Skip to main content

Special Collections & University Archives: Archival and Manuscript Collections

Visit

Brownsville Hours of Operation

Monday - Friday
8:30 A.M. - 4:30 P.M.

Saturday
(by special appointment only)

Sunday
Closed

Contact Us

(956) 882-7968
archives@utrgv.edu

Edinburg Hours of Operation

Tuesday - Thursday
8:00 A.M. - 8:00 P.M.

Friday
8:00 A.M. - 5:00 P.M.

Saturday
9:00 A.M. - 6:00 P.M.

Sunday - Monday
Closed

Contact Us

(956) 665-2726
archives@utrgv.edu

Loading ...

Current Exhibits

2nd Floor Wall Gallery:

Summer Stay-cation 

3rd Floor Wall Gallery:

Borderlines: Drawing Border Lives

3rd Floor Gallery Cases:

None

1st Floor Library Lobby:

Summer Stay-cation 

1st Floor Wall Gallery:

None currently

 

Loading ...

Archival and Manuscript Collections

UTRGV Special Collections & University Archives has almost 300 distinct archival collections numbering over 1 million estimated items. To browse and search our entire collections, go to our Archival Collections Search. A few of our collections are listed below:

Carl Seale Collection (1961-2008) Professor of Music at The University of Texas-Pan American from January 1972 until his retirement in May 2001. Seale was Music Director/Conductor of the Valley Symphony Orchestra and Chorale and elected Conductor Emeritus by the Valley Symphony Orchestra of the Rio Grande Valley of Texas. He composed the 1996 winning composition of the Texas Orchestra Directors Association Composition Contest, "The Flight of Icarus."

Scrapbook from Kika de la Garza's Papers

Eligio “Kika” de la Garza’s Congressional Papers were processed with grant funds from the National Historical Publications and Records Commission (NHPRC). The collection (1965-1996) contains materials that cover agriculture, rural economic development, social programs, education, civil rights, health care, and more. Additionally, there are materials pertaining to the development of infrastructure along the Texas-Mexico Border and U.S. Mexico border relations. The Papers are arranged by series and subseries.

A scrapbook from Kika de la Garza's Papers

Hidalgo County Historical Commission Collectionapplications for historical markers and historical cemeteries, research, notes, correspondence, organizational files, and maps. Historical marker applications were submitted by the Hidalgo County Historical Commission to the Texas Historical Commission Research Department. Marker applications typically include research describing the importance of the location. Files may also include photographs and dedication pamphlets. Collection also contains organizational files from the Hidalgo County Historical Society, which was later renamed to the Hidalgo County Historical Commission.

Hidalgo County Records Collection (1844-1985) The Hidalgo County Records Collection contains non-current records of permanent value from various offices which are held by The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley Library, Special Collections, at the Edinburg campus location.

Hidalgo County Marks and Brands Index (1854-1923) The name index to the first three Hidalgo County, Texas marks and brands volumes. Information contained in the first two volumes is also found in the third volume.

John Shary, ca 1930's

John H. Shary Collection consists of business and personal papers of John H. Shary, from approximately 1915-2001. Shary was a successful businessman and land developer in the Lower Rio Grande Valley. The largest series contains correspondence and documents for the United Irrigation Company. This large collection contains correspondence, internal memos, legal documents, maps, blueprints, and newspaper & magazine clippings. The papers are arranged by series and subseries.

John Shary, ca 1930's

Starr County Marks and Brands Index (1848-1871) The name index to the first three Starr County, Texas marks and brands volumes. Information contained in the first two volumes is also found in the third volume.

Vela Family (2006) Materials for Vela family consists of the first Schunior Family Reunion held in McAllen, Texas June 30 - July 2, 2006 (the Schunior family is one branch of the Vela Family) and includes promotional materials made expressly for the reunion, as well as visitor information about area attractions.