Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections & University Archives: Books and Serials

This is the webpage for UTRGV Special Collections & University Archives.

Special Collections & Archives Temporary Closure

Closed temporarily. Email for assistance.

Special Collections books and serials number over 15,000 titles.

Notable collections are described below.

Lower Rio Grande Valley Collection (LRGV Collection) contains materials from southern Texas (from Laredo, San Antonio, and Corpus Christi south to Brownsville, McAllen, and Rio Grande City) and northeastern Mexico (Tamaulipas, Nuevo Leon, and Coahuila), and have been cataloged in our Online Catalog. Materials include, but are not limited to, books, serials (especially local newspapers), oral histories, and reference files.

Chicano Publications Collection are newspapers and newsletters pertaining to the Chicano movement from California to New York.  The Chicano movement was a complex movement including a celebration of the culture of Mexican Americans, and protests seeking political empowerment and civil rights. Chicano Serials include publications dealing with law, politics, civil rights, education, labor (both industrial and farm workers), immigration, art, literature, cultural identity, and more.

Rare Books and Special Materials are generally irreplaceable. Many rare books may be out of print or are materials published before 1900, which are fragile and may have special binding, value, illustrations, or other unique characteristics which require special handling. These books can only be viewed in a campus reading room and are not available for check out.

Holman Collection books and archival materials were donated by William and Barbara Holman. Books and publications highlight the art and design of bookmaking, featuring limited editions, handmade paper, well-known illustrators, and firsts in printing and publishing. These works are considered rare and can only be viewed in a campus reading room.

Special Collections Circulation Policy

Some books in the LRGV Collection can be checked out, according to the call number of the item, as seen below:

Prefix

Copy Number

Status

LRGV / ARCH   

c.1 (1st or only copy)

Library Use only

LRGV

c.2  and above (2nd or more copies)    

Available (Can be checked out by UTRGV and TSC patrons)

Borrowers

Currently enrolled UTRGV/TSC students, or currently employed UTRGV/TSC faculty or staff, have standard check-out privileges. Members of the general public may check out a limited number of materials once they obtain a UTRGV Public Patron Card for an annual fee. See Circulation or more complete information.

Fines

Because our LRGV books are unique and often irreplaceable, they have a higher fine than other Library books. Users are responsible for damage and replacement costs for LRGV Collection materials. Overdue fines are $1.00 per day.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

LRGV materials are not available for Interlibrary Loan or lending to other institutions. Therefore, researchers who are not affiliated with the University or are unable to visit our libraries in person, should contact Special Collections for more information archives@utrgv.edu.