by a grant from the National Historical Publications and Records Commission.

  • La Guerra de Texas y La Guerra Mexico-Estados Unidos: Documents in Spanish related to the War with Texas in 1835, and the Mexican–American War of 1846-1848. Digitized through a collaborative effort between Mexico's Secretaria de Relaciones Exteriories and the University of Texas-Pan American, funded by the Summerlee Foundation. 

    Una guía para la colección and an English translation are available.

  • Rio Grande Valley Oral Histories: Over 400 digitized oral histories can be found here, including interviews with Valley residents about a large assortment of topics, including immigration, the Great Depression, military service, ranching, the Mexican Revolution, education, Mexico, agriculture, border violence, baseball, the Bracero program, and much more. 

    Oral histories within the Lower Rio Grande Valley Collection have been recorded and collected by faculty, staff, students, and community members and donated to the University Library.  Oral histories provide unique, and in many instances, otherwise unavailable written information, and as such provide valuable insight into life in the region.  

    Visit Special Collections (Edinburg office) to review associated paperwork, including summaries, topics by timestamp, or in some instances, complete transcripts

  • School Yearbooks and Publications: A collection of yearbooks and other publications from local high schools. Materials date from 1918 and forward. 

  • Texas-Mexico Border, 1846: Digital objects related to what are now Brownsville, Texas and Matamoros, Tamaulipas in the year 1846 as the Mexican-American war was beginning. Images of special note are from the Casa Mata Museum and Archives in Matamoros, Tamaulipas.

  • UT Rio Grande Valley Regional History Series: An important serial publication started by Pan American University at Brownsville and Texas Southmost College, and now continued by the history department of the University of Texas Rio Grande Valley, these publications offer essays about various fascinating historical topics regarding the Rio Grande Valley and Mexico.