Brownsville Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday
8:30 A.M. - 4:30 P.M.
(by special appointment only)
Edinburg Hours of Operation
Tuesday - Thursday
8:00 A.M. - 8:00 P.M.
8:00 A.M. - 5:00 P.M.
9:00 A.M. - 6:00 P.M.
Sunday - Monday
UTRGV's Special Collections & University Archives collect and make accessible to researchers primary source (original) materials such a correspondence, business files, maps, and photographs from local people and businesses which illustrate the history of the Lower Rio Grande Valley and Northeast Mexico. Our collections consist of over 25,000 books, newspapers, and journals, and over an estimated 1 million archival items.
We are also the archives of the University of Texas Rio Grande Valley, and as such we steward the output of the university: its publications, research, correspondence, and related publicity.
Special Collections & University Archives have two offices; one on UTRGV's Brownsville campus and one on the Edinburg campus.
Anybody can use Special Collections & Archives. We are open by appointment or walk-in, though contacting us ahead of your visit is encouraged. Please call us at 956.882.7968 (Brownsville) or 956.665.2726 (Edinburg), or email us at email@example.com for assistance.
Our items are unique and many cannot be replaced if damaged, lost, or stolen. It is our goal to keep these documents safe for you and all future researchers. For this reason, we have guidelines and restrictions on use. Please read our Guidelines for User Access for more information about visiting the Archives.
In general, we can transfer books from our holdings, including rare books, between campus offices, but as a matter of policy we do not transfer archival items (things like photographs, ledgers, correspondences, slides, and other unique items). Researchers will need to visit the campus at which archival items are stored to view those materials.
We do! Special Collections & University Archives have our materials on two platforms: UTRGV's Digital Collections and UTRGV's Institutional Repository. Resources on these platforms can be accessed by anyone with an internet connection, and are keyword searchable.