Skip to main content

Special Collections & University Archives: Collections

Visit

Brownsville Hours of Operation

Monday - Friday
8:30 A.M. - 4:30 P.M.

Saturday
(by special appointment only)

Sunday
Closed

Contact Us

(956) 882-7968
archives@utrgv.edu

Edinburg Hours of Operation

Tuesday - Thursday
8:00 A.M. - 8:00 P.M.

Friday
8:00 A.M. - 5:00 P.M.

Saturday
9:00 A.M. - 6:00 P.M.

Sunday - Monday
Closed

Contact Us

(956) 665-2726
archives@utrgv.edu

Loading ...

Current Exhibits

2nd Floor Wall Gallery:

Summer Stay-cation 

3rd Floor Wall Gallery:

Borderlines: Drawing Border Lives

3rd Floor Gallery Cases:

None

1st Floor Library Lobby:

Summer Stay-cation 

1st Floor Wall Gallery:

None currently

 

Loading ...

Collections

Special Collections & University Archives holds primary source (original) and secondary source materials such a correspondence, business files, maps, slides, ledgers, books, ephemera, newspapers, journals, newsletters, oral histories, and photographs regarding the cultural heritage and history of the Rio Grande Valley of Texas and Northeast Mexico. Collection strengths are history, politics, local authors, fine printing, civil rights, business, and genealogy. 

To browse and search our collections, please visit our Archival Collections Search, which contain our finding aids, and our Online Catalog, which contains records for books, maps, serials, and oral histories.

Find Archival Collections

Our Archival Collections Search contains finding aids, which "aid" researchers in locating materials from our collections by making them accessible through creator, title, keyword, and other search strategies. These materials include correspondence, ledgers, manuscripts, media, and other "non-book" formats. In this database, you can go directly to a collection, browse our collections, search by keyword, etc.

Find Books, Maps, Serials, and Oral Histories

Materials such as books, maps, serials, and oral histories, can be found in our Online Catalog. You can employ several search strategies to narrow your search returns to manageable levels.

To find maps in the online catalog, search title "Map Collection." You may also search by keyword or subject for the city, county, or region.  There is no need to capitalize, but you do need to abbreviate Texas as "tex"

For example:

     Subject: edinburg tex maps

     Subject: hidalgo county tex maps

     Subject: lower rio grande valley tex maps

Oral histories are interviews with local people.To find oral histories in the online catalog search title "Oral history Rio Grande Valley Historical Collection". Additionally, many of our oral histories have been digitized and can be found in our online Rio Grande Valley - Oral Histories Collection.

Books from our LRGV Collection can circulate in some circumstances. For more information, see our Books and Serials page.