Skip to main content

Mexican American Studies - UTRGV Brownsville: Find Articles...

UTPA Library Links

Ask A Librarian

Internet Search

Google Web Search

Journals & Databases - Mexican American Studies

Latin American Studies has many different sub-fields that can be located under set Library of Congress Subject Headings in our collection. You can also use these sub-fields as topics for subject searches in our on-line catalog.  Because of the interdisciplinary nature of Latin American Studies, there are many different Call Numbers for materials listed under various Subject Headings.

 

Latin American Studies -- Journals


Americas -- Published in Washington, D.C. by the Organization of American States [F1401 .A57]

Bulletin of Hispanic Studies -- Published by the Institute of Hispanic Studies [PC4008 .B8; also available as an Electronic Source]

Economia -- Published in Washington, D.C. by the Brookings Institution Press [Electronic Source]

Estudios sobre las culturas contemporaneas -- Published by Centro Universitario de Investigaciones Sociales, Universidad de Colima [Electronic Source]

Historia Mexicana -- Published by the Colegio de Mexico. [F1201 .H5]

Latin American Antiquity -- Published in Washington, D.C. by the Society for American Archaeology [F1219 .L37]

Latin American Literary Review -- Published in Pittsburgh, PA by Carnegie-Mellon University's Department of Modern Languages [PQ7081 .A1 L35]

Latin American Politics and Society -- Published by Miami University [F1401 .J68]

Research Review -- Published by the Latin American Studies Association, Austin, Texas [F1401 .L345]

 

Latin American Studies Electronic Resources

Databases

 

Academic Search Complete - has citations and full text articles from peer-reviewed journals in social sciences, humanities, music, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, etc.

DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) - "covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals."

EBSCO en Espanol - provides directions to many different databases in Spanish.

EBSCOhost - provides access to dozens of databases, in many different disciplines, and at different academic levels.

Economia y Negocios - "is the result of a collaborative effort between EBSCO Publishing and ESAN (Escuela de Administracian e Negocios para Graduados). This continuously updated bibliographic database is an indispensable tool for research conducted in the areas of business and economics."

English Spanish Dictionary - (WordReference.com) from Harper Collins also has a Diccionario Ingles Espanol

Fuente Academica - "is a unique collection of scholarly academic journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers...[which] offers full text content to many academic areas including business & economics, medical sciences, political science, law, computer science, library & information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and theology."

HAPI -- Hispanic American Periodical Index -- "is your source for over 265,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States."

Historical Abstracts - is a "complete reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life)."

Humanities Full Text - cites articles from scholarly journals and specialized magazines in the humanities, including archaeology, art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, social criticism, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology. It also includes full text/full image articles.

JSTOR - is a full image database of back issues of scholarly journals in African American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, botany, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics.

Latin American Women Writers - brings together "the most important writers from 19 countries, as well as the works of the principal feminists, in one single collection [including] ... literary works, memoirs, feminist essays, and other materials" from the colonial period to the present."

MedicLatina - "is a Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by renowned Latin American medical publishers...[which] provides access to full text for nearly 100 peer-reviewed medical journals."

PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humana­sticas) - "is a comprehensive reference resource providing full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin."

World History Collection - offers a global look at history with content from Africa, Asia, North and South America, Europe and the Middle East...[with] cover-to-cover full text for nearly 150 titles, including many peer-reviewed journals."

 



Journals - Latin American Studies