Skip to main content

Mexican American Studies - UTRGV Brownsville: Print/Reference

UTPA Library Links

Ask A Librarian

Internet Search

Google Web Search

Reference - Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Dictionaries

Biographical Dictionary of Hispanic Americans. New York: Facts on File. 2001. This dictionary provides more than 250 entires profiling Hispanic men and women who have made a lasting impact on American society.  Arranged in A-to-Z format, biographies include background on individuals in business, literature, politics, science, health and medicine, arts and entertainment, and relation.  [REF E184 .S75 M49 2001]

Dictionary of Latin American Spanish Phrases and Expressions. New York: Hippocrene Books. 2002. Alphabetically arranged in Spanish, phrases and expressions include both common meaning and literal translation.  All regions of Latin America are covered.  Each entry also includes corresponding English translations to help understand expressions.  Also includes a section of Spanish equivalents to English expressions. [PC4822 .H36 2002]

Historical Dictionary of United States-Latin American Relations: Historical Dictionary of U.S. Diplomacy, No. 3. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press. 2007. This dictionary provides a broad survey of relations in the general introduction.  Outlines of significant events, major crises, the evolution of doctrines and policies and much more. An overview of the history of diplomatic relations between the United States and the nations of Latin America from U.S. independence in the late 18th century to the presents. [REF F1418 .S368 2007]

Latin American and Caribbean Artists of the Modern Era: a biographical dictionary of 12,700 persons.  Jefferson, NC: McFarland & Co. 2003.  Reference source to more than 12,700 painters, sculptors, graphic artists, and architects in Latin America and the Caribbean during the 19th and 20th centuries. [REF N6502.4 .S45 2003]

Notable twentieth-century Latin American women: a biographical dictionary.  Westport, CT:  Greenwood Press.  2001. This dictionary provides biographical information on Spanish and Portuguese speaking Latin American women.  Scholars in Spanish, Portuguese, women's studies and Latin American Studies contributed to the 72 entries.  Entries arranged in alphabetical order with a brief further readings list.  Also includes 2 appendices -- one arranged by country and other by field of endeavor.  [CT3290 .N68 2001]

 

Encyclopedias


The Borderlands: An Encyclopedia of Culture and Politics on the U.S. Mexico Divide.  Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press. 2008.  Contains more than 150 essays on U.S.-Mexico border history, culture and politics. Includes information on key historical and contemporary figures, art, sports, religion, cuisine, religion, education, environment, legislation, tourism, radio, slavery, rhetoric and women in Ciudad Juarez.  [F786 .B74 2008]

Encyclopedia of the Mexican American Civil Rights Movement.  Westport, CT: Greenwood Press.  2000. Provides more than 300 entries, six appendices, sources of additional information and more.  Provides factual information on the concepts, issues, plans, legislation, events, organizations, court decisions and people involved in the long history of the struggle for equality.  [REF E184.M5 M458 2000]

The Enclyclopedia of Mexican-American War: a political, social and military history.  Santa Barbara, CA:  ABC-CLIO.  2013.  Three volume set.  Provides an in depth examination of the military conflict and impact on both the United States and Mexico.  Both perspectives of the conflict are presented and the conflict is contextualized within its cultural, political, social and economic terms and covers events before and after the conflict. [REF E404 .E62 2013]

Handbook of Latin American Studies  "The Handbook of Latin American Studies Online Catalog (HLAS Web) is a selective annotated bibliography of scholarly monographs, journal articles, conference papers, book chapters, and electronic resources dealing with Latin America. The multidisciplinary Handbook, edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Disciplines covered include anthropology (including archaeology and ethnology), art, economics, electronic resources (beginning in 1995), geography, government and politics, history, international relations, literature, music, philosophy, and sociology."  [Z1605 .H23 -- Vol. 1-63 Print available]

The Oxford encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States.  New York: Oxford University Press.  2005.  Four volume set.  Contains 900 essays organized into seven general categories:  Culture, Language, Hollywood, and the Media; International Relations and Political Economy; Museums, Architecture and Urban Landscapes, Religion and Folklore and Education; Race, Laws and Customs, and Court Cases; The Environment, Science, Technology, and Health and Nutrition; Contemporary Political Participation, Access and Citizenship; and Literature, Poetry, the Arts, and Sports.  [REF E184 .S75 O97 2005]

The Mexican American Experience: An Encyclopedia.  Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press. 2003. An A-Z guide with comprehensive covereage of the Mexican American experience, including entries on Corky Gonzales and Joan Baez. Includes general entries about bilingual education, assimilation, border culture, southwestern agriculture, politics and more.  [REF E184.M5 M4535 2003]